4/6 - Xander | AMPS 367, +1 330

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
4/3/25

Had a super busy couple of days and never really had any time to pop in here.

When I last posted was the first day I used any Cerenia, I believe. We gave it to him first thing in the morning (around 5-6 AM). It didn't seem to have all that much effect. I gave him Ondansetron around noon and after that suddenly he seemed soooo much better. Like, most intense headbutts I've ever gotten from him. We often joke that he would be so happy if he could just melt into me and become a part of me, and this was on another level. He didn't leave me the entire day. Just the most intense snuggles I'd ever gotten. It seemed like he missed me as much as I missed him!!

On Friday night I hurt my foot (nothing major, but it swelled and I had to elevate and ice for a while) and he actually came right to me and laid on me all purry in a location that he usually won't. It felt like he was saying, "No, I don't like to cuddle here, but this is important. You take care of me, I take care of you." (sob emoji)

His appetite still hasn't been the most stellar, but he (usually) seems so much more like himself. I'm not sure if it's that the Cerenia is just incredible (in which case it'll suck when we run out), or the not giving him any more of the possible problem food, or it was a bug he just got over, or what. The vet basically suggested on Friday night that we continue what we're doing for a few more days and see how he is once we stop the meds. I'm not counting yesterday because it was a very unusual day.

We had guests over for a significant chunk of the day, which is really rare for us. Xander hid in an upstairs bathroom and never came out even for the litterbox. I brought all of his meals up to him but even in his "safe" spot he never touched them. He doesn't tend to eat if he's afraid/stressed. By the end of the night when they left he'd only had about a third of his usual food (all eaten before the guests came). Normally he'll eat maybe 1-1.5 oz (grazed) per meal, but last night I ended up giving him about 4.5 oz total over the last hour or so before I went to bed. He was hungry and happily gobbled it down.

Today he's seeming off again, though he's eating most of his food. It might be the stress and exhaustion from yesterday, or that last night was a partial fur shot (had to do it sitting on the bathroom floor with guests still over. He was nervous and pulled off the needle. I don't think it was a full furshot though because he did have a bit of a cycle overnight).

I increased to 3 units this morning. I really haven't wanted to do it yet because I didn't want to add another variable while he's been sick and we can't nail down why, but his numbers are worrying me. Hope I don't regre the decision to increase.

I hope everyone's had a good, safe couple of days! I'll be checking in on the condos to catch up as much as I can, but I also have a brand new shiny migraine today, so we'll see how it goes. :rolleyes:

ETA: Just got a final report from the vet. Spec fPL, fecal, urine, bloodwork all normal. She mentions foreign body is possible but doesn't seem likely. "Some concern" for GI neoplasia and the next step if things don't improve is indeed an ultrasound. She did also give us a refill for Cerenia if we need it.
 
Last edited:
Glad to hear Xander is feeling more like himself! Jude's a scaredy-cat, too, when company comes over or even when someone knocks on the door--he zooms to the back bedroom, under the bed! They have their quirks, don't they. I hope that migraine is short lived (I get them too, so I understand). Good luck with the increase, and here's hoping Xander gets down into some blues today for you. Have a relaxing Sunday!
 
Great to have a Xander update - I had been wondering how you guys were getting on!
Glad the meds are working and he's mostly feeling better. And love that you got extra snuggles :)
It's tough for a sensitive soul to have to deal with people in his space and disruptions to his routine. Let's hope he regains his equilibrium today.
And I hope your migraine goes away soon. When I get them I have to hide in a quiet dark room for hours - urgh, the worst!
 
Glad to hear Xander is feeling more like himself! Jude's a scaredy-cat, too, when company comes over or even when someone knocks on the door--he zooms to the back bedroom, under the bed! They have their quirks, don't they. I hope that migraine is short lived (I get them too, so I understand). Good luck with the increase, and here's hoping Xander gets down into some blues today for you. Have a relaxing Sunday!

They do! And sometimes it's different. In the past he'd eventually come out and sit next to people and be fine. Last night though not so much. I guess I can't blame him; the last strangers he saw poked and prodded him an awful lot!

