4/9 Petey AMPS 278

it's such an unpredictable journey, Laurie isn't it?!
You started TR not so recently. I'd be curious to see how it works for Petey. It's been such a huge help for Fistuk and helped to have more predictable cycles.
Wishing you a lovely day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
He seemed predictable for a short while, but lately he's all over the place, little more stability would be nice for us both! I feel like I've been given this disease to manage to help work on my ability to keep it in the moment and accept I have no control hahaha.

How is Fistuk doing? That must have been heart-wrenching for you. :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
@Tim & Pookey it was great to see you check in! Your presence is missed. How is Pookey? :bighug::cat::bighug:
Aww, thanks for thinking of us, all is well here! Been quietly following along with y’all just reading. Sorry about the red yesterday, hopefully this increase gets him back to those nice greens from last week and he gets settled in on his little vacation :bighug:
 
Here’s where the sleepy man spends most of his days…

upload_2025-4-9_9-30-35.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-9_9-30-35.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-9_9-30-35.jpeg
    81.2 KB · Views: 178
I'm looking on your sheet for the last vial/pen change, but I'm not seeing it. Could these higher numbers possibly be that??? Could it just be NDW? I'm glad his AMPS is in the lemons, and I hope he drops back down (gently) for you today!
 
I'm looking on your sheet for the last vial/pen change, but I'm not seeing it. Could these higher numbers possibly be that??? Could it just be NDW? I'm glad his AMPS is in the lemons, and I hope he drops back down (gently) for you today!
A new one was started on 3/21 (cause around that time he was getting wonky numbers). I did wondered if I damaged the vial some how in transit but I kept it in a cooler and still storing on the door of the fridge (though this fridge is colder)...

He was on the 2.25u probably a little too long.. but something is definitely off.
 
Last edited:
He was on the 2.25u probably a little too long.. but something is definitely off.
Well, he just had a lime on that dose 5 days ago, soooo what were you to do? This disease: :banghead:o_O:banghead:
Again, I hope he starts on a downward trend soon.

ETA: remember: freezing the insulin also renders it ineffective. I almost worry about that more than I do simply keeping it cool in the fridge, especially when they recommend that the vial not be kept in the door. The middle shelf is the coldest, but I worry that the insulin might get too cold. Worry, worry, worry, ad nauseum with FD.
 
Well, he just had a lime on that dose 5 days ago, soooo what were you to do? This disease: :banghead:o_O:banghead:
Again, I hope he starts on a downward trend soon.

ETA: remember: freezing the insulin also renders it ineffective. I almost worry about that more than I do simply keeping it cool in the fridge, especially when they recommend that the vial not be kept in the door. The middle shelf is the coldest, but I worry that the insulin might get too cold. Worry, worry, worry, ad nauseum with FD.
so, so true! always something to worry and wonder about hahaha.

I did start the cat water yesterday and started using the butterfly lancets -noticing a nice difference with those, they are actually getting him to bleed easier despite being 33 guage instead of 28! and he hasn't even flinched. Thank you for that.
 
I did start the cat water yesterday and started using the butterfly lancets -noticing a nice difference with those, they are actually getting him to bleed easier despite being 33 guage instead of 28! and he hasn't even flinched. Thank you for that.
I'm glad you're liking the lancets. Any little bit to make the poking easier is helpful! We started the water too. I'm wondering if plain spring water (with no additives--and less expensive) might be just as beneficial.
 
Thank you! Wishing you and the boys the same.

Sun is finally out, after two days of snow, rain, and wind, so we shall take a little adventure outdoors this afternoon -maybe he'll finally meet the neighbor kitties. :bighug::bighug:

Sounds wonderful. Neighborhood kitties sound fun. Or at least some quality time in the camper.
It's still pretty cold here. I cannot wait for warmer days so I can prep my balcony and get it ready for summer and for my boys to enjoy :cat::cat:
 
I'm glad you're liking the lancets. Any little bit to make the poking easier is helpful! We started the water too. I'm wondering if plain spring water (with no additives--and less expensive) might be just as beneficial.
@Marielle can you provide a link?. I think I need to try these as well. And do you use a lancet holder thingy, or just freehand?? Thanks, Mary
 
@Marielle can you provide a link?. I think I need to try these as well. And do you use a lancet holder thingy, or just freehand?? Thanks, Mary
Of course! I'm not sure which ones Laurie ordered, but here are the ones I'm using: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MUH2FAY?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_fed_asin_title. At the same time I was mentioning the ones I use, @Tim & Pookey mentioned these that Wendy recommended: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08FXTQ2ML/ref=ox_sc_saved_image_1?smid=&psc=1. I don't use a lancet holder--I just freehand. I did find these that have a built-in holder that work okay, but Jude's not a fan of the click, so they're not our favorites. I do like them because they don't poke very deeply, but I think you can adjust any lancet holder to a certain depth (I think): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07731BKTL?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_fed_asin_title&th=1
 
Of course! I'm not sure which ones Laurie ordered, but here are the ones I'm using: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MUH2FAY?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_fed_asin_title. At the same time I was mentioning the ones I use, @Tim & Pookey mentioned these that Wendy recommended: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08FXTQ2ML/ref=ox_sc_saved_image_1?smid=&psc=1. I don't use a lancet holder--I just freehand. I did find these that have a built-in holder that work okay, but Jude's not a fan of the click, so they're not our favorites. I do like them because they don't poke very deeply, but I think you can adjust any lancet holder to a certain depth (I think): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07731BKTL?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_fed_asin_title&th=1
Thank you. I’m going to try these to see if I have any better luck :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Of course! I'm not sure which ones Laurie ordered, but here are the ones I'm using: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MUH2FAY?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_fed_asin_title. At the same time I was mentioning the ones I use, @Tim & Pookey mentioned these that Wendy recommended: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08FXTQ2ML/ref=ox_sc_saved_image_1?smid=&psc=1. I don't use a lancet holder--I just freehand. I did find these that have a built-in holder that work okay, but Jude's not a fan of the click, so they're not our favorites. I do like them because they don't poke very deeply, but I think you can adjust any lancet holder to a certain depth (I think): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07731BKTL?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_fed_asin_title&th=1
I do use the lancet pen and these fit fine in it. I ordered Tim's preferred choice too, they just haven't arrived yet. Certainly worth a try, Staci anything to make it a little easier on them and us.
 
Glad Petey is back in the yellows after yesterday.
Maybe some sun and outside adventure time will perk him up :)
He finally decided to venture out. We took a lap around the house, explored the dock, and put down fresh scent markers. It's still coolllld! Now he waits for dinner! Hope you and Noogi had a good day. :bighug:
upload_2025-4-9_17-35-58.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-9_17-35-58.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-9_17-35-58.jpeg
    87.3 KB · Views: 153
I do use the lancet pen and these fit fine in it. I ordered Tim's preferred choice too, they just haven't arrived yet. Certainly worth a try, Staci anything to make it a little easier on them and us.
Do you use the genteel lancet pen or just any pen?
I need to try new systems out. thanks, Laurie :bighug:
 
Back
Top