5/1 Confused New Meter New High BG nbrs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancey

Member
I am not getting much help from my vet on dosage, he says all is good if Frodo is under 300. He currently gets 1U BID of Prozinc, and has been on it since April 2nd. His numbers don't seem to be changing much. Where should he be at? Is he suppose to be somewhere between 100 - 150? If so we have a ways to go. I just don't know if the 1U is good enough or I should be giving him a little more to see if it will bring him down any. Here are his numbers for the month, the first 2 weeks I was only checking in the evening then started doing AM & PM readings. I will note he was getting about 1/4 cup of dry food a day up until 4/21.

4/2 - 4/14 - 152, 175, 210, 155, 174, 179, 155, 208, 159, 202, 181, 215

4/15 - AMPS - 150; PMPS 169
4/16 - AMPS - 209; PMPS 157
4/17 - AMPS - 183; PMPS 174
4/18 - AMPS - 185; PMPS 159
4/19 - AMPS - 193; PMPS 205
4/20 - AMPS - 186; PMPS 191
4/21 - AMPS - 234; PMPS 219
4/22 - AMPS - 219; PMPS 192
4/23 - AMPS - 174; PMPS 175
4/24 - AMPS - 167; PMPS 202
4/25 - AMPS - 177

Or do these numbers look okay and I am just worrying way to much? It just seems if they should be lower and the numbers are staying kind of in the same ballpark that maybe he should be getting a little bit more. Not sure if I am looking at this right or not.

Thanks for any advice you can provide.
Nancey
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

WOW, Nancey -

Have you been getting any mid-cycle tests? Those numbers are quite good, and I'm surprised that you're shooting into some of them!

I think most of us here would love to see preshots around 200-250 and nadirs (low point, typically ~ +6) in the low 100s down to 70 or so (which some of us have NEVER seen!).

Just out of curiosity, was Frodo eating dry food before? And now you've changed him to what? It may be that if you have changed, that the diet is nearly controlling the numbers. That would be a really good thing!

Please share some additional info with us, and there will be others in-and-out that will be able to help you!

And Welcome!

Lu-Ann
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

First of all, welcome!

Secondly, those are very good numbers! Would it be possible for you to get some mid-cycle tests? Somewhere around 5-7 hours after you give the shot? That will tell you how low he's going and whether you it would be safe to increase your dose. It's actually more likely that you'll be decreasing your dose, based on those numbers. Once you get some mid-cycle numbers there are a lot of people on here who will be able to give you good advice on dosing!
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Welcome!

Lovely numbers, but 2 things:

can you get tests around 6 hours after the shot? We need to know how low your kitty goes. Until we knowthat, it would be best not to shoot a number below 200. Especially because of the second thing: you cut out the dry food 4 days ago. Removing dry food from the diet will drastically reduce insulin needs and some cats even go into remission just from it. Your numbers suggest the need to possibly decrease at this point, if you get a test mid cycle today post it here, well get you a dose recommendation. If you're working just post your time the shot would be and someone will be around to help make A call on the dose.

Cathy
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Lu-Ann,

I have gotten a few mid-cycle numbers (+4) in the evenings, especially over the past few days:

4/22 AMPS 219; PMPS 192 +4 184
4/23 AMPS 174; PMPS 175 +5 167
4/24 AMPS 167; PMPS 202 +4 189

The first time he was DX was 2/2011, with help from the vet I was using then we changed his diet from Royal Canin SO (I had one cat that had bladder stones & crystals is why they were eating this) to EVO dry, Canned EVO 95% & Core. He went into remission 4/2011, I took him to the vet 3/29 due to trembling back legs and him peeing outside the box more than inside. Vets monitor showed 404 and blood glucose from his labs showed 392, so he prescribed Prozinc 1U. Out of the rest of his blood work his Cholesterol was high and Chloride was low, but everything else looked good. I also had them run a urinalysis his glucose was 1000, protien ++/100, specific gravity 1.048.

I continued to feed him the same foods until I found this site and saw how even the tiniest of dry food can make a difference so I started taking it away from him slowly since he was use to feed feeding. He really wasn't eating that much since I was giving him more canned food than he was getting before so it wasn't too bad of a switch. The last dry food he had was on 4/21. Now he just eats the EVO 95%, Core and Merrick B4 Grain, all of it is chicken and Turkey. Also his treats are freez dried salmon & chicken pieces.

