5/1 Shen AMPS 364, +3 282, +5 133, +6.5 88, +8 71

Nimi S

Member Since 2023
Link to previous condo: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-shen-pmps-384-4-97-6-59-7-85-9-88-10-121.277016/

I wonder if I'm asking this a little too late but was I supposed to reduce the dose when Shen's BG dropped below 90 quite a few times in the last 3-4 days, especially after increasing the dose by 0.25U? It even went to 59 in the PM cycle on Saturday after being in the pinks all day long.

I'm not exactly sure if I'm following SLGS or TR right now, since I'm holding the dose for a week or more as required for SLGS, but also giving only wet food and checking more than 4 times as required for TR.

His BG went up to pinks and reds yesterday, I wonder if that was because of the liquid antibiotic i fed him twice (or the stress of having to drink it). I read up the ingredients and none of them seem to be sources of sugar, but the syrup did seem to smell very strongly sweet.
I asked the vet and changed the medicine to tablet form, since Shen was drooling dramatically even before I managed to get some syrup into his mouth.

I'm not sure if I'm feeding him too little since his BG continues to drop till the +8/+9 mark despite giving frequent snacks. He rarely comes to ask for food by himself these days. I haven't been able to be consistent with his PM snacks - hopefully that'll improve once I advance his PM shot timing by a couple of hours during this week.

Tagging @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) :)
 
It’s up to you whether you want to follow SLGS or TR since you are testing enough and feeding all wet food. If my cat I would give TR a shot as it will get Shen regulated faster. Quicker regulation can lead to becoming diet controlled more quickly but ECID. The large appetite often ends with better numbers The antibiotic could be causing him to feel yucky and nit be as interested in food as well. I hope the switch to pills helps. I was never successful with liquids. More ended up on my mirrors as I medicated in the bathroom sink.
 
I thought you decided to switch to TR once he was transitioned to 100% canned food? He is looking great on this dose. Green every day! I know greens make you nervous. All of us were nervous when we first encountered green, but those are normal numbers and his pancreas get a chance to heal when he's in green. Stay with TR. Hold the dose till he drops below 50.

In bounce clearing cycles, nadirs can be as late as end of cycle or even later! Today, you might see a repeat of the PM cycle of 29/4.

Have you been advancing his shot time by 30 mins every day so that you can get to a more convenient shot time?
 
This particular antibiotic is famous for making cats feel sick and lose their appetite. Diarrhea is also common. Give him Darolac twice a day. See if you can give it 2 hours apart from the antibiotic.

I see from your SS that you have been advancing your shot time. Cool.
 
It’s up to you whether you want to follow SLGS or TR since you are testing enough and feeding all wet food. If my cat I would give TR a shot as it will get Shen regulated faster. Quicker regulation can lead to becoming diet controlled more quickly but ECID.

I do want faster regulation but I feel nervous about frequent dose changes and I'm afraid I might make a mistake. I know the current dose isn't too high to worry about that yet.
I also have to catch up on my reading - the first 2 weeks I was binge reading the stickies but was side-tracked the last one week.
I'm getting back to it slowly and want to hammer down a few things into my head to avoid newbie mistakes as much as possible.

I was never successful with liquids. More ended up on my mirrors as I medicated in the bathroom sink.

I was overly optimistic about the liquid since I do well with tablets but ended up with most of it on my clothes and with a rip in my pants from an escape attempt :D
 
Stay with TR. Hold the dose till he drops below 50.

This helps to know. I need to brush up my basics.

In bounce clearing cycles, nadirs can be as late as end of cycle or even later! Today, you might see a repeat of the PM cycle of 29/4.

His BG is heading up slowly. Was 98 at +10. I'm expecting to see 300s by his PMPS but I really can't predict his BG to save my life!

Have you been advancing his shot time by 30 mins every day so that you can get to a more convenient shot time?

I've been trying to but I've also ended up stalling a few times due to lower pre-shot BG than I was used to and that brought us back to where we started.

Diarrhea is also common. Give him Darolac twice a day. See if you can give it 2 hours apart from the antibiotic.

Yes, today I encountered the loosest stools since switching him to completely wet. I'd added S boulardii yesterday to one of his snacks but that didn't help much. Mixed in one Darolac capsule in his +8 snack. Will give one more during one of his PMPS snacks. Thanks for the tip!
 
I'm expecting to see 300s by his PMPS but I really can't predict his BG to save my life!
It is hard to see patterns in unregulated newly diagnosed cats. It also doesn't help that they like to change things just as we figure them out!

Curious to see where he is at PMPS tonight. You shoot at midnight?
 
It is hard to see patterns in unregulated newly diagnosed cats. It also doesn't help that they like to change things just as we figure them out!

I'm very slooowly going to let go of my expectations of being able to figure out any patterns in his BG.

Curious to see where he is at PMPS tonight. You shoot at midnight?

Yes, today's shot is at midnight. Will update the PMPS BG.
 
Looking good. He might just head up slowly from here. It's a sign that his body is getting used to lower numbers - that he's bouncing more slowly.

I'm going to tag @tiffmaxee to watch out for you in case you need help later
 
Back
Top