4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +4/110 +4.5/116 +5/117

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68147

AMPS 212
+2 222
+4 132
+7 147
+11 145
PMPS 138
+1 131
+2 102
+2.5 96 - fed some 5% FF Chunky Turkey. She looooooved that.
+3 85
+3.5 98
+4 110
+4.5 116
+5 117

Bit of a crazy evening yesterday, hitting 62 on the Alphatrak (probably in the 30s on a regular meter). If I hadn't tested twice in 15 minutes and still got 60s, I would have though it was a bum test. I bumped her up with some gravy early on and she surfed thru the night.
And then BOUNCED. She did earn the reduction though, so we're officially down to .1

Come on Ruby! Lets go back to the lagoon and stay there!
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212

For a bounce that's not too bad at all :-D

Now back to work Ruby - I think we must be setting some sort of record here lately with all the reductions and OTJs!
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212

Her bounces have been getting shorter and she's been clearing them faster.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212

Hi, I hope she clears the bounce soon, but not bad. The last time I had a 62 on the AlphaTrak, I tested right away and got a 41 on my Relion Micro. I find with a lower number on the AT that the variance is less than with a higher number, if that makes sense. Have nice day you two!
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +2/222 +4/132

+2 222
+4 132

She's clearing the bounce fast and on just .1 unit! :smile:

(ETA - the 132 was at +4, not +5)
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +2/222 +5/132

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Back to the Lagoon, Ruby. What a way to clear that bounce!
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +2/222 +4/132 +7/147

+7 147

Hmm...higher than I would like. She had a snack about 2 hours ago but it as just her normal Chopped Grill lc food (2%).
Ah well, we'll get back there in good time.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +11/145 +12/1388 - Advice please!

+11 145
+12 138

Should I stall to see if she drops again before I shoot?
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +11/145 +12/138 - Advice please!

Amy.....I need just a second to look at your SS. I hate to see you stall or skip....this is very shootable.

Are you going to be there? Do you have plenty of test strips, HC, karo?
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +11/145 +12/138 - Advice please!

I've got the full arsenal and I'm not going anywhere and I'm game to shoot. I just kind of need a second opinion because of the dropping number.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +11/145 +12/138 - Advice please!

Just wanted to be sure you have shot lower than this.

Here's the thing....for an experienced person (and I consider you that since you've handled more than your share of low numbers), don't be afraid of dropping numbers. You can get great overlap with a dropping number. Remember that you are probably dealing with shed right now.....and she may go low again tonight. You just need to be sure you feed her a LC food that is not 0-2% carbs so she might get a little food spike from that and then test! When I started shooting dropping numbers, I'd get a +.5 and then go from there but no less than a +1 and +2.

Note: this suggestion is for Amy/Ruby ONLY. Please do not shoot dropping numbers unless you are experienced and/or have someone to help you.

What do you think?
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +11/145 +12/138 - Advice please!

One other thing....this isn't really dropping....she's been about the same since +7 AND she already had a nadir. When I went back and looked closer, this looks like a surf to me....and at worse, a lantus second dip. She's been
pretty flat all afternoon.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +11/145 +12/138 - Advice please!

The different between 145 and 138 is really minimal. I'm a little touchy right now because we're so close. I have a terrible habit of initial panic then realizing I'm overthinking it. :smile:
I'm good to shoot.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 +11/145 +12/138 - Advice please!

It's OK!! We all get a little gut clinch at first when it looks like its dropping :-D

So I'll see you back in an hour, ok?
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138

Yup! She just ate some 2% chopped grill for dinner. She's more interested in what's going on outside the window than any of my nonsense. :-D
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138

I was just checking in for your +1. Good job shooting!

Amy...I have to give Gus his squids....it's 6:15 now. If you need help, just put up the ?. As soon as I'm done, I'll check in but it will be close to your +2. Sorry....I waited as long as I could. I know sometimes it's hard to test and post right away.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +1/131 +2/102

can you feed a bit of LC to see if she'll surf here?

