4/30 Kole dosing advice

Sandy.Cuthbert

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone! Ever since I increased Kole to 6.25 units, his numbers aren't very good. Should we go back to 6.00? Or wait until the 7 days are up? Food hasn't changed and we pick up the other cats food when we can't monitor him, this includes at night. His food is the only one that's left down incase he wants it. Can someone please advise what we should do?
 
You do not decrease the dose because the bg is not where you want it to be. Please review the guidelines for SLGS. I’ll paraphrase though. A reduction is earned if the bg drops under 90. The dose is raised by .25 if the nadirs are over 150. If the hg remains as it is you would actually increase the dose.
 
From the dosing sticky:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
You do not decrease the dose because the bg is not where you want it to be. Please review the guidelines for SLGS. I’ll paraphrase though. A reduction is earned if the bg drops under 90. The dose is raised by .25 if the nadirs are over 150. If the hg remains as it is you would actually increase the dose.
Yes I get that but how high do we go? He's already at 6.25 units. I'm just saying he was doing better on 6.00 units. I'm sorry but very confused.
 
Has he been tested for other conditions like insulin resistance? I don’t necessarily agree that his numbers are worse. He got down to 140 and only up to 169 at amps. I think he might be bouncing when he has a string of blues. A cat needs as much insulin as he needs. I know it’s frustrating. :bighug:
 
Has he been tested for other conditions like insulin resistance? I don’t necessarily agree that his numbers are worse. He got down to 140 and only up to 169 at amps. I think he might be bouncing when he has a string of blues. A cat needs as much insulin as he needs. I know it’s frustrating. :bighug:
No I haven't taken him in yet to be tested. I'll be making an appointment for sometime next week if we can't get into the greens at all. Yes it's very frustrating! Especially since he won't eat his pate without the kibble and we've lost access to Dr elseys here in Canada for the time being.
 
Cats can be so stubborn. I take it he doesn’t like freeze dried? I was so lucky Max liked it. I bought human freeze dried turkey at first. Then he loved Stella and Chewy lamb.
 
Back
Top