4/9 Rocky PMPS 153 +1 199 +3 288 +7.5 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Hi,

Not sure anyone is going to see this. Afraid to type too much & then get that "error" message again and nothing go through since 4am this morning.

Hello? Can anyone see me?
 
Re: FDMB broken> 4/9 Rocky shot advise, please.

I know FDMB is having issues this morning. I'm at work so my availability is spotty, but I can see you!!
 
Re: FDMB broken> 4/9 Rocky shot advise, please.

I thought it was Ok to move the the shot time back by 15 minutes the the first night.

Rocky's usual shoot time is around 9:15 by the time I prepare the shot and he actually gets it. I had to stall yesterday because he was 60 at AMBG and was unsure of how low he would go. Instead, he bounce to the 300s for a few hours.

I then gave his PM shot at 9:40pm instead of at 10pm, last night. It means it was shorter than 12 hours between insulin doses. I also did not make it a skinny or a fat.

Rocky touched 44 last night and I had to feed him 3x.

Now it's already nearly 20 minutes past his "regular" shot time. I'm going to go get his BG reading right now.

I'll give the shot at 10am. I've got a hair appointment at 12:30pm today. The scheduled time I'm going to give him his food is going to be all messed up because I have to leave the house before noon.

Not sure whether to give a reducie or if last night's shot messed everything up because I didn't wait 12 hours.
 
Re: FDMB broken> 4/9 Rocky shot advise, please.

If I'm reading that correctly, only shot about 20 minutes early, right? That shouldn't have a HUGE impact on the numbers. Rocky is bouncy, but he is also really working the juice.

Personally, I think I would take the reducie (especially since you are going out for a bit), even though there is a good chance Rocky may bounce today. If the reducie doesn't hold, you can always take him back up at a later date if you need to.
 
Re: shot advise 4/9 Rocky AMBG 233 (fed) more info

If you had to work to keep him up I'd take the reduction. I don't think the 20 minutes would have made THAT big of a difference.
 
Re: shot advise 4/9 Rocky AMBG 233 (fed) more info

Not sure how many times things are posting to FDMB. Keep getting "error" code and a crash message. Pretty sure it ain't my computer. :roll:

I just tested Rocky and he is at 233. I then fed him but did not shoot. Will shoot at 10am. (1/2 hr from now)

Will feed this morning at 9:30am, 10am (and shoot); 11am, then 12pm. A normal day is 9am feed then shoot, feed 10am, feed 11am, feed 12 noon.

Can someone please look at Rocky's SS? I am so tired I can literally barely stand up. My legs feel like limp noodles and muscles full of charlie horses.

I want to give his shot in 15 minutes. Not sure to reduce to 2.0u.

It appears last night's 2.25u failed because he dropped to 44, but I did give him the shot early and did no shaving of a dose.

I don't want to wait 6 days before being able to bump him back up to 2.25u if he stays in pinks, touches red and black, at 2.0u.

Thanks! :YMPEACE:
 
Re: shot advise 4/9 Rocky AMBG 233 (fed) more info

I looked at Rocky's SS earlier...I would take the reduction and shoot the 2.00u. Unfortunately there is no real way to predict whether or not the reducie will hold, but Rocky is really sending you a message with these low cycles - for the moment at least, he needs a little less juice. I know you shot early last night, but it wasn't drastically early (if I"m reading your previous post correctly). Plus you need some rest, and you're not going to get it if Rocky is spending all night in these low numbers that require monitoring and feeding.

BTW, you don't have to wait 6 days before calling a reduction failed - it's 6 cycles which is 3 days.
 
Re: shot advise 4/9 Rocky AMBG 233 (fed) more info

If you can't be around later to test, it's probably safest for you to just go ahead and reduce back to 2 units, especially if you really had to work at getting him up and out of the 40's last night.

If the reduction fails, you just go back up. No permanent damage done.

From the protocol:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.
 
Re: shot advise 4/9 Rocky AMBG 233 (fed) more info

Thank you Amy... I'm going to be so upset when Rocky touches those reds and blacks again, and then I have to wait three days before increasing his dose back to 2.25u, again. It just doesn't seem fair. I will be *very* tempted to NOT wait 6 cycles before bumping back up to 2.25u if I see numbers in the black..

