Katherine&Ruby
Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-28-ruby-amps-85-3-90-6-64-9-75-pmps-64.261285/
Ruby hasn't been well in the last few days. Noticed her sneezing a bit last week and then a few days ago she started squinting a little, and then a lot yesterday, with a runny nose to boot. She's been getting URIs and eye things around once a month these days. Dabbed some terramycin in her eye yesterday and started Respo-K. She didn't eat at all yesterday. When her food bowl was still full this morning, I gave her a tiny bit of cyproheptadine and that did the trick to get her to eat. She seems totally fine this evening--squinting is nearly gone, and she's curled up next to me whereas yesterday she was hiding under beds, tables, and chairs. Wondering if what she has is allergies.
I don't have much to report except to say that Ruby's numbers have been great. We decided that DBF was probably giving inconsistent doses. When he went away, I did all of the shots, and that's when her numbers started getting better.
I'm so sorry it's been so long, and I am so touched that many of you are keeping tabs on us. I read every single comment you leave on our posts. Thank you for checking in. You have no idea how much it means to me.

You're the best! 
Ruby hasn't been well in the last few days. Noticed her sneezing a bit last week and then a few days ago she started squinting a little, and then a lot yesterday, with a runny nose to boot. She's been getting URIs and eye things around once a month these days. Dabbed some terramycin in her eye yesterday and started Respo-K. She didn't eat at all yesterday. When her food bowl was still full this morning, I gave her a tiny bit of cyproheptadine and that did the trick to get her to eat. She seems totally fine this evening--squinting is nearly gone, and she's curled up next to me whereas yesterday she was hiding under beds, tables, and chairs. Wondering if what she has is allergies.
I don't have much to report except to say that Ruby's numbers have been great. We decided that DBF was probably giving inconsistent doses. When he went away, I did all of the shots, and that's when her numbers started getting better.
I'm so sorry it's been so long, and I am so touched that many of you are keeping tabs on us. I read every single comment you leave on our posts. Thank you for checking in. You have no idea how much it means to me.

Diane, thank you for noticing I didn't put the dose in. I've corrected it. You're so anal.Hi Katherine, oh my god just look at those 2 cuties Cuteness overload
Don't forget to fill in how many units for 4-1 on your SS
Have a nice weekend Katherine![]()

Hard to know, right? Could be the Adequan, could be treating her for fleas (there is evidence the fleas are still in the house, though Ruby doesn't seem to be affected or bothered by them), or it could be having just one person preparing the shots.Do you think perhaps the Adequan had anything to do with stabilizing numbers? Like perhaps the arthritis was bothering her enough to affect BG here and there?
I'm no doctor, but from what I understand it keeps inflammation at bay, so even if it has no thickened intestines to work on, it's keeping the thickening away. It's good for inflammation, but it makes the body lower its immune response because the body thinks it has nothing to worry about anymore so she gets URIs all the time now. Steroids does cause insulin resistance, not sure why.Another random thought...what happens when there's nothing for pred to "work on"? I expect it would still affect the liver to make BG wonky but wondering if maybe that's part of it.
I see the oncology visit, curious about that too!
Thank you for asking! I messed up and put her appointment on the wrong day, it's actually happening on Friday. It will just be a routine checkup. I am sure everything will be fine. I may try to schedule another ultrasound at the beginning of July. She's due for one in May-June, but I will be away for three weeks in June, and it would be easier to start tapering her off the pred if that's what the doctor suggests when I am home in July. I expect her insulin resistance to lower with a smaller dose of pred, and I want to be the one adjusting her insulin doseage.Will they ultrasound Ruby tomorrow? Or just do a general checkup?
Last edited:
, I increased her Kibow supplement to ⅛ tsp and that seems to get her going regularly with smaller poops. That could also be a reason why her BGs are steadier