4/7/2018/Ravan/2 169/+3.5 258/+6.5 248/+9 301/

Status
Not open for further replies.
It takes some time for the depot to fill to see the full effects of the increase. There is also something called NDW (new dose wonkiness), a weird cycle or two after an increase is common enough that a phrase was coined for it. ;) I think your food is fine, as long as it’s low carb and what you’ve been feeding for some time, as opposed to it’s a new food for Ravan, I would say it’s a non issue regarding the numbers you’re seeing.
 
Actually FF is a new food. Ravan was raised on a raw diet.(15 yrs) He went off the raw meat last year. I have no idea why. I've tried just about every type of meat & canned food & he's very picky.

About 3 weeks ago he wasn't feeling good at all,stopped eating. That's when i tried the FF,which he will eat.
 
I completely understand, those lower numbers are scary the first few times, though once you get the hang of things, it won't be so scary. Most of us would love to see 68s more often. Yes, good job with feeding some FF, you are doing great, that 169 is still quite perfectly safe.
 
Christie & Maverick, Thank you for the encouraging words! I'd be Happy if he just stayed in the blues! He's sleeping now .
Do you think it's save to test every 2 hrs?
 
You could, but I guess I would be inclined to get a +3 because he came down almost 90 points, and had already dropped to yellow AMPS from pinks the night before, which makes me think he's having an active cycle. I didn't really see any other recent drops like this on Ravan's SS, and he's still early in the cycle, so if it were me, I'd be more comfortable seeing if the drop is continuing or slowing down at +3. Just my thoughts.
 
I too would be inclined to test at +3.
Lantus often starts working (onsets) at +2 - its potency will grow until nadir.
Feeding small amount of LC to prevent large/fast drops is good tactic.
Because we do not yet know how low he planed to go today try not to overfeed him too early - you might need him hungry later on.
So offer just small amounts - I give Ducia 2 teaspoons at a time.
 
Well darn, that last BG test is a bit surprising, the FF chicken is only 3% carb, I thought he'd come down a bit more and stay in the blues a while longer. No, I wouldn't test every hour after seeing him come up there at +3.5, he'll probably flatten out now, or creep up into a starting bounce, since he's just not used to seeing blues in a while.

How do you feel about re-checking him around +6, just to see that he's not changing directions, sometimes they bobble around a bit, especially with a new dose on board.
 
Tanya, The FF is Chicken Feast Classic. He had a tbls at about 11:am
ok, it is 3% carbs - I doubt that it could sent him up so high. Perhaps it's a bounce but a bit too fast....
I'll check again at 3pm
I am in Pacific time zone - what is your 3pm in cycle?
I would take another test at maybe +5 - +6 - if higher than +3.5 no need to test until PM shot.

ETA: thank yo ufor updating the SS - I am really useless without it!
 
@Tanya and Ducia

+9 301

Question : On page 3 of the SLGS guide it states: If preshot is above 200 but below normal pre-shot value a reduced dose is Wise.

This morning amps was 258 which was quite a bit below his "Normal " preshot value of 379

Should I have given a lower dose? 1 unit instead of 1.25?

I'm trying to follow the SLGS guidelines but I get confused on some things
 
Last edited:
You aren't brand new, you test lots, I think you are Ok shooting full dose over 200, especially if you are home to monitor. Cats tend to have flatter cycles if you shoot lower numbers when on Lantus or Levemir. You also test more than most people following SLGS. The recommendation of doing a curve is to make sure you have some mid cycle tests and you know how low the dose is taking kitty. With your testing, we have a pretty good picture that Raven needed more juice.

As for the increase, you should have increased the full 0.25 units. Smaller increases often don't do much unless you are tweaking what is already almost a perfect dose. Ravan isn't there yet. For now stick to 1.25 units, but the next increase should be to 1.5 units.
 
@Wendy & Neko
Thank you for the advice. It still seems confusing When the guide says to do one thing but you tell me it's OK not to??

I was only testing a lot because i can't seem to figure out when he's going up or down. Like today Did not expect the +2 169 or the big increase after?

To me he seems up & down at random?

Last night I did not intend to test every 2 hrs. For some reason he was VERY vocal waking me up up every 2 hrs Wanted to eat at 2AM?? There was no going back to sleep until I fed him.

This is unusual for ravan.
 
Last edited:
There are two parts to the SLGS Sticky Note on handling lower numbers. The first part starts "in the beginning .." Go a little further down and read the sections starting out "with experience". As you gather data, you will be able to shoot full dose on lower numbers. Eventually, not yet, as low as 90.

I think it's great you are testing more. Some people just can't with their schedule. It does take a while, but you will eventually be able to see Ravan's patterns better. Not that he won't still be a cat and try to surprise you. :cat:
 
? I'm having trouble editing the Title. When it's full how do I move everything to the left without deleting it so I can keep adding more info?
 
There is a limited amount of space in the title. You can move things like Central Time and SLGS to your signature. As you move into the PM cycle, you can remove the AM data. Basically keep the most current data in the title.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top