The 2.0u was just Ok last time... but Rocky only got 2 green numbers from it on 3/25/14.
 
Re: shot advise 4/9 Rocky AMBG 233 (fed) more info

Thinks could be different this time...if his pancreas is healing, it you could see a lot more green. You never know...unfortunately the FD crystal ball just has not materialized yet. I know 3 days sounds like an eternity, but it is better that he be high for a few days than crash when you're not around.
 
Re: shot advise 4/9 Rocky AMBG 233 (fed) more info

You really are making good progress! There is much less red/black in the last week. If you zoom way out you can see the colors getting better! :thumbup
 
different this time? Re: 4/9 Rocky PMPS 268

Amy, Chris, and Nikki,

Yes, things *could* be different this time for Rocky but I won't hold my breath on it, LOL, but I'm just a sleep deprived pessimist right now :lol: I did give Rocky the reduced dose to 2.0u at 10:00am. \M/

I have to give a 3 minute presentation tonight to City Council on why they should reconsider, and choose to fund Kitty Karma Refuge. I can barely stand, :? , and I'm not quiet finished writing the my words yet! :? Very disappointed in myself. I know that KKR is not going to get this money, but it's a chance for me to reach a wider audience as the meeting will be televised live and there are so many people that do not know about T-N-R and the feral cat population in Elk Grove. It's ridiculous. We have nearly 200K residents and don't even have an animal shelter. We rely on the city of Sacramento, nearly 1/2 million people, to do the animal care for Elk Grove. BEYOND STUPID to me..

Chris, it wasn't too hard to keep Rocky above 40, but he did kind of want to stay in the low 50s and I was very quick, like every 15 minutes, to test him last night. So, it could have been that he wanted to 'surf' 40s, but I wasn't going to let him get there. I know a lot of people would have been all right with their cat in the 50s, but I fed Rocky 3x in the 50s before he went to 65.. In addition, Rocky had more Karo syrup last night then he has had the ENTIRE time we have been at FDMB. :shock: I was hoping that the Karo would wear off sooner than the food and then we could get back to a more accurate, less food induced reading.

I guess Rocky could prove me wrong and show us some green numbers from the 2.0u dose this time. That would nice.. however, I don't think I'd like it much if it started happening today!! I'll be in-and-out of the house all day long so not able to test him as often as i have been these past few days.

But if he goes into the pinks in about one hour then I'm only going to test him every few hours.

Thank you everyone for your guidance. Now if the magic genie could make me feel more rested. Unfortunately coffee ~O) only gives me a kick in the pants to speed things up when I am this tired. It does not help make things more clear to me, although I know it does for a lot of people. Instead, I just feel like a sped up drunk. :lol: I shouldn't be driving.

Oh, one more thing. I have never seen Rocky so active as he has been then for the past few days, in a good way. He is playing footsie under the space in the door with the other cats in the house. Before, I wasn't going to let that happen because of the ringworm. But before he didn't even want to move very much from his bed UNLESS it was time to eat. Rocky does love his grubs. haha_smiley I've not had any ringworm rash from Rocky for a long time now and I am picking him up and kissing him all of the time. He is also a lot more vocal- "Sprite" is the word that comes to my mind but he is a little older and large maybe for that word to suite him very well. :lol:
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 .. 253 at 3:4

I'm nearly in tears..

I really need to attend this city council meeting in 2 hours. I thought for sure that Rocky would stay in the 300s the entire time I was away.

He is already at 253 on a reduced dose of insulin at 2.0u, even given one hour late this morning..

I'm frightened. I don't know what to do. I would pray that he only goes into the 100s while I'm gone tonight, but if he goes to green he always DIVES.

I'm so scared...

Should I leave him a plate of HC food before I go? He will probably eat it.

However.... He did NOT eat all of his 4th morning mini-meal.. but, he did get (1) can of FF Classic Chicken prevent him from surfing 40 for many,many hours last night.

