4/4 Jupiter PMPS-245/+2-232/+4-197 incr. dose -question plz!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92439

amps 311 -- Raised his dose from 1.5 to 1.75 today

jupiter wont eat i tried 2 different flavors of food - and even tried a FF appetizer. Should I try seafood? Maybe he isnt hungry because he ate prior to the shot? he will still usually eat something around the time of his shot (yesterday he was being a picky eater and only wanted seafood)

I am just worried about him not eating now with the increased dose
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311 incr. dose & questions plz

Seafood/fish is OK as long as it's not a big part of a cat's diet. See if he'll eat a little bit and if so, try mixing some of the seafood into a non-seafood variety.
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311 incr. dose & questions plz

just saw him eating some of the other food I left out so I wont mix in seafood this time. Thanks sienne
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311 incr. dose

how long before testing did Jupe eat? just wondering if this is food induced number or sometimes the high before a drop... nothing to worry about with what I just said. sometimes a cat goes high before he starts to see lower numbers. just a phenomenon we sometimes see
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311 incr. dose

Hi guys .. good luck with the new dose! I hope that jupiter keeps up his appy for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303 incr. dose

Dane put out food this morning around 6:30am (atleast thats what im assuming - I am trying to call him to find out) - I usually wake up around 8am and take the food away for an hour before the test. I didnt wake up this morning (shouldnt have taken nyquil last night) until 9:15 so I tested him and gave him his shot then. I am not sure when he ate - I know thats not helpful - sorry.

His shot was given at 9:21am this morning. I still did the +2 test at the normal time I usually do the test which was at 11am.
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303 incr. dose

Just heard back from Dane - he gave it at 7:30 am

We recently just started this -Dane putting out food in morning before he leaves to work. Before we were just putting out food and catsickles at about 11pm and then there were some mornings where all the food would be eaten - and the cats would go on the counters/try to get into the trash - so we decided if their plates were empty - Dane would give them some in the morning and then I would take it away around 8am - and then test at 9am.

Is this a bad idea?
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303 incr. dose

Just an FYI...

You don't want to feed 2 hrs prior to a shot. Feeding during that time window may inflate your pre-shot number. This isn't an issue right now but once Jupiter is in lower numbers, it can give you a false sense of security when shooting low numbers. In addition, some cats won't be all that hungry at shot time if you're feeding too close to when you really need them to want to eat.

Most of us test, feed, and shoot all within about 5 - 10 min.
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303 incr. dose

I edited my previous post before I saw your post Sienne.

Jupiter takes way longer then that to eat LOL He sits at his bowl a while and just takes bites every once in a while.. he is a slow eater most of the time
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303 incr. dose

If you're testing at 9:00, then I would pick up the bowls by 7:00. It's fine if Jupiter grazes after his shot. In many ways, that's a good thing. Grazing means he will go to his bowl if his numbers are low and by frequently eating small amounts, it won't put an unnecessary burden on his healing pancreas.
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303 incr. dose

Do you think to keep my other cats happy (so they arent on counters and trying to get into trash) that I should start waking up early and putting out more food -like at 6am? and then picking their bowls up at 7am? Im just worried about them getting into the garbage and things like that
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303 incr. dose

what sienne said...

anyway. you gotta figure out what works for all cats. normally a cat out in the wild, so to say, only eats 2 small meals a day and if they cannot catch a meal that day, they do not eat.

me thinks your guys are a bit spoiled LOL... I totally understand about them trashing the house. try a different garbage can or moving it someplace they cannot get to or tying the lid so they cannot get into it.
you are doing a great job.
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303 incr. dose

Good morning Jamie & Jupe! Looks like an ok start to the day. I wonder if it will take a few cycles to see improvements from the increase. I wonder if the feeding schedule is an issue. It sounds like your little kitties cause havoc in the house if there isn't food out at all times. Where's the kitty whisperer when you need them? :lol: Have you tried starting a post on the board asking for advice on a feeding schedule or what to do with a situation like yours? I have gotten into the habit of feeding Mego 3 small meals in the morning and at night if my schedule allows (about an hour and a half between each meal). If I have to go to work or get home late, that's when I leave out the catsicles for him and it seems to be working pretty well. I try not to feed him for several hours before I test him so I can get an accurate BG that isn't food influenced. You'll come across the same issue when Jupiter starts going into those lower numbers. My first instinct was feed a lot of HC to get his numbers up, but then it's really hard to know how carb sensitive he is and how he reacts.
Even though it might not seem like things are improving, they are! You're getting a lot of good info in these early weeks that will help you down the road.

I hope you have a good day and I'll check in later.

:RAHCAT LET'S GO JUPITER, LET'S GO! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303 incr. dose

they are spoiled .. too spoiled =[

Little Rosette has always been "bad"... She will run across the table and things like that right infront of me.. I yell at her to get down but she wont listen - I will squirt her with water - she doesnt care she will look right at the squirt bottle and just squint.. (the other cats will run from the squirt bottle - and they wont go on the tables right infront of me - but if I am sleeping they would) I really dont know what else to try to get her to behave a little better.
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303/+4-277/+5.5-250 incr. dose

This is probably a really dumb question - but someone mentioned cooking chicken and cutting it up for the cat as a treat. I am wondering how people normally cook it for the cat - boil , bake , etc?
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303/+4-277/+5.5-250 question

Vyktor prefers his raw.

Can you leave more food out at night so they don't run out or is someone there a bit piggy? Then Dane could just make sure he picks up the bowls to remove the food by 7am.
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303/+4-277/+5.5-250 question

I always leave a ton out - but they wont eat food if its not fresh enough - so by 7am the food is a little dried out and to let me know that they are mad and want more they try to destroy things.

I really dont wanna have to give them raw chicken right now. =[
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303/+4-277/+5.5-250 question

Little Rosette will also gorge herself sometimes... She will eat and eat and eat until she vomits all the food she just ate. She doesnt always do this but sometimes she does.
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter AMPS-311/+2-303/+4-277/+5.5-250 question

hmmm. you live in a wetter climate than I do.
I add 1 -2 tablespoons of water to the canned food (1/4 can) , and chop it up... and it rarely gets "crusty" .
In fact, I can usually just go add another tablespoon of food to it, and freshen it up....

and I'm in an extremely dry climate....
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter PMPS-245 incr. dose & question

even with the catsickles which have water added.. she will lick the water out and then thats considered dry after a few problems.. the biggest time this is a concern is when I am sleeping
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter PMPS-245 incr. dose & question

You may want to think about a timed feeder. That way, Rosette can't eat everything in the bowl all at once!
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter PMPS-245 incr. dose & question

Yep that sounds like the best idea. I will have to wait another few weeks though. Thinking about getting more then 1 .. if there is 1 she will still get it all lol - i will probably need 3 of them
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter PMPS-245/+2-232 incr. dose & question

is it okay for me to go to sleep now? do i need to test again tonight?
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter PMPS-245/+2-232/+4-197 incr. dose -question

So just took a +4(15 minutes early) couldnt sleep and for some reason I felt like I needed to test again before I went to sleep.

Although I am happy to see his numbers in the blue range and improving - I am really really nervous about the decrease.

Do I need to test again???

Very worried
 
Re: 4/4 Jupiter PMPS-245/+2-232/+4-197 incr. dose -question

How exciting! If you are worried, you can set an alarm and get a +7 to see if he is on the way up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top