I have done 2 curves on him, here are his numbers from those:

April 15th
5:30 am - 150 - PS & Food
7:30 am - 193
9:30 am - 181
11:30 am - 173
1:30 pm - 175
3:30 pm - 180
5:30 pm - 169 - PS & Food

April 21
5:30 am - 234 PS & food
8:30 am - 178
11:30 am - 158
4:15 pm - 219 - PS & Food

So should I even be giving him his shots with some of these readings? I can get more mid-cycle evening readings and some mid-cycle day readings on the weekends if that would help.
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

I am wondering why an inverse curve on the 15th. Let me see if I can get my computer up and look more closely, hard to type on phone.
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

When was his first shot of insulin this time around, 4/2 am or pm and was that 152 his first preshot? This is important, gonna start a longer response in a second.
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Alright, I find these numbers puzzling. If we look at your preshots then everything looks great and your cat is well regulated! But the midcycle tests are really puzzling. Most days it looks like you basically stay flat and the best drop you've seen was only 80 points on 4/24. This is really unusual, based on your preshots my guess would have been you were seeing 70-90 at nadir. The meters, you may know, have an error of 20% so each number you get could be as much as 20% off in either direction. With that, most of the midcycles are absolutely flat....the 15th is flat but the presence of multiple tests between both ps does indicate that your kitty was higher while the insulin was supposed to be working then he was when it had cleared his system. Something's not quite right here, amazing preshots with no drop?

Yes, keep getting tests midcycle as often as you can...the minicurves are great but even if you can just keep getting a +4 at night (+6 is better, but we have to sleep sometime, right?)

I do wonder what would happen if you did a food test the next time you are below 200 rather than just giving the shot. If it won't screw up your schedule (you may need to give a shot 2 hours after your normal time or at some point during the cycle if your kitty gets high), you feed and test at +1 and +2 to see how the pancreas is coping on it's own without the insulin.

If that 152 was his first test before you gave the first dose of insulin, then I think your cat had something else going on that caused the diabetes to temporarily pop up. Infection like a UTI, pancreatitis, many things could cause glucose to be high. If that has resolved now you might be giving insulin to a kitty who doesn't need it, which is a quick fix!
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

That was my problem also, I was finding the numbers puzzling, wondering if he really needed the insulin. The vet said he had a small amount of leukocytes in his urine so indicating he might have a slight infection, so put him on Amoxidrops.

The first test of 152 he was done before his 5:30 PM shot, he did have a shot that morning at 5:30am. And he had 2 1/2 days on the Amoxidrops.

The numbers on the curve I did on the 15th concerned me also, since they went up from where I started, I was expecting them to come down also. The first curve I did when he was DX last year (B4 remission) it did the same thing, then the next 3 curves were kind of flat. Vet at that time had me back dosage down from 1U to .5 and then nothing. He was on Lantus the first time around.

I can do the food test if he is under 200, that is not a problem. So I test him if under 200 give food, then test at +1 & +2, right? if he is still under 200 do I need to test anymore through out the night? He does get me up around 1 or 2 in the morning wanting a little more food so that would not be a problem. If he is over 200 should I give the insulin? He has had a couple days over 200 but not sure some of that is not stress. He was living with my DH until the vet put him back on shots, now he is with me in an apt, so his whole life got turned upside down. However we do have one cat that picked on him all the time so at least he is away from that situation. Apt living is new for the both of us, he is still getting use to the different noises.

I really appreciate your help, I really don't want to give him anything he does not need.
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Dang, I was hoping that was a test from before the first shot...that would just be too easy though. To answer your question, if by two hours after you've fed (and I would do a small meal maybe 1/3 of what he normally eats during a cycle) he's falling good then I would let him be, most of us spot check whenever we can to try to catch any rise to a shootable number so if you wake up at any point then grab a test. I think this is worth a try, infection could have knocked you out of remission, it's happened from UTIs before. The good news is if the infection is gone and you're completely off dry food you may not need the insulin.

The numbers are puzzling, no signs of rebounding and other than that slight inverse curve no signs the dose is all that much high besides some lowish preshots. I would reduce (maybe to 0.5u) if the food doesn't work, I'm hoping it does and that the cycles you've been getting are high and flat cycles for a nondiabetic cat who was put on insulin. If he holds within 20% variance I would let him run without insulin as long as he's below 250 for as long as possible.
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Hi and Welcome Nancey and Frodo,

Those are awesome numbers. It would be really helpful if you could set up a spreadsheet, that way we can look at Frodo's history and not have to repeat questions over and over.

