4/8 Benny AMPS "hi" after PMPS 160

Ben&Squirrel

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-7-benny-pmps-160-shoot-or-no.261724/

Last night tiffmaxee gave me good advice on giving a token shot when Benny's PMPS was 160 after about a month of values in the black.

I know that none of the experts here needs validation by a vet, but tiffmaxee, my vet says that I did "exactly the right thing" by giving a token dose. She gave me the ranges of pre-shot BGs and what to do in each case and it was the same ranges and same advice as you all recommend here. I feel more confident in her now.

This morning Benny's AMPS was "hi" again. It's really disappointing, and I'm wondering how you balance their need for insulin with the need to not go into hypo. Do you get scared?

Was that 160 just a fluke (I did it twice and it was real) or is it a sign of improvement? Does this get better?

I know I have a lot of questions; thanks for your patience in letting me ask them!
 
When you get a lower than expected bg test, it’s good to do a retest to see if it’s a bad strip. It was either that or the new dose kicked in. You only had the amps yesterday so there was no way to see if he was on his way up or not. I know SLGS on requires a amps and pmps and a curve every 7 days but spot checks really help us figure out what’s happening. I hate relying on one nadir a week to decide dosing.
 
Yes, I retested because the first thing I thought was that the strip was bad or I must have done the test wrong. His first blue! I'll be doing more spot checks and a curve in a few days.
 
Yes, I retested because the first thing I thought was that the strip was bad or I must have done the test wrong. His first blue! I'll be doing more spot checks and a curve in a few days.
This is really good then. Cats bounce when the bg falls lower than used to as the liver panics. As they get more used to lower numbers it usually happens less often and they clear them faster.
 
As you gather more data about Benny, you will be able to shoot those lower numbers. There is a second part to the SLGS guidelines section on shooting lower numbers that starts "with experience" that says that once you have a better handle on how Benny uses Lantus, you can shoot lower numbers, though never below 90. Last night was a good chance to gather data and see what what happens when you shoot a lower dose. Next time (and Benny will do it!), if you are able to monitor, try delaying without feeding for 15 minutes and retest to see if he's coming up to a number you feel comfy shooting.

Most important - he go to blues! That's a reason to celebrate.:cool:
 
Back
Top