5/1 Do Lou amps 281+3 249

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Very Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13302

WCR well he got me up at 4 and just would not let me go back to sleep he ate a freeze dried NV medallion which if you look at his ss really changed his number from +11 to the +12 I went ahead and lowered his dose a wee bit anyway we shall see what happens today and see if I made a mistake or not. Its now been over 24 hours for him with no dry. I almost think this is harder on me with him going to our bedroom door and staring at it wondering why I am not getting his kibble out so now his freeze dried is kept there.
 
Hi, Lisa & Do Lou too ;-)
Happy Caturday, I feel for you friend - I know how hard no dry food is.. but before you know it.. Do Lou will be hooked on a new routine which does not include dry :mrgreen:
 
I do think there was a possibility that Do Lou saw some green last night but without the testing, you don't know. (I was actually hanging around to see if you got another test in.) DL can have late nadirs so it's something to consider. I tend to not be a big fan of reducing doses without having the numbers to support it. The other consideration is that after a low number, you can see a bounce and you may not want to drop the dose at the next shot time if there is a bounce even if a reduction was earned. Let's see how your kitty does today!
 
Congratulations Lisa!!!! I remember how adamant you were about his not being able to convert to canned and now look at you two!!
I am soooo very happy for you both! This is really a cause for celebration! It is not easy...I know...but YOU DID IT!!! Doing a happy dance for you both!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
HI Lisa,
Congratulations on the first day of no dry. I think we can all relate to the morning stare. :smile:
Hope Do Lou's #'s fall into place for you.
Have a good weekend.
jan and sara
 
Well I am actually wondering if freeze dried raw stays in them in a similar way to dry I have been reading a lot about it this am carb content is low but he really shot up I know it could have just been a food spike but his numbers this am are about the same as when he is on RC dry. He runs a even yellow on it. I can see you have to find the right food balance with this to get the right numbers but we will get there.
 
This is a big milestone. (Also, don't forget about the insulin shed, you may see what looks like a delayed reaction to food and dose changes.)
 
Libby mentioned something about rehydrating the dried chicken in the microwave into a soup for kitties that aren't eating well and it made for a very aromatic chicken soup. She thought the freeze drying concentrated the solids. I wonder if because the drying makes the food so concentrated that it may bump numbers up if you're giving a fair amount of it. To be honest, I think it's more that Do Lou had some lower numbers last night and what you may be seeing today is a small bounce.

Just one thought...if you're giving the freeze dried in any quantity, remember that it's not a balanced diet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top