PS - it's not really a dropping number if the cat had a clear nadir earlier and has headed up, then dipped again. No problem to shoot the second dip. No problem to shoot dropping numbers either, most of the time, it just requires more vigilance if the dropping number is caused by a bounce clearing right at shot time. I'm glad you shot. :smile:
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +1/131 +2/102

Yes she is and her +2 is lower than her PS so you want to stay on top of this. It's early yet......

Sorry I didn't get right back but you probably want to test the +2.5. Then if you have any 5% food...something like that, you might try it and see if it slows her down a wee bit.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96

+2.5 96
I'm going to give her a bit of 5% now.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96

Sounds good....she slowed a bit but she has a ways to go.

See you at +3.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85

+3. 85

Slow down? What's that? :smile:
More 5%?
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85

Do you have any higher LC? Man...she's a freight train again tonight!

Gosh Amy...Indidnt even think to ask you if you want help....you've done low numbers. It's up to you and it won't upset me if you don't need help. :oops:
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85

I always welcome help! That isn't a question you should bother asking. :-D

I have 7% and gravy varieties.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85

Thanks!

I can mix a couple of drops of gravy into the 7% if it isn't enough on it's own.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85

You know her best...it would be good to keep her above 80 but.....might not be possible.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85

I gave her some 7%. I'm going to see if that bumps her up a bit. She tends to be a bit carb sensitive so it might do the trick. Last night reminded me how the gravy makes her bounce so I want to avoid that if I can.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85

just stopping in to say wow. ruby cleared that bounce quickly, all right. and look at her go.

i know what i'm thinking (antijinx).
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85

Maybe she finally noticed the giant black cycles under my eyes from lack of sleep and decided I need to get some sleep. Until this nonsense gets under control, that isn't going to happen. :smile:



julie & punkin said:
just stopping in to say wow. ruby cleared that bounce quickly, all right. and look at her go.

i know what i'm thinking (antijinx).
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85 +3.

+3.5 98

The 5% & 7% seemed to have done the trick. For now anyway!
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +2.5/96 +3/85 +3.

Good job......they can't just do anything in a small increment...85 would have been perfect ...she could still come back down but I'd give her an hour now.
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +3/85 +3.5/98 +4/

+4 110

Like I said...she's pretty carb sensitive.

I do worry about leaving her tomorrow. The husband will be home and I'll make sure he gives her some food if I can't make it home around +5. I haven't been able to get her shot back to our original time that allows me to do a +1 test. Every time I've tried to start moving it back in 15 minute increments I've ended up needing to stall a bit.

Tomorrow morning will be the 3rd cycle at the .1 dose. Will the shed have emptied a bit so she's less likely to react as strongly as she is right now to the decreased dose?
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +2/102 +3/85 +3.5/98 +4/

I think for tomorrow you can focus on the fact that she bumped up really easily with low carb food. It's a small dose of insulin and it looks like the 5% and 7% gave her 25 points in an hour. If DH can feed her an extra meal in the morning she should be fine.

The way I look at spreadsheets like Ruby's is not so much that she is dropping fast from the insulin, but that the preshots are a little higher than the rest of the cycle. She is just in a hurry to get back to her comfy green surfing range. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +3.5/98 +4/110 +4.5/116

+4.5 116

She hasn't eaten anything for about 90 minutes now and she's still going up a teeny bit. Do we think she's good to go if I leave food out?

My husband walked by earlier when I was updating the spreadsheet. He asked why I stopped using so much pink and switched to all of the blue & green. :-D
 
Re: 4/8 Ruby (AT) AMPS 212 PMPS 138 +3.5/98 +4/110 +4.5/116

Wow....she is carb sensitive! I was just hoping those would get her to surf!

You know her best...it takes Gracie about two hours to lose the carb high....Ruby may be more or less. If you think she might come back down...just set your alarm for a couple hours.

Sleep tight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top