4/9 Jersey +12-70, +19-81, +21-68, +24 - 77, +26.5-67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116893

Now I'm really at a loss on what to do! Let me start with a recap of yesterday's numbers.

Yesterday:
AMPS - 141 (.50 - 1 drop)
+1.5 - 127
+7 - 101
PMPS - 67 (.50 - 1 drop)
+1 - 47
+1.5 - 79
+2.2 - 82
+3 - 67
+4 - 55
+5 - 52
+6 - 93

We've been making rapid dose changes in the past week (1, .75, .50, .50 - 1 drop), and Jersey has been dropping below 50 on all of them. This morning, we were planning on another reducie to .25 units. Her AMPS was 70, and I didn't feel comfortable shooting and leaving for work after the numbers we've been seeing this week. We decided to skip the morning shot and use the opportunity to make a big shift in shot times so that we could get several hours of tests in before leaving for tbp. When I came home today at what would normally be AM+7, her bg was 81. This is 19 hours since her last insulin shot. Her first shot on her new schedule will be coming up in just a couple of hours.

We really believe we are close to remission and don't want to take any steps back at this point. Here's my dilemma: If she is still holding under 120 in 2 hours (her new shot time), do I give insulin? (If so, do I go with .25 as originally planned?) If she is still holding under 120, do I skip insulin altogether and try an OTJ trial now? I know it's best to gradually taper off and give the pancreas as much time to heal as possible. Jersey just doesn't want to seem to cooperate with the "rule book" this week! Obviously, I will give insulin at any number over 120, but again I'm not sure if the .25 units is the right amount to give.

Today:
AMBG - 70 (No insulin)
AMBG +7 - 81

Any guidance is greatly appreciated!!!!!
Shelly
 
Re: OTJ/Dosing Help Needed - 4/9 Jersey AMBG-70, +7-81

I see Jersey has taken it down from that 81 to a 68. I might call this a good problem to have. :mrgreen:

As for dose tonight, I wonder if something like .1U is an option. We like to give insulin as long as safely possible to give the pancreas support while it heals. You definitely have some of the .5U dose still in play and numbers might come up over time. Just because she's below 120 is not a reason to withhold insulin. If you look at Davidson's SS, Shawna's been giving insulin for quite a while with green PS. The reason I'm suggesting "some" insulin is that you'll be home tonight to monitor. Let me see if I can get some other opinions for you.

ETA: A .25U dose is half the insulin she was getting so quite the decrease percentage wise.
 
Re: OTJ/Dosing Help Needed - 4/9 Jersey AMBG-70, +7-81

Hey Wendy,

Thanks so much for your thoughts on Jersey. She's quite the hard one to figure out, and I need all the help I can get! We can certainly do a .25 or a .10 or a "breath" tonight. I just don't want to make the wrong choice here and set her back (or keep taking her too low).

Just to clarify on the 120 - I meant that, if we were trying to do an OTJ trial already, I wouldn't let her get above 120 during that trial. I know that's roughly what the protocol suggests. I also know that we're supposed to gradually ease into the trial, so seeing a "high" number (over 120) at this point in Jersey's case would be a definite "failed" trial run for me. I don't know if that makes any sense - it's been a long day!

Thank you again!
 
Re: OTJ/Dosing Help Needed - 4/9 Jersey AMBG-70, +7-81, +12

I think I would do the 0.25 or the 0.10, whichever you feel most comfortable with, as long as you are going to be home to monitor and have supplies.
I would maybe get one more test at +12.5 just to make sure she's surfing along at these numbers.
She is doing great :mrgreen:
 
Re: OTJ/Dosing Help Needed - 4/9 Jersey AMBG-70, +7-81, +12

Thanks, Dyana. I think we're going to try the .25 units if we can go ahead and get the shot time moved tonight. She's so sensitive to insulin these days that I just can't shoot low and almost immediately leave for work anymore! nailbite_smile Dumb ol' kitty.

