5/1 Moses PMPS 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Moses

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13360

So the internet is out, I'm typing I'm my dad's work computer. And my alarm didn't go off, so his AMPS shot was 1 hour late. I'm so glad it was only an hour. Oh ya, and gotta call my vet, Dr. Brewer (see yesterday!) What an exciting first day of May!

*Question - Has Moses earned a dose reduction? He jumped from yellow to green this morning. And he was 38 last night. Please say yes :mrgreen: Perhaps to a .50u?

*Another Question - So he's current wobbling around 56, should I go ahead and give him gravy?

Thanks!

Happy caturday! What a crazy one! @-)
 
Re: 5/1 Moses AMPS 212 +3~57 +4~56 dose reduction?

Moses' drop into a 39 earns a reduction.
General Guidelines" said:
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

You can certainly reduce to 0.50u. It looks like Moses has been holding the reductions and he was trying hard to earn this one!

The 50s are a good place for surfing. I might give some LC to see if you can bump the numbers up a little if only because you gave the same dose after earning a dose reduction BUT the late shot may have corrected for not having reduced (i.e., late shot = dose decrease).
 
Re: 5/1 Moses AMPS 212 +3~57 +4~56 dose reduction?

Hi Erica

I didn't want to commit a faux pas by bumping up yeterday's condo, so I'm replying to yesterday's today. Are you in Dallas proper? There is no cardiologist in Dallas, as far as I can tell -- they are only in College Station, Austin, and Houston. Forgive my Texas geography ignorance, but is one of those cities close to you? I know College Station is close to a big city but dont' know which one. If you aren't near a cardiologist, see who your appt is with at the place your vet reocmmended. One of the internists has an 'interest' in cardiology, which is better than nothing ;-) But definitely choose a cardio if there is one within a reasonable distance, as the appts are usually the same price.

The fancy ECG is probably just using multiple leads, rather than a single lead :-) Ask for copies of anything you have done such as ECG or x-rays.
 
Re: 5/1 Moses AMPS 212 +3~57 +4~56 dose reduction?

Jess - Dallas is not really close to any of the cities you listed. College Station (Texas A&M) is probably the closest at 3.5 hours. Crazy that Dallas doesn't have any - it's an awfully big Metroplex (Dallas, Ft. Worth).
 
Blah, my internet is still down! Glad I have my dad's laptop but ugh, I miss my Mac!

Moses is looking good though :mrgreen: Hanging out, snacking on dinner. Had a nice blue PMPS number. Thanks for your replies! Hooray dose increase! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I ended up feeding him a little MC snack, b/c he was snacking on his LC and it wasn't raising his numbers enough to be safe, especially since he was only at a +3. And I couldn't access your replies till now. ;-)

Hey, Jess & Earl, thanks for you TX research. It's a big state, Heather & Boo are right about those faraway cities. I do have some new information today after talking to my regular vet, Dr. Brewer. I asked him which tests would be the most conclusive for finding out if Moses' heart can take surgery.

He told me how with heart disease (I hate that term) for cats, it causes the heart muscle wall to thicken. Meanwhile in dogs, the heart disease causes the the heart to inflate like a water balloon. An ECT is better than an x-ray in uncovering this data. Meanwhile, an ECHO is the best. He was saying that Moses definitely has a galloping heart beat, and that an ECHO with the diagnosis clinic would be the most conclusive.

The diagnosis clinic can do x-rays, ECTs, and an ECCO (expensive, very thorough quality). Dr Brewer's animal hospital can do x-rays and ECTs (for half the price and decent information). My next move is to call the diagnosis clinic on Monday and see what an ECHO test would look like and cost. Very confusing with all the radiograph, x-ray, sonogram, ECT, EKG, EFT, ECCO, ECHO.... lol... it's sorting out though somehow upstairs.

"ACK" is what Moses and I say lol. I'll keep ya'll informed :mrgreen:
 
Hi Erica

If he has a gallop, and not an arrhythmia (irregular heart beat), then an echocardiogram is your best bet. So if there is money for one thing, go for the echocardiogram as this is the most definitive. Unfortunately you're not near a cardiologist, so it will have to be done by an internist, but you have to work with what you have within a reasonable distance! You will get some answers from it anyway, I'm sure.

Keep us posted.

PS Re: the cost. I know it's a big investment, but it's better to do it now then have things go wrong (heaven forbid) and end up spending a lot more all of a sudden. I have seen some animals come to us in crisis, with records from their vets that say "recommend echo" months ago, and their families have felt incredible regret. I have made decisions based on money for my animals and always keep this in mind -- is this something I will think is reasonable if the worst happens?
 
Erica, I paid $200 for civvie's echo--In our area, there is a vet tech & vet who go around with their table & echo, sono, & whatever else machine & they go from animal hospital to hospital--Great idea and great service for those who need it--Hope you can find something for sweet Moses... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: HUGS!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top