Some, please, what would you do now?
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340.. 253

Hey Tina,

I'm not seeing the latest numbers on Rocky's ss - the last one I see is the 340. When did he get the 253 reading?

Hang in there!
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340.. 253

Yes, you can leave him a plate of food if you are scared.
What + hour was the 253 test? Test again before you leave. If he is going down, and you are really scared you can even leave a little bit of MC out for him. I'm pretty sure that he will be fine. Are you going to be gone for long?
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340.. 253

Rocky does like to drop like a, well, rock. How soon after shot time is your meeting? Or is the meeting before shot time?

Yes, you can definitely leave him either MC or HC to keep him safe while you are gone...safety first! But, I wouldn't rush into it just yet. Since you have 2 hours before the meeting, just keep an eye on what Rocky is doing.
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 + 6.5 253 +7

Sorry, was in a hurry to get stuff copied at Staples and couldn't get to Rocky's SS chart fast enough. My printer broke.

Looks like Rocky is slowly dropping..

Ok, here is another thing I do not like at all. He is really sleeping. I'm not sure if it is because he is so tired from being poked from so many nights in a row for hour after hour, or if something else is wrong. nailbite_smile The other thing is, it's pretty humid and hot in Elk Grove today. Temperature is 81°F and we don't have AC on in our house.

The CC meeting starts at 6pm but I have no idea when I will get to speak. I have to fill out a blue card when I arrive to let them know that I want to speak. City Clerks office told me that there can be a lot of people at these grant award meetings. City Council has already decided who gets grant money, but apparently this is an opportunity to change their mind, if you dare try.. anyway, I think it is a mandatory event.

I have no idea when I will get home. Rocky's shoot time tonight i at 10pm and I know I'll be home before that time. But I've got to leave here in about 1/2 hour to make it to City Hall by 6pm.

A part of me says don't leave food but that means if he dives he won't have food for at least 3 hours.
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 + 6.5 253 +7

i'd leave him plenty of low carb food. there's nothing in his numbers today that suggest he's diving, but you probably won't be able to relax unless you have a back up plan. so i'd make it lc, myself.
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 + 6.5 253 +7

Question: Can kitty go DKA even if has been in green numbers for a few days? I'm not liking the way Rocky is looking and acting right now. COMPLETELY different than from this morning. :cry:

I've got to leave now. I'm going to forgo the food in hopes that Rocky comes down very slowly.. I' have no idea how long these meetings last, but it seems to me that people won't want to be there all night long.

If it came down to it- I would forgo speaking and come home if I didn't get to speak before three hours had passed.
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 + 6.5 253 +7

It does look like Rocky is slowing down and it is getting to be later in the cycle...usually it seems that when he drops hard, it's earlier. I agree with Julie - at this point he would probably fine with LC, but if you need peace of mind, leave him something higher carb. I know it's important for you to be able to focus at your meeting, and it will be hard to do that if you're worried about Rocky. Just remember that his PMPS will be food influenced!

The extra pokes (and therefore interrupted sleep) could definitely be why he's sleep...that, and the humidity.

Good luck with your meeting!

ETA - I don't have DKA experience. YOu may want to add that to your subject line so people know you have that question.
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 + 6.5 253 +7

Ok Julie I'll leave it right now, and he'll probably eat it in about 2 minutes flat!! Haha! At least that would maybe pick him up a bit and I could relax a bit. I won't be able to test again. Just leave the food and hop into the car.
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 + 6.5 253 +7

I would leave a little bit of LC food out, just for my own piece of mind.

Who knows, maybe you'll be home in an hour.
 
Re: Pls hlp! Suggest 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 + 6.5 253 +7

Hi Tina,
I hope that you went to the meeting and that your presentation will sway some of the powers that be. I agree that Rocky looks like he will be fine while you are out. As for the sleeping: cats sleep a lot! Sometimes it can even be hard to wake them up if they are sound asleep (this is true of Rusty). If Rocky had a busy, active morning and if the weather has suddenly become hot and humid, it is not surprising that he wants to sleep.
Good luck on your presentation.
Please get some good sleep yourself tonight!

