5/10 Fred PMPS 385 +2 407

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
See now, this..these numbers I don't understand. No pattern I can discern at all!

I had this theory when I reduced him to 7u after a recorded 84 at 7.5u. I thought, "Well, instead of plunging him to greens which would fly him up to reds, maybe I can keep him in yellow and blue for a bit, so his body can adjust better to those numbers without being forced to go "too low". Then it won't be such a shock to go green".

And we were mostly achieving that, for a few days, anyway. Then yesterday he starts going up down up down with no change to his feeding routine or diet. Then to pop UP 100 points in less than two hours after PMPS...what? I know he can drop that fast, but why the rise? I just don't get it.

Increased to 7.5. He feels like crud today...he's really been kinda off all week. Not happy in low numbers, and not happy in high. He is eating, thankfully.

We have a virtual appointment scheduled with Dr. Appleman of the Animal Medical Center in NYC on June 10th. She is an Internal Medicine specialist recommended to me by my vet. I'm really hoping she can give us some insight.
 
I had this theory when I reduced him to 7u after a recorded 84 at 7.5u. I thought, "Well, instead of plunging him to greens which would fly him up to reds, maybe I can keep him in yellow and blue for a bit, so his body can adjust better to those numbers without being forced to go "too low". Then it won't be such a shock to go green".
Sorry, doesn’t work that way. You just have to rip off that bandaid and get them used to greens. It’s called glucose toxicity, where they get used to higher numbers if kept in higher numbers.

I have heard good things about AMC IM vets, paws crossed.
 
You just have to rip off that bandaid and get them used to greens.
I am a great lurker and hopefully a learner of spreadsheets. ;-) I do see some poor cats going from black to green to black most cycles. It's been my hope to avoid that for Fred; he seems to be allergic to double digits! We'll see where the return to 7.5 takes him.

I have heard good things about AMC IM vets, paws crossed.
Thank you. I'm very much looking forward to the visit. Fred could never tolerate the trip into NYC, so I'm very grateful for the televisit. I know it doesn't replace a good hands-on exam, but hopefully, she will coordinate with my vet as to what's needed in that department.
 
Back
Top