4/4 Eddie PMPS 310, +2/292, +6/225

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/4 Eddie PMPS 310

Keeping all paws crossed here! :-D The +2 test is often a good indicator of how the cycle will go. A similar number likely means a normal Lantus cycle, a lower number means you might need to break out the coffee, and a higher number indicates a quieter cycle.
 
Re: 4/4 Eddie PMPS 310

Wendy&Neko said:
Keeping all paws crossed here! :-D The +2 test is often a good indicator of how the cycle will go. A similar number likely means a normal Lantus cycle, a lower number means you might need to break out the coffee, and a higher number indicates a quieter cycle.

Thank you! I will get a +2 to get an idea of where things might head this evening. :smile:
 
Re: 4/4 Eddie PMPS 310

i feel kinda excited - the Eddie show is beginning! :-D

Looking at his spreadsheet, i'm wondering why there's a cell in between the pmps and the units given? I see "% delta" in the top row - what's that? You are testing, then feeding and shooting all basically at once, right? No significant interval in between the pmps and the shot?

And you've got your head wrapped around the "don't change doses based upon preshots" unlike with PZI/Prozinc? You'll want to hold this dose for a few days (5ish) while the depot builds up inside Eddie's body. Then we'll be able to see if his dose needs adjusting. The protocol suggests testing every 3 hours while you're awake for these first days.

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.

If you have any questions, just ask.
 
Re: 4/4 Eddie PMPS 310

Thank you for the welcome Carla and Julie! :-D I'm excited too!

julie & punkin (ga) said:
ooking at his spreadsheet, i'm wondering why there's a cell in between the pmps and the units given? I see "% delta" in the top row - what's that? You are testing, then feeding and shooting all basically at once, right? No significant interval in between the pmps and the shot?

The "delta" column was my own addition when I first started working out a sliding scale on ProZinc to try evaluate the size of the drop between pre-shot and nadir. That data turned out to be not all that helpful in the bigger scheme of things, but I just haven't gotten around yet to deleting the column. :smile: Pre-shot test/food/shot is within a 15 minute time period, so no big gap between test and shot. I definitely like being able to figure out the dose and be able to get the insulin ready before testing and food. That's a change from the ProZinc where the dose depended, at least in part, on the pre-shot value.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
And you've got your head wrapped around the "don't change doses based upon preshots" unlike with PZI/Prozinc? You'll want to hold this dose for a few days (5ish) while the depot builds up inside Eddie's body. Then we'll be able to see if his dose needs adjusting. The protocol suggests testing every 3 hours while you're awake for these first days.

Yep! No more constantly tinkering with the dose and shot time, which is a positive in my mind. :smile: My vet suggested holding the dose for 10 days (I think she maybe meant 10 cycles), but I will look definitely be looking here for guidance as to when it's time to adjust Eddie's dose. As for testing, DH and I will be gone for a few hours tomorrow evening, but other than that, I'll be around pretty much the whole weekend to test as needed. The more data, the better! :smile:

If you have any questions, just ask.[/quote]

I'm sure I'll think of stuff to ask but for now, I'm just excited to see how Eddie responds! Our biggest struggle as of late with ProZinc was dramatic diving into the 40's one cycle, and then cycle after cycle stuck in yellow numbers. Seems like it may have just been a little to harsh for Eddie. Hopefully Lantus smooths that out a bit.
 
Re: 4/4 Eddie PMPS 310, +2/292

+2 = 292

Looks like a similar number to the 310 at pre-shot, so hopefully a "normal" lantus cycle? :smile:

Nice to see no big food spike!
 
Re: 4/4 Eddie PMPS 310, +2/292

might be. you'll know if it's the normal active cycle if he dips down slowly til he hits bottom somewhere around 4-7ish hours after the shot. some cats nadir as early as +3, but most of those seem to dive down after the shot is given.

he might not see a normal cycle until his depot builds up a bit. hard to say. he'll let us know after he's done it! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top