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Shot hlp- I'm home.. 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 +7 233 +11 1

I'm just now home! I'm so glad that I left the food and thank you everyone for encouraging me to do so.

Rocky is at 189 and we've only got one hour until shot time. He DID eat that 1/2 can of LC and is presenting with a number in the 100s.. not like Rocky. :?

His dose has been reduced to 2.0u, but to be honest, I'm even AFRAID to give him that much tonight. I really must get some sleep.

Will tell what happened at meeting in a bit. Pretty good news!
 
Re: I'm home.. 4/9 Rocky AMPS 268 +1 340 +7 233 +11 189

Good Boy Rocky!!! Staying safe while your mamabean was out fighting for truth, justice and your cousins who don't have it so good as you!!

Glad you're home Tina and that Rocky did great!

Hope there's lots of good news, and it's followed by lots of dollar signs!
 
Re: I'm home.. dropped at shot time- 4/9 Rocky PMPS 15

Rocky's BG came down to 153 at PMPS. So, it was a drop of 36 points in one hour. I think normally that might not bother me, but tonight it does because he has been going so low lately.

I think I don't like that he dropped at all at shot time. I did give him the 2.0u dose. I'm not sure I could stay awake tonight if he starts to go too low. I'm really frightened I might sleep through my alarm.

Well, let's see where he is in another hour. Maybe his BG will shoot up to Kingdom Come in the old fashioned, grand old Rocky style. :lol:

His BG is really surprising me lately.. Do you think that adding that 1/2 capsule of Bovine Colostrum to his morning meal has anything to do with it? His BG has been going lower ever since I began mixing that into his food. I was telling Julie that studies show it does in fact reduce the BG of Type 2 diabetes in humans.
 
Re: I'm home- dropped at shot time- 4/9 Rocky PMPS 153

he is clearing a bounce today - straight down from the 340 this morning - 253-231-189-153.

the good news is that he peaked out on the bounce from last night only 1/2 cycle later - and that's fantastic. we want the bouncing to stop and he's getting there. Now 24 hrs later it's resolving.

the bad news is that he may very well come back down into greens tonight and coast there again. looking at his spreadsheet today, that's what i would expect. if you think you can't stay awake and test him, you probably should make certain he's got access to plenty of low carb food. i probably would stay up and keep monitoring, sleep in between tests with an alarm really loud, set in a pie plate or something else equally obnoxious, to make sure you don't sleep through it. i always slept in the living room with the light on when i had to do this.

as painful as it is to do this night after night, you're keeping him safe and by letting this play out he's spending a lot of time in green numbers, his bouncing is resolving, and you've said his behavior is perkier. it's an investment big time now and it will increase his chances of going OTJ at the best, and even if he doesn't get there, getting him tightly regulated will mean he'll be healthier.

i have no idea if the supplementing makes any difference at all. i think he's been improving since before you started giving it to him, but perhaps it's helping. idk.
 
4/9 Rocky PMPS 153 +1 199

Looks like Rocky's BG is going up instead of down after his shot tonight, at least so far. I can hardly believe that I am happy about that. Well, I have to feed him two more times and will retest again at +3 to see where he is at. If he's on a steady climb up, I am probably safe to go to bed. Whew! I-)
 
Re: 4/9 Rocky PMPS 153 +1 199

'Tina..... can you hear me?"

Tina: "Yes?"

"Tina...."

Tina: "Yes, who is this and what do you want?"

"Tina this is SLEEP! Can't you hear me calling your name?"
 
Re: 4/9 Rocky PMPS 153 +1 199 +3 288

I hope you got a good night's sleep. I know the feeling but now I am praying for a sleepless night or lots of testing day. I'm thinking decreases can be needed and you might be on a downward trend. In our case we will need to go up. Can't they find a happy medium???

Elise

P.S. I too keep getting error messages but when I check my posts are being updated.
 
Re: 4/9 Rocky PMPS 153 +1 199 +3 288

I'm afraid we might be headed for another decrease today.. At AMPS +4 he is already at 72. .. i wish he could learn to surf the greens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top