I would say that since the switch to the wet low carb food you may need to lower the dose.

Can you get another curve done now that he's settled into the new food, maybe this weekend? That would tell us alot more.

Glad your here.

Robin
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Catannc & Robin,

I am going to do a curve this weekend, that will be one full week on no dry food. Hoepfully it will be good. I will also when I test this evening if he is below 200 I will not give him a shot and monitor through out the evening and night. He had half a can this morning and I gave him the other half to hold him through the day. He had eaten some food during the night so doing this test tonight might be a good thing. I will post the results in the morning.

I am attaching my spreadsheet, hopefully it makes sense, I have tweaked it a couple of times trying to make it readable for anyone who will look and help. I have one tab with his daily BGs and one tab with his curves, I also have his curves from last year on that one sheet. Let me know if something doesn't make sense or if there is a better way to show it and I will modify it.

I would he so happy if the infection just knocked him out of remission and with the dry totally gone he goes back into remission. I am still concerned with his trembling legs, so I am going to get him on glucosamine this weekend.

Thank You so much for all your help, it is really great to have others to talk to about this, especially since my new vet (soon to be old vet) left me hanging. I know Frodo would be happy not to get poked anymore :-D .

Nancey
 

Attachments

Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Neuropathy would be better treated with methy b12, methylcobalime (spelling?) My cat had it bad, could barely walk,I did not use a supplement but she is almost 100% better bout 5 Weeks into remission if that makes you feel better.
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

I can't open the ss but now that Sue is back (she is our resident ss expert) maybe she can walk you through how to link your ss to your signature so it will always show up when you post.

Have you tried the Methyl B-12 for his hind legs? It takes a while but it works wonders.
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

I will try the MeB12, how much should I give him? And what form do you buy it in? He weighs 16 lbs.

I had read about this, but just wasn't sure if that was his problem since he has never really walked on his hocks they just tremble, and more so when he potties. He is really pitiful when he goes to his litter box. They tremble some when he walks but he seems to jump around okay.

Robin I am attaching the spreadsheet again, I may have saved it in the wrong version. Hopefully this will help. I would love to know how to attach it to my signature,that would help alot.

Thanks again.
 

Attachments

Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Good thing Sue is back! She's our resident expert on all this having to do with spreadsheets! First thing you'll need is a googledocs account. Once you are there, do a search for "FDMB" and it should give you a couple of template choices, one for "U.S" and one for "World". You want the US one. After that....um, did I mention Sue is the resident expert? :lol:

Then your SS will look just like everyone else's does. (Notice, I don't have one. I didn't really know Sue when Bob was on insulin, so I never took any heat over not having one. LOL)

I know a few of the kitties here have gotten B12 treatments. I'm sure one of them will advise on that. I think it comes in pills or injectable, but I think most people use the pills. I do know it has to be Methyl B-12 and not just plain old B-12, but I think people get it at the pharmacy in the vitamin section.

Carl
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

I got the Methyl B-12 at the health food store, it disolves in water so I added it to his food. Sorry I can't remember the dose, maybe ask in health, I added 3 to 5 pills a day.
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Hi Nancey and welcome!
I look forward to getting to kow you both and seeing the curve this weekend
I am very curious and I am a little confused by his numbers!
 
Re: Should I adjust dosage, are his numbers good?

Ok so last night I decided to try what Catannc suggested, Test, Food, no insuling unless needed it.

Here is what I did: Frodo had his shot (1.0) yesterday morning after testing (BG = 177). Yesterday at 4:00 he showed 189, I did not give him a shot, I gave him 1/2 a can of food. At 6:00 BG = 174, 8:00 BG = 162, gave other half of can food; 10:00 BG = 168. At 1:00am gave him about 1/4 can of food. 5:15am this morning BG = 152. No shot, gave him 1/2 can of food, he ate, gave him the rest at 6:00am.

So now I question whether or not he actually needs insulin? These are the types of numbers he was getting before when we took him off the insulin last year.

Just an FYI not only did he have a slight Bladder infection when I had taken him to the vet, but he had been eating some of my dogs dry food (Blue Buffalo) on a daily basis, on top of his own dry food (EVO). Maybe the three together along with the stress value are what contributed to his high BG at the vets that day.

