4/6 Zeke AMPS 154; PMPS 140 - Not back to where he had been

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Evening LL,

Healing vines to all that need them.

Zeke had been doing so well on the 0.25u, even his PS were starting to come down after we introduced a +9 snack (1tsp of 4%). Unfortunately, all of a sudden (due to the snack?) his numbers started to deteriorate and even this f0.25u has not been able to get him back on track. Unless I get a much better AMPS tomorrow, I'm seriously considering taking him up to the f0.25 (which was either a 0.3 or 0.4) he was on for over 3 weeks (the last good dose which was reduced on 3/28). It might be back to the drawing board from Mr. Zeke.

I still have not made up my mind though. I'm wondering if I should try a lower carb snack to see if that would help. He's getting good cycles, the problem is that he's starting off at a much higher PS# which is cutting into his "healing" time. In short, his cycles are just not as good as they had been before.

DH is thinking we should hold this dose another day or two. I just don't want Zeke to lose the progress he's already made. Right now I'm feeling like we're just (at best) spinning our wheels or (even worse) going backwards. :YMSIGH:


Here's a recap of the day before yesterday:
AMPS / 98; +1.25 / 96; +2.25 / 60; +3 / 48; +3.75 / 60;+6 / 80;+8.25 (Snack) / 89

PMPS / 138; +1.25 / 121; +2 / 73; +2.75 / 56; +3.75 / 60;+6 / 96;+8.5 (Snack) / 100


Here's a recap of yesterday:
AMPS / 186; +1.25 / 157; +2 / 111; +3 / 75; +3.75 / 66;+5.25 / 72;+8.25 (Snack) / 84

PMPS / 141; +1.25 / 115; +2 / 78; +2.75 / 52; +3.5 / 54; +4.5 / 63; +6 / 63; +8.5 (No Snack) / 72


Here's a recap of today:
AMPS / 154; +1.25 / 138; +2 / 105; +2.75 / 60; +3.75 / 62; +7.5 / 86

PMPS / 140; +1 / 157; +2 / 123

Zeke's condo from yesterday
 
Re: 4/6 Zeke AMPS 154; PMPS 140 - Not back to where he was

Hi Laura,

I'm sorry Zeke's pre-shots are heading in the wrong direction. Those are some pretty greens in between! I don't have dosing advice, but I'm giving you lots of moral support.

Good luck with whatever you decide to do!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/6 Zeke AMPS 154; PMPS 140 - Not back to where he had b

hm, well, you've got 4 shots at this dose. usually we would suggest 6 to let a dose increase settle.

the amps today is less than yesterday's amps, when you'd first given the dose increase, so it may have brought that down a little bit.

the pmps for the past 3 evenings are essentially the same.

overall his numbers look great. i know you're just fine tuning.

Interestingly, i'm looking back to 3/3 to see what he did last time you increased from 0.25 to f0.25. it was actually 6 days after the increase before the pmps came down into green. the amps hit green after 8 days, but came back up into the same low blues it was before the increase.

i'm thinking looking at those that i'd give it a little bit longer to see if he settles into it. i've never used calipers, so am not familiar with the measurements, but if he were mine, i think i'd give him the 2 more cycles but if he doesn't come down by tuesday morning where you want, i think i'd give a slightly larger increase. not much, but slightly more.
 
Re: 4/6 Zeke AMPS 154; PMPS 140 - Not back to where he had b

Don't forget about NDW :-D :-D

Glad I could help on the dropping numbers vs second dip. Some cats don't get second dips so it can be confusing.

The other thing is sometimes they do great on a dose for a long time and then....don't. Check out Gracie's and Neko's SSs and you'll see that they just sputter and have to go up. The thing is to not get attached to a dose. It took me forever to learn that. If they need more insulin, they do.

You and Zekey are doing great. :-D :-D :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/6 Zeke AMPS 154; PMPS 140 - Not back to where he had b

Thanks Marje and Julie for the dosing advice. Thanks Shelly for the moral support. I appreciate your visits.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top