Re: 4/4 Eddie PMPS 310
Thank you for the welcome Carla and Julie!

I'm excited too!
julie & punkin (ga) said:
ooking at his spreadsheet, i'm wondering why there's a cell in between the pmps and the units given? I see "% delta" in the top row - what's that? You are testing, then feeding and shooting all basically at once, right? No significant interval in between the pmps and the shot?
The "delta" column was my own addition when I first started working out a sliding scale on ProZinc to try evaluate the size of the drop between pre-shot and nadir. That data turned out to be not all that helpful in the bigger scheme of things, but I just haven't gotten around yet to deleting the column. :smile: Pre-shot test/food/shot is within a 15 minute time period, so no big gap between test and shot. I definitely like being able to figure out the dose and be able to get the insulin ready before testing and food. That's a change from the ProZinc where the dose depended, at least in part, on the pre-shot value.
julie & punkin (ga) said:
And you've got your head wrapped around the "don't change doses based upon preshots" unlike with PZI/Prozinc? You'll want to hold this dose for a few days (5ish) while the depot builds up inside Eddie's body. Then we'll be able to see if his dose needs adjusting. The protocol suggests testing every 3 hours while you're awake for these first days.
Yep! No more constantly tinkering with the dose and shot time, which is a positive in my mind. :smile: My vet suggested holding the dose for 10 days (I think she maybe meant 10 cycles), but I will look definitely be looking here for guidance as to when it's time to adjust Eddie's dose. As for testing, DH and I will be gone for a few hours tomorrow evening, but other than that, I'll be around pretty much the whole weekend to test as needed. The more data, the better! :smile:
If you have any questions, just ask.[/quote]
I'm sure I'll think of stuff to ask but for now, I'm just excited to see how Eddie responds! Our biggest struggle as of late with ProZinc was dramatic diving into the 40's one cycle, and then cycle after cycle stuck in yellow numbers. Seems like it may have just been a little to harsh for Eddie. Hopefully Lantus smooths that out a bit.