4/4 Tommy pmps 174, +13 231, +14 290 Dosing advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
:mrgreen:
Well, I haven't posted in a few days. I felt as if i was dragging you guys down. I was getting frustrated, but never fear, i'm still trying to take care of my boy. Tommy's SS is up to date and i don't want to get too excited about the blue, but it's hard not too :-D . This morning was the first dose at 8.5u and this is new territory for us with the Lantus. I know you all said it's not so much amps and pmps as it is nadir and to be honest, i thought by +9 he would be going back up already. I'm not sure what brought on the high red numbers on the 2nd other than the change in flavor of his food so i went back to the chicken feast.
My question being if his pmps number is well below 300 shouldn't i lower the dose?
And I have read the sticky about data ready to shoot low numbers, so if that's what i should go by, cool! I just didn't know with how stubborn Tommy has been if it applied to him also (ECID) ;-)
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

Oh, hey...don't EVER feel like you're bringing anybody down here!

and bumping your post for better eyes...

celi & binks
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

Im sorry I don't have any advice for you as I am dealing with dosage problems myself! I just wanted to wish you lots of luck finding that magic dose! Tommy is lucky to have you!
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

Hey guys!! I don't have any dose advice, but am giving your post a bump. Tommy is suspected/confirmed acro, right? If so, I think it would be helpful for you to put a note about it in your signature file. I know the rules are different for acrokitties (blues the goal, not green), so if that is always on your post, it will help the advice givers. Would also be good to have a note in your spreadsheet as well. :)

I just saw you were from Winfield. I grew up in Southeastern Iowa, and am fairly familiar with the areas in MO bordering the Mississippi. That drive on 79 from Elsberry up to Louisiana is on my list of favorite scenic routes.

Have a good evening!
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

niiiiiiiiiiice. :smile:

Let's wait and see what the number is before deciding on dose. Can you get a +11 or +11.5? A lot can happen in 3 hours. In general, it's fine to shoot the same dose at lower preshots than usual because the lower the preshot, the flatter the cycle will be.
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

We are all in the same boat here. The point of this forum is to have someone to lean on and get advice from. :-D
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

NO, Tommy is not suspected Acro.
And Elsberry is Beautiful Eagle country. I go up there every winter to photograph them.
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

Libby, I can definitely get a +11. or +11.5 whichever one. Hear my thought on shooting the same dose. I figured if he's only 200 or so when it comes time for the pm shot that at +5 or +6 when the insulin really starts to work that he might me in dangerously low numbers, but you are saying that's not how it works? Still learning! :smile:
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

no, usually the lower the preshot, the flatter the whole cycle is. That's why so many of us can eventually get away with shooting green preshots - when you do that, often the cat will just surf along in green numbers for the whole cycle. With Lucy, I always felt more nervous giving her shots when she was in the 300s because she could plummet from there. When I gave her a shot on a blue number, she usually surfed. It's one of the best things about using Lantus, once you get to that point.

Honestly, Tommy will probably bounce tonight because his body isn't used to these pretty blue numbers. If he bounces, you'll be really glad you shot the full dose. Just be forewarned that the +11 and +12 might be very high. It is normal for them to bounce high when they first start hitting lower numbers, but just hold the dose and the highs should clear out on their own.
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

At what point will there not be a bounce from shooting a new dose? I have to be honest i really don't understand if you give the same amt when the numbers are much lower how does that not make the numbers go that much lower? My goodness i'm confusing myself. I will let you know what the pm number is and we'll go from there. At least i got that much :smile:
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy amps 382,+5 214, +7.75 186, +9 165 Dosing adv

sometimes you have to see it yourself to understand it. Trust me, you're not the only one who has questioned that.