Does any of that make sense? Because now I am really confused with these numbers. :?
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused

Yes, it makes complete sense! This is what I was hoping to happen, and hopefully it will continue, this is good!!!


I think he came out of remission for whatever reason, my guess is infection plus all that dry food: very important in the future to avoid any consumption of dry (consider locking the cat in another room when the dog is fed or installing a magnetic dog door into the door to a room in your house so only the dog can get to it's food). The vet saw diabetic numbers and back on insulin you went, except the vet didn't know that if the infection cleared and the dry food got cut out you might go back into remission. At some point right before you started insulin or right after, he began to self regulate again. Problem is when you shoot too much insulin, in this case 1u into a cat who may not need any, you start getting high flat cycles with a occasional crash in BG. It makes no sense to me how you could have ideal preshot numbers and really have no nadir activity, I think it looks like we're dosing a cat that would have normal BG otherwise and though the numbers are low for a diabetic, we're still seeing rebound action. His P I think works, I think it's been making Mr. Liver fight the insulin this whole time possibly, causing constant dumping of hormones to keep BG from crashing. I would continue on the no shot unless he gets a quick rise to above 200 and feeding does not bring him down (small meals seem to tell the P to produce more insulin if BG is starting to get high). If you do have to shoot, I would go very small, start at 0.2 and see what that does.

Keep us updated!
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused

Awesome!!! Thanks so much for your answer. He can no longer get to the dogs food so this should not be a problem going forward. I will continue to monitor him and probably still do a curve of such this weekend just to see how his number run over a 24 hour period.

I will post again after the curve.

Thanks again to everyone, this forum has been so informative. flip_cat
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

Catannc,

Yesterdays numbers:

5:15am - 152
4:20pm - 192
7:00om - 186
9:30pm - 184

This morning:
5:15am - 184

He didn't seem to eat as much yesterday as he had the day before, so thought might be why his readings were a tiny bit higher. But at least he seems to be holding steady.

I am not sure why but he seems calmer since I have stopped the insulin. He had been wondering aroung meowing alot more than usual, he is a BIG talker. I think he loves to hear his own voice sometimes. :lol:

So as long as he stays under 200 he is okay and does not need insulin right? Where should he be ideally?
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

Ideally for remission below 150 always, with the majority of the time spent in the double digits. But there are kitties off insulin who range from 100-120 on our remission page, so really it would be any cat who stays in numbers below what you can shoot insulin at. Typically unless people have amassed a lot of data as to how a cat is doing on insulin we say no shot below 200, and this is what most vets will tell you as well. But in remission pushes many shoot at rising numbers above 150, but you don't have a rising number right now.

I don't see any danger in waiting it out as long as the numbers stay around here. If you get 2 tests back to back where he has climbed and is above 210, I would try 0.2u (or if you only have u-40 syringes, push the plunger until you can just barely see through the barrel in front of it to shoot the smallest dose the syringe will hold).

Sue, Robin, Carl, Kim....anyone else want to chime in? I've never seen anything like this, the numbers are just as good off insulin or better since no yellows so far....has this happened before? Think it would be best to try micros to correct at this point or just leave it be and let Mr. P figure it out?
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

I would be glad to get you set up with a spreadsheet. (the one you have we have to download each to to our computers. The google one is accessible to all of us). Just send me a pm.

Lots of people give mini doses when the kitty is in the 150 - 200 range. We consider a kitty OTJ when they range from 40 - 120 without insulin, with the majority of the time in double digits. Because your kitty has just come off dry food, you might be a little more cautious with your dosing, but this weekend would be a good time to try, if you can be around.

Catannc's spreadsheet is a great one for you to look at - she had to really mini dose and keep a close watch to get her kitty off insulin.
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

Catannc & Sue,

I do have some U100 syringes since he was on Lantus the last time, so I can use those for smaller increments. I saw a formula in the link you sent me Sue for the needle conversion, basically U40 dosage x 2.5 = U100 dosage. is that right?

Last year the vet did consider him in remission when his BGs were staying under 200. I would love to see his numbers below 150 and double digits would be awesome. But understand he might not make it that low.

Catannc you said start with .2 if he is over 210, is that on the U40? Or should I try mini doses this weekend to see if his BG goes down. I was planning on doing a curve this weekend anyway so guess it would be a perfect time to try mini doses if that makes sense to do.

Catannc I will look at your spreadsheet as Sue suggested to see how you did your dosages based on his BG numbers.

