5/10Willy PMPS 319

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephanie&Willy

Member Since 2011
Willy's Condo Yesterday

Yay!!!!!!!

Now the question comes down to, do I shoot and if so, how much? I'm not going to increase as I had planned (did not see this coming!!) but should I give a reduced dose? Wait and shoot? I have done a full shot in the 150s before but it wasn't for 5u.

My plan, at the moment, is to give a reduced dose of 4u-4.5u in the next hour so we don't miss all the overlap if possible and wind up in the 400s again (checking BG accordingly), does this seem like a good plan or should I reduce it further?

I forgot to mention, we're sending our positive vibes for all our friends furry and not so much furry alike. I hope everyone has a wonderful Tuesday!

AMPS 282
+2 412
+4 404
+6.5 339
+8 321
+10 250
 
Re: 5/10Willy AMPS 148 shoot?

just here to bump till someone with more experience than me comes in.
 
Re: 5/10Willy AMPS 148 shoot?

Hi guys .. that is a wonderful way to start the day! I wish I had the answer to your question but hopefully others will be along soon .. have a great day!
 
Re: 5/10Willy AMPS 148 shoot?

Stephanie...just got back from the vet....do you still need help or did you shoot? I can help you if you need it. I would say if you are going to be home to monitor, if you have plenty of strips and HC food and karo and YOU are comfy shooting this number, then you can. If you are more comfy shooting a BCS, then that's ok, too. Keep in mind that you still have to stay on top of it because even with a BCS, he's probably going to have leftover shed from his normal dose. I know you are well over an hour after your shot time....
 
Re: 5/10Willy +12~148, AMPS 282

Hi guys and thank you for the quick responses. We waited 45m after feeding and retested. He was back up at 282 so I gave him the full 5u. I am glad I waited, but he is not. He was yelling at me the whole time to go give him his shot! :lol: :lol: He likes all the attention and snuggles he gets for it. Now he's checking everyone's bowls for left over food.

In the future, I will probably just shoot. He jumps so fast but I wasn't sure how much it would be (previously, I shot, so I've never seen the effects without insulin). I do have a full hypo kit and now that I see the effect of food I feel comfortable just moving forward in the future. I should have just done it, rather than waiting... I think I missed his overlap. Maybe I should just listen to him, he is quite bossy about his care. :lol:

Thank you everyone for the bumps and ty Marje for the quick response!
 
Re: 5/10Willy AMPS 148 shoot?

Okey doke...sorry...if I'd been here we could have worked to shoot him a little sooner so he didn't head up so much. When you stall you want to test often enough so that you catch them immediately as they start to rise so you don't lose the overlap and so they don't get too high before the lantus sets in. Don't feed while you are stalling!! You'll get an inflated number even 45 minutes after. The only time you feed when stalling is if they are in the 40s/30s. You have to feel comfortable shooting a number AND a big part of that is having enough data to know what he's going to do after you shoot. He could come back down so best just to monitor him especially because you might have shot a food spike.

One quick housekeeping thing, could you please fix your subject line? You just need to change the AMPS to the number you actually shot. If the 148 was his +12 then you would have shown it:

5/10 Willy +12 148 Stalling..help?

or something like that. Now you can just change it to whatever his AMPS actually was...282?

Great job!!!

ETA: VERY IMPORTANT.....you will need to catch him back up to your normal shot time. You can do it in increments of 30 mins once a day or fifteen minutes twice a day.
Your normal shot time is 11 and you shot at 12:45...right? So you might want to move him back 15 mins tonight and shoot at 12:30. Then tomorrow morning you could shoot at 12:15 and tomorrow night at 12. Then on Thurs you could shoot at 11:45 in the morning, 11:30 at night, Friday you could shoot at 11:15 in the a.m. and 11 at night.

If you want to make it up in 30 min increments, you could shoot at 12:30 tonight, 12 tomorrow NIGHT, 11:30 Thurs night and 11 Friday night.
 
Re: 5/10Willy +12~148, AMPS 282

Its ok, I appreciate any insight at all! I feel relatively (well) equipped to handle hypo. I have a kit and some instructions.. Though, since I’ve never actually had to, who knows what I would do if it were to happen! I would HOPE I would handle it correctly! :oops:

I think in the mess of the whole thing (I was genuinely shocked and was already rushing around because I woke up a few minutes late and was trying to get things ready and situated in time), I totally explained the situation incorrectly. :?

