4/7 brian PMPs 65 +1 85 +2 81

woah! new low PS! if you can monitor, shoot! :)
he should probably bounce at some point - or earn a reduction!

ETA: If you decide to shoot, it might be a good idea to figure out the carb% of the higher carb FF you have. See if it's listed here:
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
 
Last edited:
woah! new low PS! if you can monitor, shoot! :)
he should probably bounce at some point - or earn a reduction!

ETA: If you decide to shoot, it might be a good idea to figure out the carb% of the higher carb FF you have. See if it's listed here:
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
yup haha, wish he'd do this in the AM cycle! Thanks for the link, looks like I've got a 15g carbs one. He has had more of an appetite tonight though. Let's see how I go! (glad your time zone matches up with me)
 
yup haha, wish he'd do this in the AM cycle! Thanks for the link, looks like I've got a 15g carbs one. He has had more of an appetite tonight though. Let's see how I go! (glad your time zone matches up with me)

If wishes were horses....none of us would be here. LOL!

Do you mean you have the 15% carbs one? You can play it safe and add half a teaspoon of that to his usual food. Give him a bit of a carb bump before onset.
 
Awesome. I've pretty much followed the same protocol the last few nights, so I'll anxiously go ahead. Thanks! And yesss I'm scared haha

Do you have honey and karo? I am asking because the 15% carb does not much for my kitty and I have been told that we need 20% carb for HC.
The honey does not much for my kitty but the karo sure did the job :D And I am speaking of when they go into the hypo green color.
 
I see from your SS that you stalled and tested after 30 mins and he was flat? That's good. He isn't dropping.
You could also get a +1 and then decide on whether you need higher carbs then.

Even though you shot half an hour late tonight, you can shoot at your usual time tomorrow AM. Half an hour a day, earlier or later, is okay.
 
If wishes were horses....none of us would be here. LOL!

Do you mean you have the 15% carbs one? You can play it safe and add half a teaspoon of that to his usual food. Give him a bit of a carb bump before onset.
haha exactly. Didn't see this in time, he jumped up a little since, so you think I should still give him a carb bump before offset?
 
I see from your SS that you stalled and tested after 30 mins and he was flat? That's good. He isn't dropping.
You could also get a +1 and then decide on whether you need higher carbs then.

Even though you shot half an hour late tonight, you can shoot at your usual time tomorrow AM. Half an hour a day, earlier or later, is okay.
yup I just waited the full 30 minutes before giving him his injection this time to drag it out a bit. So it turned out more like 10 later, I fed him a little earlier, but the actual shot time was only 10 minutes later.. If that makes sense!Good to know cheers
 
Do you have honey and karo? I am asking because the 15% carb does not much for my kitty and I have been told that we need 20% carb for HC.
The honey does not much for my kitty but the karo sure did the job :D And I am speaking of when they go into the hypo green color.
I do have lots of different types of honey. I know he will have honey in milk without hesitation and I'm thinking in really dire times that might be a way to get him up fast? I can grab some karo too. Thnx!
 
I do have lots of different types of honey. I know he will have honey in milk without hesitation and I'm thinking in really dire times that might be a way to get him up fast? I can grab some karo too. Thnx!

Every cat is different. Mouzer just does not do much with honey but I found that the karo got him up and this only when he dropped into the 30's, is when I used it. When he got into the 40's, the HC kept him up a bit, but for Mouzer, it appears that sometimes the HC does more than other times, so I just know to keep the honey and karo on hand for if the HC is not doing enough.
 
Should I give him a little low carb?
Yes please!

ETA: it's usually low carb every test to keep them surfing when in green. We bring out the big guns only when they drop below 50. Depending on how carb sensitive the cat is and when in the cycle the low occurs, you may need less or more carbs to bring BG up.
 
Last edited:
Hi Nate :cat: Good job shooting! Wishing you all a flat, lantusy cycle :D

When you have time, can you list out the name of each food you have? We have run into many situations where the caregiver thinks they have a certain carb food and it ends up being something totally different :cat: It's also a good idea to list when/what/how much you fed during the cycle, so that you and those helping you can go back and look at what did (or didn't) work previously. Most of us keep this information in our remarks section - you can see mine for just one example.

Happy surfing :D
 
Hi Nate :cat: Good job shooting! Wishing you all a flat, lantusy cycle :D

When you have time, can you list out the name of each food you have? We have run into many situations where the caregiver thinks they have a certain carb food and it ends up being something totally different :cat: It's also a good idea to list when/what/how much you fed during the cycle, so that you and those helping you can go back and look at what did (or didn't) work previously. Most of us keep this information in our remarks section - you can see mine for just one example.

Happy surfing :D
Wow just looked at yours, that's so helpful, I'll start trying to do that. Where should I list his food?
He has fancy feast classic pate: turkey and giblets, salmon, and white fish.
After amp's he has half a can ff, then the other half an hour later.
+7 he has 2tbsp raw beef/veal.
After PMPs he has 1 can of fancy feast. (tonight he was extra hungry so he had 1.5 can then the other half spread over +1 +2 +3 ill add this in now! )

Vet suggested I keep him in a schedule but feed him plenty as he is underweight atm. Hopefully I've got the food selection right, I tried to just copy what I read here

Cheers for your help!
 
list his food
If it were me, I'd put it in the remarks but honestly, you just need to find a spot that works for you. For Jax, I'd just copy my remarks each day and if it was an active cycle where I fed MC or HC or veered from our usual schedule, I'd edit the remarks.

