Kelly & Logan
Very Active Member
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11391
Recap from yesterday:
AMPS 328
+6 387
PMPS 320
+9 239
I went ahead and stayed at 7 units since Logan came down some - we'll see how he does today and probably increase tonight or tomorrow. He ate fairly well this morning and really well last night. He didn't spend as much time hiding in the closet this morning and was even out in his kitty bed in the living room when I left. I think he's feeling better. His breathing got better after the fluids last night. I didn't get a ketone test this morning so I'll try to get one at lunch. I only have one left!
From yesterday's condo:
Thanks, Sienne. He really is a champ! We couldn't ask for a better patient. I've asked about Budesonide, but she's concerned that he has inflammation in other places (like liver, pancreas, etc) that it won't touch. I still think it's worth a shot but she disagrees. She said any other steroid would probably cause more issues with his BGs than the pred does.
He weighs 18 lbs right now (we'd like him to get back to 19 - he's come up from 17, though so we're making progress). I'll have to ask her about a reduced dose. His IBD seems to be pretty stubborn, unfortunately. She did say we would most likely end up reducing the dose and/or increasing the time between doses once we feel he's under control.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11391
Recap from yesterday:
AMPS 328
+6 387
PMPS 320
+9 239
I went ahead and stayed at 7 units since Logan came down some - we'll see how he does today and probably increase tonight or tomorrow. He ate fairly well this morning and really well last night. He didn't spend as much time hiding in the closet this morning and was even out in his kitty bed in the living room when I left. I think he's feeling better. His breathing got better after the fluids last night. I didn't get a ketone test this morning so I'll try to get one at lunch. I only have one left!
From yesterday's condo:
Sienne and Gabby said:Logan is tough in just so many ways! And you are a trooper.
Is there any other steroid other than pred that would be possible?
Thanks, Sienne. He really is a champ! We couldn't ask for a better patient. I've asked about Budesonide, but she's concerned that he has inflammation in other places (like liver, pancreas, etc) that it won't touch. I still think it's worth a shot but she disagrees. She said any other steroid would probably cause more issues with his BGs than the pred does.
Laura and Quincy said:Perhaps you could ask your vet about trying 1 mg of leukeran instead of 2mg. How big a kitty is Logan? Quincy was probably about 14 lbs when he started on leukeran, but his dose was only 1mg. I can't remember if it was every day at the very start, but we backed down to every other day relatively quickly and currently are at MWF. There are many different leukeran protocols... I am wondering if something a little lower/gentler could be used to start Logan off on since it's for IBD not lymphoma.
He weighs 18 lbs right now (we'd like him to get back to 19 - he's come up from 17, though so we're making progress). I'll have to ask her about a reduced dose. His IBD seems to be pretty stubborn, unfortunately. She did say we would most likely end up reducing the dose and/or increasing the time between doses once we feel he's under control.