4/6 Jersey PMPS-67, +.5-82, +1.75-122, +3.25-213, +4.5-183

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Good morning, LL! ~O)

Yesterday's Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116700

We had a busy, busy little day yesterday.

Yesterday's Numbers:
AMPS - 111, .75 units
+3.5 - 40
+4 - 93
+7 - 75
PMPS - 77, .50 units (reduction)
+2 - 45
+3.25 - 81
+4.5 - 93

I had every intention of getting a +5 or later last night. My plan was thwarted by Jersey's renewed attempts to hasten my demise. For those who may have missed it, she began her evil plan on March 22nd:

Jersey girl is reading her condo as I type it this morning. Cats definitely make better doors than they do windows. Jersey, could you move to the left just a tad so I can see the screen? Seriously, cat, you won't miss anything by moving over an inch. I'm confident this is just another small component of her master plan for my demise. Jersey's to do list for the day:

1. Block computer screen in an attempt to make the human shift to see the screen. Goal - To cause the human to spill hot coffee on herself while shifting, resulting in third-degree burns
2. Play the inside-outside game where I will refuse to make up my mind about whether I want to go outside or stay inside. Goal - To increase the probability that the human will smash herself in the sliding glass door
3. Dig around in the litter box, thus tricking the human into thinking she can get a ketone test. When she arrives, I will present her with a huge poo. Goal - To incapacitate the human with noxious poo fumes
4.Attack all parts of the human that can be reached during the morning bg check. Goal: To sever a major vein, thus causing severe blood loss
5. Plot new ways to hasten human's demise
6. Take a nap

In light of her previous failed attempts, several new components were added to Jersey's master plan last night:

1. Jump onto the 1-inch edge of the TV, wobble precariously for a couple of minutes, and then leap onto the top of the window valance. Goal - To either knock the TV over onto the human or cause the human to fall off of the end table that she must stand on to pluck me off the window valance. Either outcome is acceptable.
2. Drag "da bird" from room to room, mreowling as I go. Goal - To worry the human, who will then get up to check on me. As the human tries to track me down, her feet will become entangled in the string of da bird, which will cause her to do a face plant into the wood floor.
3. Dig at the closet doors in the spare bedroom. Goal - To successfully open the closet doors into the human's face as she comes in to investigate the sound. A broken nose will be sufficient.
4. As the human finally drifts off to sleep, I will make noise somewhere in the house. This will awaken the "other" human. He will get up to investigate the noise, open doors and drawers, thinking that I am stuck somewhere. In turn, this will wake up the original human. Goal - To cause a huge argument that will result in the humans killing each other.

Needless to say, it was a long night, and it looks like Jersey may want to be a little troublemaker again this morning, too. We've already started playing the in-and-out game with the sliding glass door. I'm sure she'll also want to help us lay tile again today. :YMSIGH: :lol:

We did hold the .50 dose from last night based on all of your advice, but it looks like she may be on a mission to dip low again this morning. I'm trying to boost her numbers a bit with food already, but I think the cat is finally full. Perhaps her stubborn refusal to eat is another component of her master plan? ;-)

Today's Numbers:
PMPS - 111, .50 units
+1.75 - 84

Sending out healing vines to all who are in need!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75 - 84

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Very funny. Aw, she's not :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: She's just a mischievous little girl. In fact, one can kinda get that vibe from her avatar.

Shelly, you're doing great and Jersey is looking great too. Good job last night - you're already an old pro at handling low numbers.

Hope Jersey surfs safely so you can get a little rest.

Keep up the good work and have a fantastic Sunday.
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44

Thanks, Laura! Jersey decided not to surf safely. Again, all a part of her master plan, I believe! :lol:

+3 - 44, fed high-carb FF

Dose Advisors: Do we still hold the .50 units tonight, or do we reduce?
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44; Dose Question

Jersey and Cobb must be reading the same playbook about making noise to worry the humans. :lol:

Come on up, Jersey! That's a little too low for comfort.
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44; Dose Question

Reducing is a nice dilemma to have.
Nice numbers again Shelly. Looks like you are working your way down to zero.
Great job.
Take care
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44; Dose Question

Morning Shelly ~O) ~O) ~O)

:lol: :lol: :lol: What a great condo. I love the humor aspect of it all. Jersey sounds like quite the character. :cool:

I am definitely not a dosing expert or an adviser by ay means.... but I think that today you may be seeing a little shed action form the previous dose. it sure does look like she is working up to another reduction. I would see how today goes, how hard you have to work to get that 40 up, see if Jersey bounces or not. Depending on what PMPS is, decide then on a dose. I would get a +10, or a +11, see how that compares to PMPS (heading up, or heading down?), and go from there.