Thank you! I hope so too. I'm not sure if weather and stress are triggers for yours but it's been about a month now of basically a constantly waxing and waning migraine. :( I seem to go through periods like this of just status migraine for weeks or months, and then nothing for a bit. Ugh.
 
Great to have a Xander update - I had been wondering how you guys were getting on!
Glad the meds are working and he's mostly feeling better. And love that you got extra snuggles :)
It's tough for a sensitive soul to have to deal with people in his space and disruptions to his routine. Let's hope he regains his equilibrium today.
And I hope your migraine goes away soon. When I get them I have to hide in a quiet dark room for hours - urgh, the worst!

I hope I didn't worry anyone! When I'm not able to post I at least try to make sure the spreadsheet is updated so people know we're at least alive lol

I hope so! He seems exhausted. Just spent the past literally 2 and a half hours limp asleep on my arm. Like, out out.

They truly are the worst!! I'm sorry that you get them too!
 
Hi Brianna :)
I'm so happy to read you had some good snuggly moments with Xandar. It's so joyful when they turn a corner and feel better.
I know it takes time until the anti nausea meds work. It usually takes Fistuk a couple of days to build up before it takes effect. Cerenia doesn't work on him but Onda does a really good job for mister F.

Good luck with the increase. It's common to have a spike in number with stress and I think most folks here would increase even if the reason seems to be obvious. If he needs that extra help so his body doesn't work hard on trying to regulate too many fronts at once it's probably best. You're doing a great job helping Xander and keeping him safe.
Wishing you a boring Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
AWWW - love to hear he's being a super cuddly boy and coming back to life after starting the meds and with the change in food. So hard to pinpoint the exact reason with multiple new things going on, but something is working and that's great news :cat:
Sorry to hear he got stressed out with the visitors - Binx's sister Sadie is like that too and it throws her off for a bit when there are guests around. Hope he feels safe now that everyone has gone! Certainly a difficult thing to do too, giving insulin in that situation. I find it difficult enough as it is in the best of circumstances :facepalm:
Good luck with the increase and I hope the migraine(s) start to dissipate :bighug:
 
Hi Brianna :)
I'm so happy to read you had some good snuggly moments with Xandar. It's so joyful when they turn a corner and feel better.

Absolutely!! It was so happy I could've cried!

I know it takes time until the anti nausea meds work. It usually takes Fistuk a couple of days to build up before it takes effect. Cerenia doesn't work on him but Onda does a really good job for mister F.

This is good to know! Maybe it just took some time for it to really build up and start working well.

Good luck with the increase. It's common to have a spike in number with stress and I think most folks here would increase even if the reason seems to be obvious. If he needs that extra help so his body doesn't work hard on trying to regulate too many fronts at once it's probably best.

Thank you for pointing this out, I think it's really helpful in how I'm looking at things! Give his body one less thing to have to work hard with when he's already struggling.

You're doing a great job helping Xander and keeping him safe. Wishing you a boring Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much, Shelly! Same to you and Fistuk. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
AWWW - love to hear he's being a super cuddly boy and coming back to life after starting the meds and with the change in food. So hard to pinpoint the exact reason with multiple new things going on, but something is working and that's great news :cat:
Sorry to hear he got stressed out with the visitors - Binx's sister Sadie is like that too and it throws her off for a bit when there are guests around. Hope he feels safe now that everyone has gone! Certainly a difficult thing to do too, giving insulin in that situation. I find it difficult enough as it is in the best of circumstances :facepalm:
Good luck with the increase and I hope the migraine(s) start to dissipate :bighug:

Thanks, Briana! :bighug:

I'm really hoping that this is going to continue in the upward trajectory and not slide backward!

lol I agree, it's hard enough as it is without guests! I'm honestly surprised I managed to get even a partial shot.
 
4/3/25

Had a super busy couple of days and never really had any time to pop in here.