We've gone ahead and fed Jersey her old PM schedule meal, so I was hoping to wait a couple of hours for a bg check to see if she was still pulling the numbers down herself (with the help of the old depot) or if she was rising. Am I making a mistake in this thinking?

Again, thank you. Sincerely. :YMHUG:
 
Re: OTJ/Dosing Help Needed - 4/9 Jersey AMBG-70, +7-81, +12

I'm confused now. The remarks in your spreadsheet say that you are going to shoot the PM shot at AM +9, but your Subject line says you are already at +12 (which I guess is technically your +24)? How many hours until he gets his PM shot?
 
Re: OTJ/Dosing Help Needed - 4/9 Jersey AMBG-70, +7-81, +12

I know - I had good intentions with the shot times but then got all of these "low" numbers today and basically put off all shots until I could get some dosing advice. I'm so sorry it's confusing.

We skipped this morning's AM shot and were going to shift shot times and shoot at AM+9 today. Then we got a normal number at AM+9 and didn't shoot - partly just to see how well she could handle her levels right now and partly to see what you all thought about a dose. Jersey has not received any insulin for a little over 24 hours at this point.

So.....moving to the new schedule.....we now won't shoot until the old PM+9 time. That would be 2:30 a.m. CST, which is a little over 8 hours away.
 
Re: OTJ/Dosing Help Needed - 4/9 Jersey AMBG-70, +7-81, +12

i'd also go with some insulin - i think i'd go with 0.25u, but can understand if you choose to go with 0.1u. it would be great to see her in flat green numbers for at least a few days on a dose smaller than 0.5u.

when you count +hours, you count from the last shot given. so the 77 would be +24, I believe - is that right or is it something less than 24 hrs? Whenever you skip a shot you can shoot anytime after the +12, so you could shoot early tonight if you want.
 
Re: OTJ/Dosing Help Needed - 4/9 Jersey AMBG-70, +7-81, +12

Thanks, Julie. Thanks for the counting hours info, too! I'll try to update the hours to reflect the correct timing since the last shot.
 
Re: 4/9 Jersey +12-70, +19-81, +21-68, +24 - 77

sorry about the slightly weird post - i started writing to you before your last post, then got a phone call, talked for a bit and thought "i'm going to hit post and get this to shelly." now i see you'd posted in the meantime. ohmygod_smile

she is looking super today. and while i'm encouraging you to shoot, at the same time, some cats do decide dramatically they are done, so let's keep watching what she does now in the hours before you intend to shoot.
 
Re: 4/9 Jersey +12-70, +19-81, +21-68, +24 - 77

There are some very interesting stories, like the cat where all of the people in the house came down with severe flu and no one was well enough to give a shot and test. But the cat did fine and went OTJ! :lol: :mrgreen: :lol: :mrgreen: Paws crossed for Jersey to have a strong and complete remission, no matter how she gets there. You are doing a SUPER, SUPER JOB!
Liz
 
Re: 4/9 Jersey +12-70, +19-81, +21-68, +24 - 77

Nice numbers for Jersey today. :mrgreen: Good luck with whatever you decide to shoot.
 
Wow, it sure is a nice dilemma to have!! Whatever you decide to do tonight, it looks like you won't be giving shots very much longer.

Go Jersey!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks for your visits, Mariko, Ella, Carla, Liz, and Amy. I appreciate all of your support and encouragement. That's too funny on the "flu" kitty!

Wendy, Dyana, and Julie, thank you again for the dosing advice. Julie - Your post wasn't weird. I understood it completely. I, on the other hand, blame my confusing condo today (did she give a shot? did she not?) on the fact that the board has been wonky. ;-) Of course, this could all also be some strange component of Jersey's master plan for my demise.....I like that better. That's my story from now on, and I'm stickin' to it! :lol:

Just an update - we're still holding in the greens. We've had two meals now that haven't caused a spike, so I'm optimistic about that. Of course, I also know that the shed is draining a little bit more minute by minute, so she may not be able to maintain. We have about 5 hours until our new shot time.
 
Wow Jersey! Way to make things difficult to figure out! nailbite_smile But in a good way! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top