5/11 Gus PMPS 287;+2-220

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25

Well, looks like Gus is going to have a good day because he can only go down from here :roll: He sure likes the upper deck, huh? You must have nerves of steel cuz I'd be pulling my hair out by now!! I'm pulling for you, Bev!!
 
Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25

Hi Bev,

Ugh, the frustration you must be feeling! I haven't had time to post in other people's condos lately because I've been doing so much reading and learning, mostly in your old condos. Guinness might be headed in the same direction as Gus. I'm hoping to talk to my vet today regarding insulin resistance and now, after reading your condo from yesterday, acro. I am running out today to get some Humulin R, but not sure if I'm ready to add it to his protocol yet.

I just wanted to let you know that Guinness and I are routing for you guys and hope that Gus starts to react in a more positive way soon. Keep up the fight, you are an inspiration to us out here!
 
Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25

funny-pictures-cats-pretend-that-they-are-on-a-roller-coaster.jpg
 
Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25;+2R=599;+3R=HI/R.25;+2R=420;+3R=31

I didn't think anything or anybody could make me laugh this morning, but that picture did it :lol: !. Gus is having a problem since yesterday with food getting stuck in his teeth on the right side. Now, he just had a dental with his new vet on May 3rd, just about a week ago. The vet's office opens at 9AM today, so I called at 9:10 and got an answering machine. It is almost 4 hours later and they haven't returned my call. I'll call again right after lunchtime and see where I get. Could his tooth problem be related to his higher #s. I am certain that if Gus has an infection, his #s will be way, way off. My confidence level in this vet is on a very slippery slope.
 
Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25;+2R=599;+3R=HI/R.25;+2R=420;+3R=31

Oh Bev, I'm so sorry to hear about yet more problems with Vets.. What ever happened to customer service? I would see where his numbers could def. be higher if he's having a problem with a tooth after the Dental. I think Julie might be napping still, she had a short sleep night.. but she could probably shed some light on that, since punkin had an infection after his dental..

It's good to see his numbers have come down quite a bit at least.
I'll check back later to see how he's doing.. Good luck with the Vet calling you back. I hope you get the answers you are looking for!
 
Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25;+2R=599;+3R=HI/R.25;+2R=420;+3R=31

Julie could take me to school on that subject, are you kidding!
 
Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25;+2R=599;+3R=HI/R.25;+2R=420;+3R=31

Bev, just wanted to stop by to offer some support. One look at Gus' spreadsheet is enough to tip anyone off to the amount of frustration you must be feeling. Those of us who have been around for years have watched kitties reach higher doses many, many times. Dental problems can certainly cause numbers to rise. No doubt about it. Some diabetic cats do require that much insulin before reaching a breakthrough dose, but it is often a sign that something else is going on. Although we may discover that Gus is just a diabetic requiring more insulin than others, it is time to prepare for other possibilities.

One possibility is that Gus does have acromegaly. Acromegaly is a tumor of the pituitary gland that produces excess growth hormone. It causes growth to the body and internal organs. The hormone also binds with the insulin the cat produces (acrocats have a normal functioning pancreas) and causes the same high bgs seen in a diabetic cat.

The only way to be sure if a cat has acro is to test IGF-1. Your vet would draw a blood sample and send it to Michigan State University. We recommend that the cat be tested for insulin auto antibodies (IAA) at the same time. The tests can be done on the same blood sample and you save shipping and handling charges. MSU charges about $50 for the IGF-1 and around $15 for the IAA test, but each vet adds his own processing and shipping charge. One of the caregivers mentioned her vet charging $100 to draw blood and ship the sample. Obviously these fees will vary from vet to vet.

