4/8 Eddie AMPS 126, +5.5/98, PMPS 267

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Hi LL!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116805

Today:
AMPS = 126
+1 = 173
+2 = 143
+3.5 = 153
+5.5 = 98
+7 = 103
+11 = 193
PMPS = 267
+2 = 311
+5 = 246
+6 = 249

Eddie had a lovely cycle last night surfing into the greens (into the wee hours of the morning). @-) :mrgreen:

I got up to get a +11 (which was 15 minutes late), to help interpret his AMPS number, and he was at 52/53. :shock: :mrgreen: Was that one of those double dips or was that nadir? confused_cat

We had planned on shooting 15 minutes early to try to move back to our 5:00 AM shot time, but this mama bean was scared to shoot into a 91 at +11.75. I stalled until he was up to 126 about 45 mins. later, said a little prayer and shot! Eddie did puke part of first breakfast while I was BTB, but it seemed like a scarf and barf. He ate second breakfast and after-breakfast-snack just fine and kept it down.

It looks like Eddie's been surfing in the blues early in his cycle, and has now dipped his toes into the lagoon at +5.5. DH is home for part of this afternoon for as long as he needs to hang around and will keep an eye on Eddie's numbers to ensure that it doesn't look like he's going to drop or go too low until I get home this evening.

I love the concept of "shoot low to stay low" and I've seen how you LL'ers do it, but man, coming from ProZinc, shooting into that 126 this AM was scary! nailbite_smile That said, (knock on wood), it looks like it's doing exactly what it should do...keeping Eddie pretty flat! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/8 Eddie AMPS 126, +5.5/98

Nice shootin' Tex! It is pretty nerve wracking at first, but the more you get to know what Eddie will do with it, the easier it gets. I hope Eddie stays flat for you.
 
Re: 4/8 Eddie AMPS 126, +5.5/98, +7/103

+7 = 103

Thank you Tara! I think you're exactly right. :smile: The lower we shoot and see that he won't crash (anti-jinx), the less scary it will get. :-D
 
Re: 4/8 Eddie AMPS 126, +5.5/98

Look at Eddie go! You'd think he was a pro on Lantus instead of a newbie - he's really working that juice. :-D

Last night was a slide or late nadir, not a double dip. When a double dip happens, you see a normal U shaped Lantus curve, then the numbers head back down again at the end of the cycle, but not lower than the nadir seen earlier.
 
PMPS = 267

Up, up, and away! Boing! Hopefully Eddie will clear this one out in short order like he has before. He had two really nice cycles back-to-back, so I'm thrilled, despite a little bounce action. Looks like Eddie is aware that mom bean desperately needs some sleep tonight and is going to be courteous and bounce. ;-)

I'm wondering if I had shot that 91 nailbite_smile this morning (had I been able to monitor more closely), rather than stalling, if that would have kept him a bit lower today, and maybe avoided a bounce tonight?

Is there a sticky somewhere that I haven't found yet that explains in biological terms how Lantus works in a cat's body?

Looks like there's a lot of kitties in Lantus Land today being visited by Mr. Greenie! Mr. Greenie reminds me of the little smiley face stickers you'd get as a kid on your schoolwork. I'm thinking I might try to find green smiley stickers that I can stick on Eddie's test kit box or something. :mrgreen:
 
Eddie has been having some nice numbers lately. You're doing a great job with him. He seems to be clearing his bounces pretty quickly.
 
I don't think I've visited you guys before...looks like Eddie has joined all the bouncers tonight - LL is full of bouncy kitties today! I hope he brings it down nice and easy for you without any drama. Have a great evening, Jen!
 
Thanks Amy and Carla!

Eddie does seem to be doing a pretty good job of clearing out those bounces! Fingers crossed that he will clear this one just as quickly. :-D Even if he does sit high tonight, I'm sort of relieved that I can get a good night's sleep tonight. :lol:

I swear these kitties all conspire to dive or bounce en masse. ;-)
 
yes, there is an explanation of how it all works! how bout that!? :-D

Lantus & Levemir, What's the Difference?

Not sure if shooting lower this morning would've prevented a bounce, but it's definitely an asset when you feel like you can do it. it can make an enormous change in the spreadsheet. most people have to work up to it by shooting progressively lower til they have confidence that doing it won't kill their kitty.

looking great!

edited to add another good link with more info for you: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150
 
Thank you so much Julie! I'm always glad to see your visits. :smile:

Shooting sliding scale with ProZinc was based on pretty much the opposite idea - you look at how much of a drop a given dose caused and go from there. I'm still wrapping my head around the concept that 1.5u can drop Eddie 200 points, if he has a pre-shot in the 300's, but it won't necessarily drop him to zero if I shoot that same dose into a pre-shot of 100. @-) I definitely can see needing to work up the nerve to shooting those double digits. :-D Hopefully, Eddie will give me a chance to shoot a green when I can monitor to reassure that it won't kill him! ;-) I did get to see today though, that shooting those lower numbers does result in a flatter cycle! I sure was a nervous mama bean till I could check on him, though! Based on what Eddie's done so far, I suspect he'll give me the chance again to shoot lower sooner rather than later. :smile:
 
Hey Jen,

We've been using Lantus for a while now, and I'm still terrified of shooting low. Of course, Jersey is plotting my demise, so she prefers to dive when I shoot low! Most kitties on here seem to be much better behaved than she is! :lol:

You're right - you'll have another chance to shoot low again soon. Eddie's doing great!

Shelly
 
Thanks Shelly!

Jersey is really keeping you on your toes! @-) :shock: nailbite_smile But she sure is looking good! Fingers crossed that she has decided that she is done with the poking, podding, and shooting! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top