4/9 Logan AMPS 291, +6 367, PMPS 387, +3 360

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Very Active Member
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11391

Recap from yesterday:
AMPS 328
+6 387
PMPS 320
+9 239

I went ahead and stayed at 7 units since Logan came down some - we'll see how he does today and probably increase tonight or tomorrow. He ate fairly well this morning and really well last night. He didn't spend as much time hiding in the closet this morning and was even out in his kitty bed in the living room when I left. I think he's feeling better. His breathing got better after the fluids last night. I didn't get a ketone test this morning so I'll try to get one at lunch. I only have one left!

From yesterday's condo:

Sienne and Gabby said:
Logan is tough in just so many ways! And you are a trooper.

Is there any other steroid other than pred that would be possible?

Thanks, Sienne. He really is a champ! We couldn't ask for a better patient. I've asked about Budesonide, but she's concerned that he has inflammation in other places (like liver, pancreas, etc) that it won't touch. I still think it's worth a shot but she disagrees. She said any other steroid would probably cause more issues with his BGs than the pred does.

Laura and Quincy said:
Perhaps you could ask your vet about trying 1 mg of leukeran instead of 2mg. How big a kitty is Logan? Quincy was probably about 14 lbs when he started on leukeran, but his dose was only 1mg. I can't remember if it was every day at the very start, but we backed down to every other day relatively quickly and currently are at MWF. There are many different leukeran protocols... I am wondering if something a little lower/gentler could be used to start Logan off on since it's for IBD not lymphoma.

He weighs 18 lbs right now (we'd like him to get back to 19 - he's come up from 17, though so we're making progress). I'll have to ask her about a reduced dose. His IBD seems to be pretty stubborn, unfortunately. She did say we would most likely end up reducing the dose and/or increasing the time between doses once we feel he's under control.
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291

Such good news today that he was out in his kitty bed and ate well last night and this morning. We are always thinking of you and Logan. Still sending healing vines!!!
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291

paige said:
Such good news today that he was out in his kitty bed and ate well last night and this morning. We are always thinking of you and Logan. Still sending healing vines!!!

Thanks for always thinking of us and stopping by every day, Paige. We appreciate it!
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291

Raja was so happy when I told her that Logan was out of his closet and in his kitty bed ...and that he is eating a little better now. Shadow sends his best along with her...and me of course...we send hugs and kisses to Logan and to you Kelly....doing a great job...and his numbers are better too! Praying for continued good news!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291

I don't know enough about the pros and cons of one steroid over another. What little I have read suggests dexamethasone is easier on BG than pred. I don't know if that's feasible though since there are clearly better or worse choices given the complexity of the medical issues.
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291

Good Morning Kelly
Great to see a yellow PS number today and that Logan is back
to eating again.
I hope he settles into a nice quiet routine for this weekend for you
although with one more week of tax season, not sure about the quiet part. :-D
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291

Sienne and Gabby said:
I don't know enough about the pros and cons of one steroid over another. What little I have read suggests dexamethasone is easier on BG than pred. I don't know if that's feasible though since there are clearly better or worse choices given the complexity of the medical issues.

I need to do some more research on the steroid options. He just has so many issues these days...it's ridiculous how many medications I give him each day. I would give anything for him to just be diabetic! I thought the diabetes coming back was the worst thing in the world - cried for days. Oh how wrong I was! Maybe, just maybe, we'll get to a point where the IBD is more manageable. I just want him to be comfortable and happy again. I'd also like for his fur to grow back, but it's not looking so good.

Randi & Max said:
Good Morning Kelly
Great to see a yellow PS number today and that Logan is back
to eating again.
I hope he settles into a nice quiet routine for this weekend for you
although with one more week of tax season, not sure about the quiet part. :-D

Fortunately, my second job wrapped up this past weekend so I'm down to one tax job! I do only corporate at my main job so we're all extended and are just now beginning our real work! It'll be a fun summer, as usual! Oh yeah - still need to do my own return by next week! I'm always filing it at the last minute.
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291, +6 367

Went the wrong way yet again. :sad: He ate a whole can of FF, though, and seems to feel fine. He did not make a trip to the LB...prob b/c he knew I wanted him to!
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291, +6 367

Just checking in to see how your handsome fella is doing today. So happy to hear he's eating better and becoming more social.
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291

Sienne and Gabby said:
I don't know enough about the pros and cons of one steroid over another. What little I have read suggests dexamethasone is easier on BG than pred.
noooooo it is the other way around. see viewtopic.php?f=22&t=1415 "These preliminary data suggest that dexamethasone exhibits greater diabetogenic effects in cats than equipotent doses of prednisolone. Further study is justified to support this hypothesis."

But note also Cheryl and Winnie's very important comment in that same thread: "I think the important thing, which has been stated on this board many times, is that you have to prioritize your cats health needs." BGs are not the be-all and end-all of everything; diabetes can be managed around other conditions.
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291, +6 367

I can't offer any advice or opinion on the items discussed today - I'm just happy to read that Logan is doing better, and up and about. That alone is downright awesome! I hope you guys have a great weekend!
 
Re: 4/9 Logan AMPS 291, +6 367

Kelly & Logan said:
He weighs 18 lbs right now (we'd like him to get back to 19 - he's come up from 17, though so we're making progress). I'll have to ask her about a reduced dose. His IBD seems to be pretty stubborn, unfortunately. She did say we would most likely end up reducing the dose and/or increasing the time between doses once we feel he's under control.

Wow, Logan's a big boy! Hope he has a good weekend - you too!
 
Logan ate very well at dinner and just now for his bedtime snace - 2 1/2 cans between the two feedings. He's still only eating FF chunky chicken. He was negative for ketones...yay! We increased him to 7.25 tonight. I'll get a test when he wakes me up later tonight and plan on doing several tests tomorrow...so, Logan, you better make it worth our while!

Laura, Logan at one point weighed 26.5 lbs! He is a very big boy. When he was diabetic the first time around, he just kept gaining and gaining. We got him down to 20 lbs after his ACL surgery in 2007. Even as a growing kitten, he was quite large. He has a pretty big frame. He weighed about 10 lbs when he was only 6 months old. He doesn't lose the weight where he needs to, of course. He could prob use a couple of lbs on his back end! He looks like a little linebacker with his super wide shoulders/chest and skinny butt. One of his many nicknames is LB for linebacker. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top