Have a great day today, I hope all goes well. And Jersey - you surf nicely, 'K?
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44, +3.75-58; Dose ?

I have absolutely no experience but just read Marje's post on reductions and it seems to me another reduction is due. Maybe Jersey wants to join Freddie soon. Good luck with whatever the advisers suggest.

Elise
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44, +3.75-58; Dose ?

Today could still be some shed action from the reduction. But if you have to work hard to keep her up all day, you may need to reduce again. Hopefully someone more experienced will chime in soon.

I'm glad Jersey's plan didn't work. ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44, +3.75-58; Dose ?

It's hard to decide when they go low so soon after a reduction, the shed is a mysterious thing! :roll: sometimes you need to just see how hard it is to get her back above 50! Good luck, Jersey is certainly doing great on Lantus!
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44, +3.75-58; Dose ?

this is a tough one. it's not clear-cut in my mind, so let me think out loud and see what you think.

We know that a dose can have an effect on the subsequent 6 cycles or so. The greatest effect is usually right after a dose reduction, but it can still have some effect on the rest. So, you are just now in the 6th cycle following the 1.0unit. Slight chance that's still at play.

You're only 2 cycles after the .75u dose. So greater chance that's still involved.

I think one question to consider is how hard to you feel like you're working to keep her up? can you keep doing this, or are you burnt out and in need of a break. even reducing the dose tonight, she still might go low anyway.

on the other hand, all of the time spent in green numbers is great - it helps her body recognize these as normal healthy numbers and it will lessen/eliminate bouncing.

If she were mine, and i was up for keeping with the same routine for another little while, i'd probably stay with the 0.5u dose and try to carb her before she goes below 50 tonight. But if you're exhausted and need a break, taking either a one time reduction tonight and coming back up to 0.5u tomorrow would be one option. You could also reduce to 0.25u and see what she does with it. I'm kinda thinking it might not be enough once the depot reduces, though.

I'd also factor in whether or not anyone will be around to monitor her tomorrow. If not, perhaps reducing tonight would be smart.

So - with those "musings" what do you think? Perhaps someone else will weigh in as well.
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44, +3.75-58; Dose ?

I like spunky girls. Wow, Jersey is doing so well on the Lantus. When she is not bouncing and has a green or blue AMPS, she really pulls it down. I would reduce for at least this cycle and see what happens unless she is has higher bounce. I would still monitor even with a higher bounce. I think in this situation I would consider what the AMPS is as well as the nadir. This might help drain the depot a bit since it has been only 2 cycles since the .75 dose. You already skipped a dose as well.
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44, +5-101, +11-90

Wow - thanks for all the visits today! :-D I'm sorry I haven't had a chance to respond yet. Stupid tile project. Jersey did decide to help us again with it. If she wouldn't have helped, I'm wondering if we would be finished at this point!?! :lol:

You all have given me some great information to take into consideration. Michelle, we did get a +11, so hopefully we'll be able to get a better idea about her cycle when we grab a PMBG (which is about an hour away).

Julie, we're definitely worn out, but our ultimate goal is remission. Jersey seems to want to head in that direction all of a sudden, and I'm all for it! My fear is that we're going to be gone during the weekdays, and she'll end up diving. I have to leave at +2 at the absolute latest and can't get back to Jersey until at least +7. DH took a sick day when Jersey dove on us this past Tuesday (because I called him in tears), and I snuck home for a +4 one day. I just don't know how often we can do that. DH leaves 15 minutes after the morning shot and gets home about 15 minutes before PMPS.