In the past, acro was considered very rare and most vets don't think of it. Current research shows that as many as 30% of cats diagnosed with diabetes actually have acromegaly. Because it isn't on the list of possibilities in the minds of most vets, you would need to ask him to have the test done. Most vets look at you like you're crazy when you ask to have your kitty tested. Just tell him to just humor you and do it. Here's some links to more information:

Acromegaly and Other High Dose Conditions: What We Know

Acromegaly-- The Basics

There is no need to rush any of this. The insulin plan is the same whether Gus has acro or not. We still work up the dosing scale for lantus just as we have been as well as using R to give a boost as needed. The goal of treatment is different with an acrocat - you are striving for a well regulated cat with bgs below the renal threshold, not a tightly regulated cat heading for OTJ. Regulation is a very realistic goal with acros. Once you get to a dose giving good numbers, it is relatively easy to keep them there using some of the same principles used in the TR protocol. Acrocats vary considerably in how much insulin they need - some do well at 6-7 units. Some need much, much more. The goal is to give Gus as much insulin as he needs... however much that might be... whether he has a High Dose condition or not.

In case you missed it, a couple weeks ago Libby posted some thoughts on acromegaly in Jazzy's condo along with links to some very well regulated acro kitties spreadsheets. Here's the link: 4/30 Jazzy AMPS 241, PMPS 234 PLUS thoughts on Acromegaly

Please remember that Gus is the same sweet boy today that he was yesterday and will be tomorrow. He can't read bg numbers and could care less what his diagnosis is. He just expects you to love him and care for him like you have always done.
 
Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25;+2R=599;+3R=HI/R.25;+2R=420;+3R=31

bev5477 said:
Julie could take me to school on that subject, are you kidding!

Bev, I certainly didn't mean any disrespect to you, I just figured since Julie had dealt with an infection in Punkins tooth that she might be able to help you! :roll:
 
Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25;+2R=599;+3R=HI/R.25;+2R=420;+3R=31

Don't worry, Squirrel!! Bev was just joking around!! The trouble with reading things versus hearing a person speak is that we don't get to hear any inflection in someone's tone of voice. I haven't met anyone on this board yet who got up in someone's face. Hard to believe, with all we've all been through with FD, we all still have a sense of humor. :-D
 
Jill, thanks for the kind words and support. I will do the reading and will discuss the blood tests with the vet on Friday. He'll re-examine Gus' teeth at that time. I see Gus chewing on the left side only and pawing at his right side occasionally while eating. I'll bet anything he's got something a brewin'. Squirrel, please don't think I was offended in the least. I meant that Julie had gone through so much with Punkin and his tooth infection, that she could teach me all about it. I would never get snarky with my buds here at the Sugar Shack! Without you guys, I don't know what I'd do. :YMHUG:
 
seriously bev? it's Wednesday and the vet can't see him til Friday? that seems unacceptable to me - if he's truly unavailable why don't you ask him to refer you to someone, a partner or ? this sounds just like what punkin went through.

i can't remember - was gus put on antibiotics after his dental?

hang in there - this is a temporary situation. we're all cheering for both of you.
 
Hi guys! What a nice recovery today - I can imagine your frustration this morning. I hope all is well with the mouth thing. I need to check on one of my civvies - she started doing that same paw thing on the side of the mouth today. aiyee! Good luck with that. paws crossed for Gus.
 
Very nice recovery, Gus!

I agree with Julie...if there is even the possibility of some sort of infection brewing, your vet should be making the time to see Gus. I hope you get some solid answers ASAP.
 
I was just over in Punkin's condo telling Julie that I had to get all pushy and kind of ugly to get put in on Friday. They wanted us to wait until Tuesday! I don't think they get it.
 
i'm really amazed at their lack of action to see him. that would make me mad. can you look in his mouth yourself (iron gloves and gauntlets) to see if you can see red/swelling? i could see it once the vet showed me, even just lifting his lips it was obvious.

as far as sleeping in - i haven't been able to do that in ages. somehow the ability went away at some point in my life, but i'm good at going back to sleep. i was asleep this morning when patty was speculating! :lol: kept waking up thinking i needed to test punkin.
 
Bev, that is just awful....are there any other options in your area? I can't believe that they would push off a potential infection for nearly a week. What's the point in being a vet if they don't want to treat animals that need to be treated??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top