As far as how long it takes for bouncing to stop, each cat really is different. Some cats barely bounce at all, some unfortunately bounce for years (although bouncing for years is not as common, but some do). It's hard to tell this early in the game.
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy +9 165, +11 160, pmps 174 Dosing advice!

so Tommy is at 174? You have lots of high carb food with gravy and plenty of test strips? If so, and if you're able to monitor for a while tonight, then it looks like Tommy is surfing and it's ok to shoot surfs at this level. Then feed and get a +1 and +2 to see where he's going tonight.
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy +9 165, +11 160, pmps 174 Dosing advice!

i just gave 8.5 right now. same as this morning and just fed 3oz of his yummy ff..
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy +9 165, +11 160, pmps 174 Dosing advice!

good job. Now let's hope we see another nice cycle. :smile: See you at +1. I have a storm rolling in, but if I'm not here there are others watching.
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy +9 165, +11 160, pmps 174 Dosing advice!

And please get a +1 and a +2 so you have an idea where Tommy's numbers are going.
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy +9 165, +11 160, pmps 174 Dosing advice!

:RAHCAT Tommy! Squirrel! Wowwwwwwwww! Sooooo cool! I am soooooooo happy for you both!!
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy +9 165, +11 160, pmps 174 Dosing advice!

I will get the +1 and +2 guys. I haven't been sleeping very well for quite some time (not because of Tommy). Should i go ahead and get a couple more if i'm up or spare his ears?
And THANK YOU, THANK YOU for, well, just everything!!!
I pray for continued blue numbers all the way to green also.
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy +9 165, +11 160, pmps 174 Dosing advice!

I was just wondering, didn't i read in a post a while back that Lantus doesn't fully kick in until hour 3 and that there is almost always a spike in the first and second hour of them eating? Just thinking out loud. My brain is full of questions.
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy +9 165, +11 160, pmps 174 Dosing advice!

Typically you would see a food spike at +1 and some cats will also have a little bit at +2; a "typical" curve looks like this:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

BUT ECID and so you'll have to collect data to see what Tommy does. If he does come down at onset, I'd monitor until you get two rising numbers unless he stays fairly high. If he just keeps climbing, then he may be bouncing like Libby said he might. There are a bunch of us on the West Coast to check in and see how you're doing tonight. Nice shooting!! Oh....and it is hard to understand how they don't drop as far when their numbers are low but they don't...it's weird... :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/4 Tommy +11 160, pmps 174, +13 231 Dosing advice!

the biggest thing i'm learning is that it isn't all logical by my way of thinking. i didn't know that part that libby said about a higher pre-shot means it can drop lower. there's just a lot to learn and some of it does seem counter-intuitive.

btw, i got all excited at the mention of winfield - but i was thinking Winfield, Kansas. that's where my dad was from & i've been there lots of times. not the same winfield, sadly.

you're not bringing anybody down. i never thought that - we're all in the same boat. it helps a lot to know you're not the only one in the boat!

punkin is on a higher dose too - 7.25, although his came about because of a mistake on the syringes. you can look at his spreadsheet though to get an idea of those bounces that can happen. it might be interesting to you.
 
It appears as though Tommy doesn't fall into the "typical" curve. I sure was hoping he did. I didn't expect it to go up over 100 pts since his pm shot though. I will try to get a few more before morning if i can't sleep. Goodnight everyone!
 
Goodness, what i wouldn't give to have Tommy have Punkin's numbers. Looks like your doing a magnificent job with your kitty! ;-)
 
sorry I disappeared on you. This looks like the beginning of a bounce, so you're safe to go to bed. If you do stay up, you can get another test later on. Hopefully he won't go too high, but as I said, even if it he does it is normal at this stage. Nice shooting tonight!
 
That's quite alright, you need sleep too. Did that Storm come through yet.. Looks pretty bad southeast of me. Have a good night and thank you so very much again.
 
Aahhh...so Tommy did bounce...I wondered if he would. Just so you know, once you shoot, then you start over again with the time after the shot. So if his PMPS that you shot was 174, then the test one hour later would be +1, and two hours later +3. The only time we go into +13 or above is if we don't shoot.

Also..wanted to add that you aren't bringing anyone down. We're all here for each other and we're here to answer questions. I'm sure Libby would tell you that I have asked a gazillion questions...always something I'm wondering about and everyone has been incredibly patient and kind. So don't worry about us...we're all here to help each other! Have a good rest tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top