.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: BUD 6/11 amps 339 0.4; +329; +8 99; +10.5 69

Did you see my reply in yesterday's post?

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=45162

I'd keep her at .25u and hold steady through the rebound highs. If she continues to throw lows, you lower the dose again - or try her off insulin, but it works better to keep lowering the dose until you are shoot as little as you can possibly draw (for Beau that was .05u) as consistently as possible, then start shooting "as needed" and skipping when a shot would drop her too low.
 
Re: BUD 6/11 amps 339 0.4; +329; +8 99; +10.5 69

You are welcome. Are you understanding why I am suggesting the lower dose?

She responds pretty predictably to lows by rebounding into the 300s. The pattern is there in her SS. Dose should never be raised based on one PS number, especially a high one following a really low number - low number "earns" a dose decrease, but that needs to be given time to settle as with any dose change on Lev. Lev works best shot at a consistent dose as, generally, the response to a given dose change takes time to show up. It won't happen in the same cycle like it does with PZI or vetsulin so you can't adjust dose based on PSs at every shot time. It took me months, if not years to unlearn that sort of dosing from my vetsulin years. :roll:

Anyway, Bud earned her dose decrease with the 32 the other day. :mrgreen:
 
Re: BUD 6/11 amps 339 0.4; +329; +8 99; +10.5 69

This is when Levemir earns my nickname for it - the Gentle Giant. When the cat's body has adjusted to it and Levemir begins to work really well it can bring down a 300 to double digits. People mistakenly call it a gentle insulin. It is, but once it begins to work, it can pull out all the stops and become a giant.

Sheila is right on the money. Please listen to her, because she has been where you and made the mistakes and learned from them. Please learn from her, so that you don't continue to make the same mistakes.

You may be told otherwise from elsewhere on FDMB about how to dose Levemir when you have rebound numbers. Feeding the lows and continuing to overdose a cat which clearly does not need so much insulin is counterproductive and hard on the caregiver, not to mention the cat. Who wants to be chasing their cat with the meter every 20 minutes?? I've seen spreadsheets where that is happening, so that is why I am cautioning about what you may be told on other areas of the board or from other members.
 
Re: BUD 6/11 amps 339 0.4; +329; +8 99; +10.5 69

Not sure what you ended up giving, but with numbers like the 56 that late in the cycle, even less than .25U is probably all she needs. You'll probably see 300s again tomorrow, but a cycle going this long and this low on only .4U, makes me think she should only get half of .4U, which would be .2U, if that. Not .3U like you mentioned in the other thread this morning.
 
Re: BUD 6/11 amps 339 0.4; +329; +8 99; +10.5 69

Wait a minute....are we shooting a falling number?
I am not a fan of that....can someone splain why beth is shooting a falling number of 56 to me...
 
Re: BUD 6/11 amps 339 0.4; +329; +8 99; +10.5 69

lori and tom said:
Wait a minute....are we shooting a falling number?
I am not a fan of that....can someone splain why beth is shooting a falling number of 56 to me...
Did you read anyone telling her to shoot a falling number? No.
 
Re: BUD 6/11 amps 339 0.4; +329; +8 99; +10.5 69

483 this morning. And I sure as heck hope that's a typo on your spreadsheet - you have 2.5 instead of .25 :smile:

No I was not telling her to shoot a falling number. I guess she skipped the shot altogether.
 
Re: BUD 6/11 amps 339 0.4; +329; +8 99; +10.5 69

eeraby wrote, "I did shoot at +15 last night 0.25."

I am having a little confusion following your shot times.

If you tell us that the PM shot was "@+3" we will know that the shot was given in the PM cycle and it is being given 15 hours after the previous shot.

When I look at the AM shot for 6/12 and you label it "+10.5" I can't tell if you gave the shot an hour and a half early or if you are just counting the hours since the previous shot. The I notice that you put the time of the day under the AMPS and I am really confused. It looks like the AMPS BG and shot was at +1.5. It is easier for us if your shots and BGs are consistent with the heading of the spreadsheet then we are able to do the math ourselves for the length of time since the previous shot.

If you are not ALWAYS seeing the spreadsheet heading at the top of your page when you are editing, there is an option to always display it at the top of the page.

But if the way you are doing it makes it easier for you, then by all means do whatever helps you the most. This is a stressful business, diabetes, and you don't need to add more stress than already goes with the territory.

Lana
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top