We've had good luck so far steering her numbers with food. The only exception to that was Tuesday (4/1) on the 1 unit. She stayed above 50, but DH had to feed quite a bit. I'm wondering if the 40s are where Jersey wants to hang. She really didn't want to eat today when she was in that range, and I had to coax her a bit. When she does eat, she peaks a bit and then seems to surf well the rest of the cycle.

Anyway...those are some of the thoughts I'm having. I'm just a big ol' wishy-washy bean! :oops:
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44, +5-101, +11-90

newly diagnosed cats have a great chance at remission - and given Jersey's response, i think that's very possible for her.

her ss in the past 3ish days looks like the dose has just "clicked."

figuring out how to cope with life along with the diabetic cat that's surfing green - that's definitely a challenge. Food is always the first line of defense. Someone had a friend who let their cat stay there all day, and that friend lived right next to the bean's workplace. not sure if you know anyone near your work that would let Jersey stay in their laundry room for the days ...
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS-111, +1.75-84, +3-44, +5-101, +11-90

Jersey is looking superb! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I agree with Julie's choices. If you are beat tonight, a one time reduction to .25 to help drain the depot may help. And depending on your comfort level tomorrow AM, either back to .5U or try .25U. From what I've seen, decreasing the dose back to back to back usually results in the dose going back up again. But Jersey is a cat, one of her list items is to confuse you. :lol:

I often find the first couple cycles after a reduction with Neko can be a bit more interesting, and then things slow down a bit on the third. But Neko's shown she's no role model. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, PMBG - 62!!!!

Oh, for cryin' out loud, Jersey. You do NOT have to continue to plot my demise. :lol:

What the heck do we do now???? nailbite_smile
 
Re: Stalling 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, PMBG - 62!!!!

Wow, Jersey is on a mission. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I personally would not shoot 0.5U. I would go with 0.25U or skip, although it would be better to skip in the morning when you can't be there to test. You are the one who holds the syringe and she is your cat. All we can do here is offer advice and cheer you on. You are doing an awesome job, Shelly. :-D How is her appetite? I'm leaving for a couple of hours.
Liz
 
Re: Stalling 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, PMBG - 62!!!!

Whoa. Dropping number. I would stall. I'm not experienced enough to advise. Hopefully someone else will come along. Don't feed.
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, +12-62, PMPS-67

Thanks, Laura and Liz. We stalled for about 15 minutes so we wouldn't miss our window to shoot. We missed it on Wednesday evening when we stalled. We shot a skinny .25 tonight; it may have been more like a .10. It gets so hard to see when we get down to the micro-doses. It may be time to pull out the calipers.

I hope we did the right thing. (Liz - I had the same thought as you. It would be better to skip when I'm off to work if I'm going to have to skip.) A +30 will be coming up soon! Paws crossed.......
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, +12-62, PMPS-67

:shock: :o :shock: :o
Jersey is definitely on a mission!
Good luck with whatever you decide to do!
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, +12-62, PMPS-67

That wasn't a dropping number. A dropping number is when it's the lowest number in the cycle. I would call this a second dip which lantus and levemir are known for. If there is a nadir (e.g. 44) and then she comes back up and then goes down again at the end of the cycle but not as low as the nadir, it's a second dip. Typically and as long as the PS is above 50, it's safe to shoot a second dip without stalling provided you have experience shooting green numbers. I think it makes sense to reduce tonight if you are really tired and you've got work tomorrow. Also agree to see where she is in the morning and then decide what to shoot.

It quite often takes Gracie six cycles of depot after a reduction before I can tell if she will hold a dose; however, the lower the dose, the less number of cycles it takes.