I took his AMPS at like 10:55, which I take before I feed him and give him his shot (I generally feed and shoot at the same time unless his BG is lower then I will wait ~10min then shoot). It was 148. I quickly looked up the Data Ready Sticky and read through it quickly. I read my options and tried to assess them quickly and I chose to feed him as normal and retested him after he ate (I meant to retest after 15/30 but I was rushing around and lost track of time). His BG was 282 so I gave him his full dose of 5u. I was between waiting a bit to shoot then basing the shot amount on his BG or giving a full dose when he ate. I chose a food he only has a moderate BG reaction to so it was stable enough to support the 5u but not so bad that he would spike to 400 in 10 minutes of eating like he does with some FF classic varieties. Was this a poor decision? :oops:

Next time I will probably just shoot because I am more certain (now) that he can handle it. I can test as many times as needed today. Poor guy, I’m gonna bug him so much!

I changed my subject, is it better? Or should I change it further?

I messed up on the timing, I am really bad at time when it’s done in intervals (although, its exceptionally useful)! I only gave it to him 45 min late. That is my bad, I am so bad at figuring that stuff out! Should I move up by 30 min tonight and give to him at his normal time tomorrow? Or would it be better to move it up slower?

Thank you for you help!


Edit- Argggg!!!! I shouldn't have waited. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile Going to try my best to just chalk this up to a learning experience and move on appreciative of new knowledge and more experience so I can make better decisions next time.
 
Re: 5/10Willy +12~148, AMPS 282, +2~412, +4~404

wow...gorgeous start, but Sweet William...where are you headed??
 
Re: 5/10Willy +12~148, AMPS 282, +2~412, +4~404, 6.5~339

Hi Stephanie: sorry....I was out all day. I tried to post from my phone but lost the whole darn message before I hit submit.

It's really important that if you are stalling that you not feed, unless (sorry to be repetitive) he is in the 40s or 30s. Even with a food that you feel barely gives him a "bump" to his BG, it can skew his numbers and give you a false sense of security especially at lower numbers. It wasn't that big of a deal at this number but if you start shooting 55s, it can be a huge deal. So...stalling and BG 50 or above, no food. I'm sorry someone wasn't around to help you with it....the first time you get a number like this or you have a low number, it really helps to have someone walk you through it even if you feel pretty confident about it. Especially dropping numbers can be scary the first time.

Keep in mind that shooting late is like a dose reduction and shooting early is like a dose increase. If it were me, I'd do 15 minutes early tonight and then 30 minutes early tomorrow night to make up your 45 minutes. Or you can do 15 tonight, 15 in the morning, and 15 tomorrow night to put you back at 11. But in light of his AMPS today, you probably don't want to do the full 30 tonight just in case he comes back down.....and looks like he's trying to!!

Also, and this is not a big deal because you'll change it when you change to PMPS, but when you are done stalling, you no longer need any numbers prior to the PS number in your subject. You did fine....we all learn each time. Again, I just feel bad you didn't have anyone to talk you through it and catch him before he started to rise so fast.

Hope you had a great day and so did Willy!
 
Re: 5/10Willy +12~148, AMPS 282, +2~412, +4~404, 6.5~339

Marje!

It's ok! I appreciate any insight at all. I was rushed in my decision, I just opened up the "data ready" sticky and read the relevant part (150-200) and quickly tried to assess what was going on before I did something irreversible! I knew food really really spiked him/insulin takes awhile to have an effect but I was hoping that I would still get some overlap and my choice of food might keeping him from spiking so quickly. I haven't been in this position before so I wasn't sure *exactly* what was going to happen. I am just glad I realized the time. When he was first DX, there were times we would forget Willy needed his shot for an entire hour or even two!

I get what you're saying about the lower numbers/false sense of security. It would be good to begin practicing that mindset now for when he gets that low (optimism! woot!)! He went green once and my DH was panicked. I was like RAH RAH RAH GOOD JOB KITTY and remained prepared to react as needed. It never came to that and he was like.. MOOOOM LEAVE ME ALONE MY FWIENDS ARE WATCHING!

I am going to do 15 min tonight, 30 min tomorrow since I can watch him closely tomorrow.

He is doing well now... he is snuggling with my DH (who fell asleep) and Zell.

It was SNOWING earlier... WHYYYY
 
Re: 5/10Willy +12~148, AMPS 282, +2~412, +4~404, 6.5~339

Great...all sounds good.

Aahh..you got the precip; we got the WIND!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top