.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

hey, i think it was 11pm!!!! it was only 8 here :lol:
see i think she needs less of a dose decrease and the .4 would have been an appropriate drop.
usually not cutting doses in half here...am I wrong on this ?
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

Bud is having hypo number at +6 26
Beth is out, I spoke with her DH Wayne...
Anyone on board....He is giving regular with karo right now until he gets the HC going.
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

hi marcy, i'm sure beth is home by now....she was stopping off to buy some more hc food.
i think she needs alot of emotional support as budbud keeps hypoing on her.
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

Hope all is well with Bud. He should be testing every 15-20 mins until she is at a sustained higher number. He should also feed some MC or HC food. Karo will spike the BG but not sustain it.

Time to reduce the dose again to probably .1u - or skip, but she will probably bounce high from this again and need a bit of help coming down and THEN skip.

Yes, Lori, I think you are wrong to say .4u was ok (and I thought that before I read that Bud was at a hypo number). I have given detail reasons and examples of why my suggestion to go to .25u was needed. Obviously, even that was too much for her.

I say this only because a cat's health and possibly life is at stake here: off board dosing "help" is not a good idea because it doesn't allow for peer review. Making a phone call to assist in a hypo and getting through the crisis is one thing, but dosing suggestions need to remain on the board. There have been some clues in posts that make me think there is off-board advice being given.
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

hey sheila i am already eatting my words and they are hard to swallow ok? as far as off board advice...not really so much. beth and i are freinds and talk on the phone...have been since we first met i think over newbie kits a while back. she called me the other night when bud was real low.
so.....the dosing does come up, but we mutually discuss it and how often have i said 'lets see what the lev-perts think' so please don't jump on me k?
bud is up to 40 now.
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

Beth, when you and Bud have recovered from this episode read this on what I would suggest you do now:

It really looks like you are following Beau's path. While lev is supposed to be able to be shot on low PS to hold the BG in nice low (normal) numbers, I found that Beau would drop like a rock on even .05u if his PS was below about 150.

I set a do not shoot below number of 140 or 150, shot the smallest dose I could manage (.05u) and shot as needed. Sometimes at +12, sometimes +15 or 18 or 24.

I really think you are there now and she needs to take a few solo flights to see how she handles it. Look at Beau's SS Sept 2-9 and Sept 16-23 (2009) to see what this looks like. The week I was gone he got no insulin, but I would have shot as needed if I had been home.

Hang in there!
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

She is not an acro (Acromegaly - pituitary tumor producing insulin-like growth factor).

She looks to be going OTJ (knock wood/anti jinx!), nothing more "complicated" than that :lol:

Did you actually shoot at +10.5 this morning? Shooting early is a dose increase because it extends the overlap between shots - so always factor that in and reduce the dose (from what you would shoot at a +12) to compensate.

Let's see if she spikes at +11 or +12. Meanwhile can you practice drawing .1u? Use an old syringe and water in a cup. Stick the needle in the water, draw up to a couple of units, invert the syringe and squeeze out the water to .5u. Then, rotate the barrel, instead of pushing it, to form drops on the tip of the needle. They should be about the size of the head of a pin. On my monitor they are about the size of an "o" - inside part. Just practice until you can get five of the same size drops from a .5u. Then, draw up .5u and twist off 4 drops. Depress the plunger and look at the drop that gets expelled. Is it the same as your twisted off drops? Good. Now you are ready for the real thing. Draw up .5u of insulin, twist off 4 drops and what remains is .1u.

I think do not shoot if she is under 180. She may be able to bring herself down. (Beau did that during the week I was gone and he got no insulin. He ranged from 100 to 200, if I remember correctly. If she is below 180 wait. Test again. Don't shoot until she is over 180. You may find that .1u is safe down to 150, but I'd rather be cautious.

I'll check back in an hour or so.
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

+11 160

yes, I did shoot at +10.5. was the 483 wot made me think it was OK to shoot. (old PZI habits... thought I'd gotten rid of those)

off to practice.
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

I am having a very hard time with air bubbles on the plunger. I can get the big ones up into the barrel, but there seems to always be a teeny one left on the plunger. I CANNOT get the air out of the barrel!
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

eeraby said:
I am having a very hard time with air bubbles on the plunger. I can get the big ones up into the barrel, but there seems to always be a teeny one left on the plunger. I CANNOT get the air out of the barrel!
OK - are you getting an idea of the size of a .1u drop. Can you guestimate that and just ignore the bubbles? Also, try drawing in VERY S-L-O-W-L-Y - to minimize bubbles
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

+7.5 89
+8.5 123 34 in 1 hour.
+11.0 160 37 in 2.5 hours
+11.5 179 19 in 1/2 hour
PS due in 18 min.
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

OK on the slow draw... I"m going to draw up the 0.1u now. yes, I'll be good within +/- 0.05u
bb @ 8:00 with PS
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

My goodness, of all the Sundays I had to work today, then went out to dinner with staff.

I see we have someone who wants to go OTJ! Man oh man, she's doing this fast on Lev.

I don't want to add anything else to the current plan at this point, 'cause sounds like Sheila has you covered. Just want to reiterate a couple things.

Yes, shooting a +10.5 is like adding another .25U to the dose in Bud Bud's case so I'm not surprised she dropped to 26. She is probably going to hit another 400 from this, but it's important to realize that is a rebound number only and not cause to raise dose. It is also not a reason to shoot early. You experienced today what shooting early can do.

Hopefully she won't scare you with too many more low numbers before her BGs get settled again.
 
Re: BUD 6/12 amps 483 0.25u

I would expect high numbers in response to the 26 - she needs time to settle out of the rebound bounce, which will mean some high numbers most likely. Be patient.

And don't raise the dose even if she is high tomorrow am.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top