Good job today! Go Jersey!!!
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, +12-62, PMPS-67

Thanks Marje. Now I know the difference between a dropping number and a second dip. Let's go Jersey. Work that jooce.
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, +12-62, PMPS-67, +.5-82

Thanks for the additional information, Marje. Just one more piece to add to my feline diabetes knowledge base. :-D I've read about the double dips before, but it's hard to recognize one until it's pointed out to me! It's amazing that I've been doing this for a while now and still have so much to learn. Some days, it's just utterly overwhelming. :YMSIGH:

Recap of the Day's Numbers:
AMPS - 111, .50 units
+1.75 - 84
+3 - 44
+3.75 - 58
+5 -101
+11 - 90
+12 - 62
PMPS - 67, .25s (BCS)
+.5 - 82

I've brewed my third pot of coffee for the day, and I'm off to visit some condos now! ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, +12-62, PMPS-67, +.5-82

Shelly, you're doing great! I wasn't exactly the poster child for consistent doses :oops: but Jersey has reminded me of my Nikki when she was about to come off insulin. Sometimes they've just had enough! Good luck with the reduction!
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, +12-62, PMPS-67, +.5-82

I'm thinking there's a OTJ party for Jersey in the near future.

Elise
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey AMPS+11-90, +12-62, PMPS-67, +.5-82

heehee i forgot to tell you i read your Jersey "to-do" list to my husband again this morning. he enjoyed it as much as i did! :lol:

*knock on wood* looking awfully good in here. very pretty spreadsheet! *antijinx*
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey PMPS-67, +.5-82, +1.75-122

Oh, Elise, I sure hope you're right about the OTJ party. Jersey's either bouncing (which I doubt), showing a food spike (which I hope), or we reduced a bit too much tonight (which I'm afraid of). I definitely have to get those calipers going.....I just wasn't expecting to have to use them so soon! :YMSIGH:

Julie, I'm glad you and DH enjoyed the fact that the fluffer is plotting my demise! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey PMPS-67, +.5-82, +1.75-122

Jersey, you feisty little girl....you sure like to keep MamaBean busy, busy, busy, don't you??? Despite her evil plotting, those really are gorgeous numbers. Surf it safely tonight, little one!!
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey PMPS-67, +.5-82, +1.75-122

Surf safely Jersey! Way to keep mama bean on her toes!

ForJersey said:
4. As the human finally drifts off to sleep, I will make noise somewhere in the house. This will awaken the "other" human. He will get up to investigate the noise, open doors and drawers, thinking that I am stuck somewhere. In turn, this will wake up the original human. Goal - To cause a huge argument that will result in the humans killing each other.

I love this one. :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey PMPS-67, +.5-82, +1.75-122

i don't think a +2 would show any effect from having reduced the previous dose. Lantus doesn't onset for a couple of hours, so it would ordinarily just now be onsetting anyway. You'll get the answer in the next test if it continues up - i'd blame a bounce. that was a lotta hours spent in green and her body might've had enough and issued a slight protest.

seems to me that when they are in the process of ending bouncing, you can get little half-hearted "HEY that was kinda low" bounces that barely go up and then peter out quickly. Let's hope that's all this is. :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey PMPS-67, +.5-82, +1.75-122

Some days, it's just utterly overwhelming.

Yes it is! But you are doing superb! You are learning so much!!!

Jersey is going to lose a lot of weight with all the things to do on her "to do" list :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey PMPS-67, +.5-82, +1.75-122

Well that was an ugly +3.25 of 213. Come on, Jerz.....this is not what I want to see after days of blues and greens. Julie, thanks for your thoughts on her numbers. I hope you're right about a bounce. If I didn't know better, I would think we had a fur shot tonight. :?

Alexis - thanks for stopping by and sharing your experiences with Nikki. Wow at the way Nikki went off the juice! I know Jersey is definitely tired of the pokies. I've had more growls the past couple of days than purrs! :lol: Now...if her pancreas would just decide that enough is enough...... :-D

Off to visit more condos. Thank you all for visiting ours!
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey PMPS-67, +.5-82, +1.75-122, +3.25-213

Nikki clearly graduated from drama school! :lol:

Hope Jersey clears that bounce for you!
 
Re: 4/6 Jersey PMPS-67, +.5-82, +1.75-122, +3.25-213, +4.5-1

Wow, Jersey has been a busy girl, with lagoon dives and plotting demises :lol: . Looks like she is coming back down, hopefully just a teensy bounce. I hope you can get some rest tonight, and maybe some kitty cuddles instead of bean fighting and closet doors in the face? Have a good night, Shelly :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top