5/10 Putty PM +6.5 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miriam and Putty (GA)

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14096

Putty was a very "polite" little guy this morning patiently waiting for his breakfast which was 30 minutes later than his usual time. His pm shot last night one almost one hour late.
I have noticed that Putty has been drinking water again. He drank quite a bit yesterday and a little this morning. He hardly ever drinks water,.....yesterday his AMPS were very high so that may have been the reason.....not sure why this morning.
All p's fine.
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

Looks like Mr. Polite's numbers are coming down nicely this morning. I don't know what to say about the water. Every now and then I've noticed Gabby at the water fountain. I wonder if I haven't added as much water to her food those days. Who know?
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

Spike is and always has been a big water drinker. Not as much as before dx though. I guess he just likes it.
I can never understand cats that never drink much at all. I guess just like humans, some need more fluids than others. Nice to see Puttys number coming down.
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

I like that 152 and I'll bet you do, too.

That high AMPS yesterday was kind of mysterious. I did notice pretty greens the evening before and wonder if there was enough time between the 80 and the 55 for a really low number and thus a rebound the next morning?

I think the occasional extra drinking can come from activity, changes in the weather or a bunch of small things.
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

Well, that +3 is looking good, Miriam....is he sad that his Daddy isn't there to give him breffis and his shot?
That's as good a reason as any other...
:roll:
For myself, I always want to the find the reason "why" something is happening.....I figure that IF I know the reason behind something, I might be able to DO something about it. With this FD, sometimes there doesn't seem to BE a darn reason and the only thing we are left to do is nothing but what we have been doing.....keep on keeping on.

Sometimes, we just get these blips. We never learn the real reason behind it. Age of the insulin? Wrong insulin! food we fed? something they got into...like potato chips or Fritos=thirst and high number...sigh...Infection brewing? Constipation? Them being just CATS and unpredictable? Bouncing for a number that we are not privy to? The one time slot we were in dreamland and did not get a test? The phantom LOW BG that causes the high number...but is not documented? Oh, and there's always the random fur shot that we didn't even realize we gave... :YMSIGH:
Oh geeezzzzzz....I am putting myself right down in the dumps now.... :YMSIGH: Thanks a LOT Miriam...now I have just used up MY bummer post for the month too! :lol: Now sit down and stop rocking this boat we are in....where are the darn oars??? Was I supposed to pack the oars or were YOU? Humph...well, this is a fine mess. We are up a creek with no paddles....
Really helped you, huh? So glad i posted....darn it...I shudda just said "HI Miriam...nice +3" and left it at that... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

Hi Miriam
Glad to see the return of Polite Putty and giving you some nicer numbers today.
I still get freaked out when I see Max at the water bowl and he is eating more too.
Sometimes their days are just off, no explanations.
I hope this trend will continue for the Puttman. :-D
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

The mystical experience of the sugar dance makes us all crazy, as it is the most unpredictable event all the time... ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile -The one thing we all cannot do is blame ourselves, as I know each of us give our All to this experience-
Sending nice number vibes to you & Sir Putty to give Momma bean happiness today & have good green numbers! :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

Putty, what color will you be wearing to the party tonight? Nice drop from AMPS! :smile:
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

nice +3, Putty!! Miriam, don't fret the drinking thing...it's a good thing to have some water on board! I hardly ever see Spot in the water, but civvie Ali always makes it a point to have a few drinks out of my glass of ice water that I take to bed with me...
 
Re: 5/10 Putty PMPS 236

AMPS 214
+3 152
+5 94
+6 74
+7 70
PMPS 236

A nice little green surf for the Putman today. His PMPS might be the start of his bounce.

Thank you Pat for giving me 101 reasons why a number could be high. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

hi miriam! just a suggestion...
that's already quite a drop. if you haven't already, feed that 86 to try to get him surfing in the 80s or 90s.
he doesn't need to go any lower because of the bounce factor.
 
Re: 5/10 Putty AMPS 214 +3 152

Thanks Jill.....I have been feeding him when he starts to drop....I actually fed him on the 152. Sometimes he responds but sometimes he has his own agenda and the food does nothing.
The night he was 28 @ +4 he had been fed twice before that.
 
Re: 5/10 Putty PM +4.5 55

I am feeding him again.
I am starting to have a love/hate relationship with green. I want him to be green but I fear the bounce.
I guess I should start feeding HC when he is in lower green?
 
Re: 5/10 Putty PM +4.5 55

Miriam and Putty said:
I am feeding him again.
I am starting to have a love/hate relationship with green. I want him to be green but I fear the bounce.
I guess I should start feeding HC when he is in lower green?
i've been staring at putty's ss on and off for the last couple of days. i have 2 schools of thought...

1. try to flatten him out in the 100s by using food to prevent him from going green (much like i'm trying to keep alex from going lower than the 50 -80 range at the moment).
2. try a custom plan by shooting a smaller dose TID. i PM'd jojo yesterday to get her thoughts, but i haven't heard back from her yet.

as far as feeding hc... you'll have to experiment with putty unless you already have a good handle on what kind of response you'll get to lc, mc, and hc at the beginning, middle, and end of the cycle. for instance, a small piece of freeze dried chicken can give alex a rise of 20 - 30 points depending on where she is in the cycle. lc early in the cycle can give her a huge spike. i've learned to only feed 1/16 of a 5.5oz can of wellness to get a 20 - 30 point rise mid-cycle. mc and hc are not even in alex's vocabulary... she's that carb sensitive. although in recent days, it's becoming increasingly obvious to me that her pancreas is sputtering because i'm seeing her numbers come down despite feeding... at times. not all the time.

you'll need to learn exactly how food effects putty. a lot of it is just trial and error. eventually, you'll see a pattern.
 
Re: 5/10 Putty PM +5.25 37

Oh crap...well.....I guess we know what is coming tomorrow.

Thank you Jill for all of that info. I will shoot regular dose throught the dreaded bounce and then reduce to??? Would you say a regular 1.50?
 
Re: 5/10 Putty PM +5.50 59

I forgot to mention that Putty has one of those red sore things on his head again. The last time he had one his numbers were higher the day or two before it was visible. I am more inclined to think the red yesterday was a bounce but not ruling out it that the sore on his head may have helped it to be red instead of the usual pink. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/10 Putty PM +5.50 59

Miriam and Putty said:
I forgot to mention that Putty has one of those red sore things on his head again. The last time he had one his numbers were higher the day or two before it was visible. I am more inclined to think the red yesterday was a bounce but not ruling out it that the sore on his head may have helped it to be red instead of the usual pink. ohmygod_smile
it's very possible...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top