Shelly & Jersey (GA)
Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116893
Now I'm really at a loss on what to do! Let me start with a recap of yesterday's numbers.
Yesterday:
AMPS - 141 (.50 - 1 drop)
+1.5 - 127
+7 - 101
PMPS - 67 (.50 - 1 drop)
+1 - 47
+1.5 - 79
+2.2 - 82
+3 - 67
+4 - 55
+5 - 52
+6 - 93
We've been making rapid dose changes in the past week (1, .75, .50, .50 - 1 drop), and Jersey has been dropping below 50 on all of them. This morning, we were planning on another reducie to .25 units. Her AMPS was 70, and I didn't feel comfortable shooting and leaving for work after the numbers we've been seeing this week. We decided to skip the morning shot and use the opportunity to make a big shift in shot times so that we could get several hours of tests in before leaving for tbp. When I came home today at what would normally be AM+7, her bg was 81. This is 19 hours since her last insulin shot. Her first shot on her new schedule will be coming up in just a couple of hours.
We really believe we are close to remission and don't want to take any steps back at this point. Here's my dilemma: If she is still holding under 120 in 2 hours (her new shot time), do I give insulin? (If so, do I go with .25 as originally planned?) If she is still holding under 120, do I skip insulin altogether and try an OTJ trial now? I know it's best to gradually taper off and give the pancreas as much time to heal as possible. Jersey just doesn't want to seem to cooperate with the "rule book" this week! Obviously, I will give insulin at any number over 120, but again I'm not sure if the .25 units is the right amount to give.
Today:
AMBG - 70 (No insulin)
AMBG +7 - 81
Any guidance is greatly appreciated!!!!!
Shelly
Now I'm really at a loss on what to do! Let me start with a recap of yesterday's numbers.
Yesterday:
AMPS - 141 (.50 - 1 drop)
+1.5 - 127
+7 - 101
PMPS - 67 (.50 - 1 drop)
+1 - 47
+1.5 - 79
+2.2 - 82
+3 - 67
+4 - 55
+5 - 52
+6 - 93
We've been making rapid dose changes in the past week (1, .75, .50, .50 - 1 drop), and Jersey has been dropping below 50 on all of them. This morning, we were planning on another reducie to .25 units. Her AMPS was 70, and I didn't feel comfortable shooting and leaving for work after the numbers we've been seeing this week. We decided to skip the morning shot and use the opportunity to make a big shift in shot times so that we could get several hours of tests in before leaving for tbp. When I came home today at what would normally be AM+7, her bg was 81. This is 19 hours since her last insulin shot. Her first shot on her new schedule will be coming up in just a couple of hours.
We really believe we are close to remission and don't want to take any steps back at this point. Here's my dilemma: If she is still holding under 120 in 2 hours (her new shot time), do I give insulin? (If so, do I go with .25 as originally planned?) If she is still holding under 120, do I skip insulin altogether and try an OTJ trial now? I know it's best to gradually taper off and give the pancreas as much time to heal as possible. Jersey just doesn't want to seem to cooperate with the "rule book" this week! Obviously, I will give insulin at any number over 120, but again I'm not sure if the .25 units is the right amount to give.
Today:
AMBG - 70 (No insulin)
AMBG +7 - 81
Any guidance is greatly appreciated!!!!!
Shelly