Thanks for all the help. You guys are awesome!!!
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

Catannc said:
Ideally for remission below 150 always, with the majority of the time spent in the double digits. But there are kitties off insulin who range from 100-120 on our remission page, so really it would be any cat who stays in numbers below what you can shoot insulin at. Typically unless people have amassed a lot of data as to how a cat is doing on insulin we say no shot below 200, and this is what most vets will tell you as well. But in remission pushes many shoot at rising numbers above 150, but you don't have a rising number right now.

I don't see any danger in waiting it out as long as the numbers stay around here. If you get 2 tests back to back where he has climbed and is above 210, I would try 0.2u (or if you only have u-40 syringes, push the plunger until you can just barely see through the barrel in front of it to shoot the smallest dose the syringe will hold).

Sue, Robin, Carl, Kim....anyone else want to chime in? I've never seen anything like this, the numbers are just as good off insulin or better since no yellows so far....has this happened before? Think it would be best to try micros to correct at this point or just leave it be and let Mr. P figure it out?

People have done it both ways with success. I personally shot Harley with micro doses at any number over 150, Kim waited it out and let Chewy get there on his own.

If you choose to shoot start with .1u and test it, if nothing happens try .2u etc until you see some action.
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

Rob,

When you say .1u are you referring to using the U100 syringes? I think I will try giving him a mini dose since he is so close to 200, and I would really Love to see him get down at least under 120.

Sue,

I tried sending a pm but it looks like it is still in my outbox, so not sure if it has gone or not. I would think it should be in my sent folder but that does not seem to be the case.

Nancey
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

Alright, when we talk dose we are always speaking of dose of Prozinc which is a U40 insulin.

Now, do your u100 needles have a second set of markings that show half units? You're gonna need these and not all needles have them. So to shoot 0.1u of u40 you would eyeball 0.25 u on the u100 because of the conversion. 0.2u prozinc would be right on the 0.5u line on the u100. I only suggested the 0.2u because most cats don't seem to respond to micro tiny doses like mine did, I shot fat .1u (probably 0.15u) and that would take me from a mid 300 to low 100's, but that is really abnormal. That being said, we have no way of knowing what your kitty is going to do and that is why Robin is suggesting starting low. At the end I was shooting skinny 0.1u which were likely around 0.05u, which is ridiculous, but that was enough to take me from 200 to the 60s!

Of course, what are your tests showing now? If he's dropping you could just wait it out.
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

Do yourself a huge favor and go out and get the U100 syringes with the 1/2 unit markings, you can get them at Walmart. You will need to use the conversion chart with them.

Your eyeballs are going to fall out trying to dose a .1u in a U40 syringe. @-)

Yes, since we don't have any data on shooting low numbers you need to start small with .1u, test to see what it does, if it doesn't do anything then go to .2u and test, etc.
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

Messages stay in your outbox until the receipient reads them. I replied with info on how to put spreadsheet in your signature, and again, just call me if you need help.

Yes, start with .1 on U100 needles. You want to pick a number that you will shoot - somewhere in the 150-180 range. Here are some general instructions:

When your cat is consistently in numbers too low to shoot at shot time and in numbers in the 100 range and below during the cycle, you can consider micro dosing. This process should be guided on the forum by experienced members and will require more frequent testing.

You may be shooting at times other than the 12/12 schedule, when the blood glucose levels rise enough to require a small dose of insulin. You will need to pick a number somewhere near the 150 range at which you will plan to shoot, being sure that the number is indeed rising. The dose at these low numbers will vary with each cat and its patterns, so advice should be solicited. But you may be considering doses below .25 and even considering a “drop” of insulin. At this point, U100 needles and the conversion chart will be necessary.

It is important during this period to offer small frequent meals. You may want to experiment with the lowest carb foods to help bring down the numbers, staying away from seafood more than once or twice a week.


This weekend would be a great time to experiment. Just be prepared to stay on top of his numbers.

FWIW. I have seen several kitties whose vets said they were in remission at 200. Insulin was stopped and the cat stayed in mostly triple digits, eventually moving back into diabetic numbers. IMHO, our guidelines are much more successful at producing cats that go off insulin and stay off - some for months, some for years, some forever. ECID.
 
Re: 4/26 - What Now?? Really Confused - Nbrs Update

So Nancey....what's going on, hope it's good!
 