When I last posted was the first day I used any Cerenia, I believe. We gave it to him first thing in the morning (around 5-6 AM). It didn't seem to have all that much effect. I gave him Ondansetron around noon and after that suddenly he seemed soooo much better. Like, most intense headbutts I've ever gotten from him. We often joke that he would be so happy if he could just melt into me and become a part of me, and this was on another level. He didn't leave me the entire day. Just the most intense snuggles I'd ever gotten. It seemed like he missed me as much as I missed him!!

On Friday night I hurt my foot (nothing major, but it swelled and I had to elevate and ice for a while) and he actually came right to me and laid on me all purry in a location that he usually won't. It felt like he was saying, "No, I don't like to cuddle here, but this is important. You take care of me, I take care of you." (sob emoji)

His appetite still hasn't been the most stellar, but he (usually) seems so much more like himself. I'm not sure if it's that the Cerenia is just incredible (in which case it'll suck when we run out), or the not giving him any more of the possible problem food, or it was a bug he just got over, or what. The vet basically suggested on Friday night that we continue what we're doing for a few more days and see how he is once we stop the meds. I'm not counting yesterday because it was a very unusual day.

We had guests over for a significant chunk of the day, which is really rare for us. Xander hid in an upstairs bathroom and never came out even for the litterbox. I brought all of his meals up to him but even in his "safe" spot he never touched them. He doesn't tend to eat if he's afraid/stressed. By the end of the night when they left he'd only had about a third of his usual food (all eaten before the guests came). Normally he'll eat maybe 1-1.5 oz (grazed) per meal, but last night I ended up giving him about 4.5 oz total over the last hour or so before I went to bed. He was hungry and happily gobbled it down.

Today he's seeming off again, though he's eating most of his food. It might be the stress and exhaustion from yesterday, or that last night was a partial fur shot (had to do it sitting on the bathroom floor with guests still over. He was nervous and pulled off the needle. I don't think it was a full furshot though because he did have a bit of a cycle overnight).

I increased to 3 units this morning. I really haven't wanted to do it yet because I didn't want to add another variable while he's been sick and we can't nail down why, but his numbers are worrying me. Hope I don't regre the decision to increase.

I hope everyone's had a good, safe couple of days! I'll be checking in on the condos to catch up as much as I can, but I also have a brand new shiny migraine today, so we'll see how it goes. :rolleyes:

ETA: Just got a final report from the vet. Spec fPL, fecal, urine, bloodwork all normal. She mentions foreign body is possible but doesn't seem likely. "Some concern" for GI neoplasia and the next step if things don't improve is indeed an ultrasound. She did also give us a refill for Cerenia if we need it.
I hope you feel better soon! He is so sweet to take care of you. I have had much better luck with ondansetron than cerenia with Bell, even though vets seem to treat them as the same thing. From the advice I've gotten here, cerenia helps with vomiting and ondansetron with nausea, so they target different things (sorry if this is old news to you). Hope his appetite comes back soon!
 
Hi Brianna. Happy to hear the update and that Xander is more like himself. I love the snuggles and headbutts!
I hope his appetite comes back soon and that you feel better. Good luck with the increase.
Wishing you both a relaxed night and safe surf.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope you feel better soon! He is so sweet to take care of you. I have had much better luck with ondansetron than cerenia with Bell, even though vets seem to treat them as the same thing. From the advice I've gotten here, cerenia helps with vomiting and ondansetron with nausea, so they target different things (sorry if this is old news to you). Hope his appetite comes back soon!

He is the sweetest boy! ❤️ I don't deserve him lol

Yeah, I've seen mixed answers on the vomiting/nausea thing! My vet even said it helps with general inflammation and pain. It does at least seem like he's doing a lot better taking both than only taking the Ondansetron. I'll take whatever helps!!
 
Hi Brianna. Happy to hear the update and that Xander is more like himself. I love the snuggles and headbutts!
I hope his appetite comes back soon and that you feel better. Good luck with the increase.
Wishing you both a relaxed night and safe surf.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you, Madeline! ❤️❤️❤️
 
Back
Top