I was also kind of asking about what Medium Carb (10-15%) and High Carb (16+%) you have in your pantry at home. It doesn't look like you'll need it tonight (anti-jinx :p) so this can wait till morning - but if you list it out, we can help verify the carbs.

You and Brian are doing so wonderful :bighug:
 
If it were me, I'd put it in the remarks but honestly, you just need to find a spot that works for you. For Jax, I'd just copy my remarks each day and if it was an active cycle where I fed MC or HC or veered from our usual schedule, I'd edit the remarks.

I was also kind of asking about what Medium Carb (10-15%) and High Carb (16+%) you have in your pantry at home. It doesn't look like you'll need it tonight (anti-jinx :p) so this can wait till morning - but if you list it out, we can help verify the carbs.

You and Brian are doing so wonderful :bighug:
great idea, I'll do that first thing tomorrow!

For HC I've got the ff gravy lovers chicken and beef feast, 15g carbs on the link Bandit's Mom gave me. I'm thinking I'll go pick up the 20g one too for incase. I'll @ you to verify when I've double checked and got the new options in. Cheers!

Haha yesss the anti-jinx, the sleep deprivation is setting in!

Thank you for all of your help. (and.. touched by your pics and messages to jax, really special)
 
For HC I've got the ff gravy lovers chicken and beef feast, 15g carbs
We would call this Medium Carb (MC).

The only Fancy Feast that's high carb is the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef (it's 20%) - it's what I used for Jax but could be hard to find (here in the states there are supply issues with the aluminum can so it's not always on the shelves)

messages to jax
Thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug: Miss that kitty a lot. The one on the refrigerator is my civvie Benji and he's still here keeping us busy :cat:
 
I see he's 59 today at PMPS. He obviously likes to nadir at the end of the cycle. Do you feed him anything in the second half of the AM cycle?
Maybe a snack at AMPS + 9 would prevent him from dropping too low at PMPS to shoot. :-)
 
We would call this Medium Carb (MC).

The only Fancy Feast that's high carb is the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef (it's 20%) - it's what I used for Jax but could be hard to find (here in the states there are supply issues with the aluminum can so it's not always on the shelves)


Thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug: Miss that kitty a lot. The one on the refrigerator is my civvie Benji and he's still here keeping us busy :cat:
I definitely can find that 20% one here, I didn't get out today to grab it but I will in the AM! That's a bummer they are hard to get for you. Do you use an alternative?

I bet :( good your busy. mine is keeping me super busy, we lost a dog earlier last year and still feels a bit odd without her, such is life
 
I see he's 59 today at PMPS. He obviously likes to nadir at the end of the cycle. Do you feed him anything in the second half of the AM cycle?
Maybe a snack at AMPS + 9 would prevent him from dropping too low at PMPS to shoot. :-)
Yeah I did have a feeling that might be the pattern after the first lot of blues, had a big read up on cats with late nadirs and looked at spreadsheets with that too! I was thinking the exact same and did actually feed him at +9, he had an entire ff can, but no change, I don't think I've seen him have significant changes from the food at all, more so just seems when there's a bounce, so I'm starting think he'll not be a food spiker. Going to check him 30mins increments tonight I think. Trying to slowly bring the dose time back so I have more time in the evening to monitor without being up so late. Felt confident enough today to not make a new thread thanks to you all :)
 
Yeah I did have a feeling that might be the pattern after the first lot of blues, had a big read up on cats with late nadirs and looked at spreadsheets with that too! I was thinking the exact same and did actually feed him at +9, he had an entire ff can, but no change, I don't think I've seen him have significant changes from the food at all, more so just seems when there's a bounce, so I'm starting think he'll not be a food spiker. Going to check him 30mins increments tonight I think. Trying to slowly bring the dose time back so I have more time in the evening to monitor without being up so late. Felt confident enough today to not make a new thread thanks to you all :)
His pattern seems to be to nadir at PMPS and then head up. But the stretches of green are longer. It's so great to see that sea of green on his SS.

Maybe feeding through the AM cycle will help? Or a teeny amount of higher carbs at +9 if he's in the low greens? If he drops below 50 at PMPS (or in the 2 hour no-feed window before PS), it's a pain. As long as her stays above 50 and you can shoot, it's fine. LOL. Or if drops during the cycle and earns a reduction...which I suspect he will do one of these days...
 
I definitely can find that 20% one here, I didn't get out today to grab it but I will in the AM! That's a bummer they are hard to get for you. Do you use an alternative?
I was always able to have a few cans on hand but there are plenty of other choices on the Food Chart. I also always had a few cans of prescription food that were high carb.
bit odd without her, such is life
So sorry for your loss...yes all part of the circle of life cat_wings>o
 
Back
Top