4/7 "Bouncy" Bud AMPS 166, +1 347, +8 329, PMPS 413, +3 292

Status
Not open for further replies.
Interesting, that would make me nervous also. Since you have very little data on Bud with that low of a PS I would say that you definitely should either decrease the dose or skip. You will have to make that call based on what you know about how Bud reacts to insulin and food.
 
I am kicking myself because yes I fed him then realized I should have stalled and retested. I don't get many of these low preshots so I wasn't thinking straight!
 
Dosed at 0.5. Was thinking I'd swing back by the house after dropping my daughter off at school and grabbing a +1 and just be late for work. Would that tell me anything though?
 
I think a better judge of where they kitty is going is the +2, but it all depends on the cat. Sammy would sometime drop by +1 and then drop even further by +2 and then by +3 he was at nadir. So again it really depends on the cat, that is why it is so important to try to get a curve every now and then so that you can really see what Bud is doing with the insulin.
 
I think a better judge of where they kitty is going is the +2, but it all depends on the cat. Sammy would sometime drop by +1 and then drop even further by +2 and then by +3 he was at nadir. So again it really depends on the cat, that is why it is so important to try to get a curve every now and then so that you can really see what Bud is doing with the insulin.

So he's 347 at +1, retested at 392. What the heck? Could he really have risen that much in an hour or was that 166 more than likely wrong? ugh...

I try to get a curve every Saturday that I'm home but have always started with a +3. Guess I'll start grabbing some +1s and +2s in the evenings.
 
Whenever you get an unusal number for your cat, re-test.
And remember that meters only read within 20% of what a lab might get, so they only give you a rough clue about trends.
 
Whenever you get an unusal number for your cat, re-test.
And remember that meters only read within 20% of what a lab might get, so they only give you a rough clue about trends.

You know I was retesting whenever I got a wonky number and it always confirmed so I quit retesting since I thought it was a waste of strips. But I learned my lesson this morning, I should've retested, I should've stalled and retested... So many things I'm kicking myself for today. But obviously I was bewildered when I saw that 166 and all thinking went out the window!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top