? 4/5 Ember AMPS 301 Reduction questions

Elaine and Ember

Member Since 2025
Good morning! Ember was down in the green for the second night in a row last night! I’m brand new at this reduction thing, so I have a couple questions. I reduced again but was I supposed to if it’s back-to-back greens? She still has her prior higher dose in her depot, so she was probably still dropping from that, not yesterday’s reduction. I assume there’s no dose-holding during reductions because safety first, but I just wanted to double check. Also, I started increasing in .5u increments on the way up at 5u, so now that we’re back under 5u, should I go back to adjusting in .25 increments? I decided on .5 since I’m at work today and can’t monitor, but can adjust tonight to 4.75u if I should have taken a smaller reduction. Thank you! And safe surfing, everyone. 😻
? - 4/4 Ember AMPS 342, +3 314, +4 274 Reduction amount?
 
Hi Elaine! The guidance in taking back-to-back reductions with SLGS appears sometimes to be (as the discussion I'm about to post states) more "art that science." Here is the discussion: Oregano 3/30. Pmps 183, +1 184, +2 139, +82.

She's still seeing higher numbers that you want to get down, but she did drop to 62 last night, which is not super low, but lower. Of course the 5.5 depot was still in play last night, so that could be driving the lower numbers.

BTW, I went back through your posts to look for food information and an answer to why you're following SLGS instead of TR. Is it a food issue--is she stuck on eating dry food??? I ask because if you can lower her reduction point (by switching to TR or by lowering the SLGS reduction point--which some folks do), you might be able to hold her at a dose long enough (and not take an earned reduction) and get those higher numbers down (notice she has been coming down--along with doing some bouncing).

Also, did you ever consider getting her tested for Acro/IAA?

Let's tag some folks with more experience in dosing @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee to see what they say.
 
Hi Elaine! The guidance in taking back-to-back reductions with SLGS appears sometimes to be (as the discussion I'm about to post states) more "art that science." Here is the discussion: Oregano 3/30. Pmps 183, +1 184, +2 139, +82.

She's still seeing higher numbers that you want to get down, but she did drop to 62 last night, which is not super low, but lower. Of course the 5.5 depot was still in play last night, so that could be driving the lower numbers.

BTW, I went back through your posts to look for food information and an answer to why you're following SLGS instead of TR. Is it a food issue--is she stuck on eating dry food??? I ask because if you can lower her reduction point (by switching to TR or by lowering the SLGS reduction point--which some folks do), you might be able to hold her at a dose long enough (and not take an earned reduction) and get those higher numbers down (notice she has been coming down--along with doing some bouncing).

Also, did you ever consider getting her tested for Acro/IAA?

Let's tag some folks with more experience in dosing @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee to see what they say.
That post is very informative. Thanks for sharing! My gut is telling me to stick to 5u for a while and give her a chance to respond to that and not lose all the progress we’ve made recently, but I’ll see what the experts say.
As for not switching to TR, it’s more my job than the food. I usually get home about +10.5, which means I can’t monitor her AM cycle 4-5 days a week so I’m worried I can’t safely do TR. I’ve been thinking about getting a libre (I had a chat with my vet about it yesterday, in fact) but the logistics seem pretty overwhelming. I had been planning to test for IAA/acro but then this recent string of good numbers happened, so I didn’t schedule it.
 
Back
Top