Re: 4/29- Update - Frodo is sick

It has not been a good weekend. His numbers were running pretty much the same, holding steady on Friday and even into Saturday. I was going to do a curve and start the mini doses today but now have a problem. Frodo started throwing up on me yesterday evening. At 4:30 I ran a BG becuase he threw up his lunch that he had eaten about 2 hours earlier, it was pretty much water with some food disolved in it. His BG was 177. I gave him a small amount of food, he ate and seemed fine. BG test at 7:30 he was running 184. Tested BG at 10:20 he was at 187, gave him another small meal. At midnight he was throwing up again and had diarrhea. He had a little more food and then a couple of hours later he was doing it again. I did not test at this time because he was upset and went under the bed. I took all food away from him. At 4:30 this morning he threw up a very small about. I hated him not having something on his belly so gave him about a Tablespoon of food, and of course a couple hours later he threw it up. So at 6:30 this morning his reading was 227. I gave him .5u using the U40, opened a fresh can of food and he ate a little over a 1/4 of a can. About 9:45 or so he threw up again. Once I everything cleaned up I tested him at 10:20, BG 238.

What now do I do now it seems his levels are rising with no food but I am not sure what to do to keep it down. I am going to get some baby food, chicken or turkey to see if that works. But I don't know what else to do. And with his number climbing how much insulin should I give him?

I just can't believe this he was doing so good. He is an indoor cat, can't think of anything he might have gotten a hold too. His only weird thing is he likes licking plastic and he was licking on my cothes basket a lot yesterday. Any suggests you have a greatly apprecaited. I am really worried about him not keeping food down, and his numbers rising.
 
Re: 4/29 - What Now?? Frodo Sick, Nbrs Climbing

Sue,

Thanks for the response. I have used baby food in the past for this problem with other animals, seems to be milder on their stomachs than regular food. I did fid baby food that is nothing else but ground chicken & chicken broth, which was nice. He ate about a Tablespoon of EVO around noon and so far it si staying down. I gave him two small meals of the baby food, so far so good. I just hope it stays down. I also checked his BG at 2:00 and it was down some 217, so hopefully the food is helping some.

Following your directions I was able to get Frodo's SS embedded, so it is out there now.

Looks like it will be next weekend before I can try with the mini doses so I can be home with him the whole time. My Walmart did not have the U100 syringes with the mid-dashes. I do have some U100's from last year when he was on Lantus I can use. Between now and next weekend I will continue to look for some of the others.

Also I noticed the Relion Meter is used by a lot of folks here, so I am guessing everyone is happy with it? I noticed when I was at Walmart the price for the test strips are about half of what I pay for them for my TrueTest from Walgreens. So was thinking about changing meters.

I post how he is doing later.

Thanks again
Nancey
 
Re: 4/29 - What Now?? Frodo Sick, Nbrs Climbing

I'm very happy with my relion micro. Can't beat the price on the strips either. You mentioned him licking the laundry basket. Any chance there was any residue from laundry soap or bleach on it?
Carl
 
Re: 4/29 - What Now?? Frodo Sick, Nbrs Climbing

Hi Nancey,
so sorry Frodo is sick. You may wish to send a PM to new member Cheryl A'Purrson who has a lot of experience with vomiting kitties. Although her experience deals with vomiting in kitties with pancreatitis and IBD (has NO experience with FD); in my opinion, it's all related to the digestive tract. She recommends plain unflavored Aloe Vera juice for vomiting connected to pancreatitis, maybe that would help Frodo. Aloe Vera juice just went into my emergency supplies! Next, I'm adding a good food syringe or two.

Sending Frodo healing vibes. Best wishes, Sophie
 
Re: 4/29 - What Now?? Frodo Sick, Nbrs Climbing

Carl & Bob in SC said:
I'm very happy with my relion micro. Can't beat the price on the strips either. You mentioned him licking the laundry basket. Any chance there was any residue from laundry soap or bleach on it?
Carl

I believe I will be buying us a new meter. The laundry basket holds dirty clothes, so not a chance on that. I have tried to think of everything he could have gotten into but can't think of anything. I live in a small apartment so not much for him to get into.

Sophie, thanks so much for the good vibes. So far he is keeping down the baby food, so I am really hoping we are in the clear. I will continue to feed him the baby food for tonight, to keep it mild on his stomach. I have never heard of Aloe Vera Juice for vommiting I will definitely look for some to keep around.

Nancey
 
Re: 4/29 - What Now?? Frodo Sick, Nbrs Climbing

We made it through the night without throwing up. He ate a small jar of chicken baby food and about a tablespoon of EVO 95% yesterday. He isn't real fond of the EVO, which is why I gave it to him, he eats it slower, but will eat it. He hasn't drank much water, but I put water in his food so figure we are okay there. His BG this morning was 187, and he ate a little over a 1/4 can of B4 Grain. I am hoping we are in the clear now, as he was hollering for food this morning which he didn't yesterday. Now if the diarrhea will start getting better I will feel better. Then I can start back working on getting his numbers down.

Thanks to everyone on this board... I am so glad I found it, the support here is AWESOME!!!.
Nancey
 
Re: 5/1 - What Now?? Frodo Sick - Update

Looks like we are past whatever made him sick. I still have no clue what caused this episode. He is eating not as much as he was but at least he is eating. Now his numbers are holding around 190. I really would like to get him down below 150. Since he was staying flat with the 1u dose and not much different with no shot does doing .5 still sound like to much?
 
Re: 4/30 - What Now?? Frodo Sick - Update

I am big on starting low and increasing if and as needed. I would start with a little less insulin - maybe .3 or something and see if it changes things. Any tests you can get midcycle will help you see how exactly it is working.

Glad he has decided to eat again. What a relief for you!
 
Re: 4/30 - What Now?? Frodo Sick - Update

I vote for .2 since it lines up so nicely on the u100 needles, even if you don't have the half unit markings on your syringes. He may need more, but better to work up then down in dosing since going up you don't have to worry about rebounding. Glad he's doing better and eating!

So .2u u40 is .5u on the u100
 
Re: 4/30 - What Now?? Frodo Sick - Update

Thanks Sue and Cattanc, I will will start with the .2u and post numbers as I get them. My work hours make it a little strange but I will pull them when I can.

He really hates me messing with his ears, twitches thems a lot, I went through 3 test strips yesterday evening trying to get one number. :lol: He comes running when I call because he knows he gets a treat at that time, but refuses to stop twitching those ears.

I will get a BG number at 3:00 today and then one at 5:00, but will not be able to get another one until around 11:00 tonight. I will give him his shot at the 5:00 time at least it will be +6 when I test at 11, so not too bad.

You all really help keep us Newbies sane.. okay at least partly. cat_pet_icon
Nancey
 
Re: 4/30 - What Now?? Frodo Sick - Update

Some people advocate the "vulcan" grip (star trek fans?). Really hold on to that ear as you get ready to poke.

This is all a matter of finding how the testing will work best for you and Frodo. What ear bleeds best? What he is comfortable/uncomfortable with? How to coordinate the steps so they work best for you two? You'll get a system going that fits you.

Be waiting to hear what you get today.
 
Re: 4/30 - What Now?? Frodo Sick - Update

If you don't have to really physically restrain him for the tests this is what I do to keep the twitches down. Sit on the floor with him on your left side (reverse if you're left handed). If you need to hold him in place a little, lean over on your elbow and tuck him between your arm and thigh. Place whatever you use as a backer inside the ear (I use folded up paper towel) and stretch the ear flat over it, then hold the two firmly together between thumb and forefinger and proceed as normal with the pricking. Keeping a firm hold on the ear has cut down on all the flicking, I test on the outside lower margin most of the time and keep hold of her ear by the tip. Sad thing is she purrs through the tests cause she likes getting her ears rubbed, but it's a lot better than the bloodbath that happened the first time I tested!
 
Re: 4/30 - What Now?? Frodo Sick - Update

Luckily I don't have to restrain or sit on him. I sit on the floor and he lays down between my legs. Doesn't try to run off, just twitches the heck out of those ears. Sounds like I haven't been holding his ear tight enough, thinking I would hurt him once he started twitching them. I will try a firmer grip this afternoon and see how that goes. I try to switch ears but his right one does bleed easier than the left. So getting the blood isn't an issue it is keeping him from throwing it all over me and the room which the ear twitches. Even using vaseline doesn't stop it from flying. I would love to hear Frodo purr through it all. He really purrfers a chin scratch over an ear scratch though. Hopefully the firmer grip will help me out.
 
Re: 4/30 - What Now?? Frodo Sick - Update

Don't worry, you'll find your groove, it just takes a little time. We got to the point that I could test Harley while he was sleeping and he wouldn't wake up until I put pressure on the poke, he hated that part.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top