4/3 Rusty #2 AMPS 483; +3 650; +6 587 (Trace Ketones); +6 661 (Trace/Neg Ketones) PMPS 568

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mandi your doing great! Yes that number is sure better than the black ones.
Once Rusty is off the dry food his numbers will surly come down lower. Can you test him for ketones?
Can I ask why you lowered the dose? With that high number he should be on 4u. Are you following either the SGLS or TR? I know you can't test at night but Lantus likes consistency. Lets see how he does today Usually when you lower the dose before he's earned the reduction his numbers will go higher and can also cause wonkiness.
Your looking for lower blue and higher green numbers. You'll get there. Are you able to leave food out for him at night? that isn't dry?
 
Mandi your doing great! Yes that number is sure better than the black ones.
Once Rusty is off the dry food his numbers will surly come down lower. Can you test him for ketones?
Can I ask why you lowered the dose? With that high number he should be on 4u. Are you following either the SGLS or TR? I know you can't test at night but Lantus likes consistency. Lets see how he does today Usually when you lower the dose before he's earned the reduction his numbers will go higher and can also cause wonkiness.
Your looking for lower blue and higher green numbers. You'll get there. Are you able to leave food out for him at night? that isn't dry?

This will be Rusty's 5th day on low carb wet food only. I'm following a modified SLGS but his situation is a little different because when he was surrendered to us he was on 12 units and high carb dry food. Then he got a URI and fell into DKA. We've had to sort of work backwards rather than start at 1 u and work up. The high numbers since the DKA are most likely from too high of a dose causing him to continuously bounce from what we suspect were lows at night (the invisible data with tidbits of evidence). My decision to jump on the diet change a little soon is also the reason for the decrease. I've been working with @Wendy&Neko and it was suggested to back off to 3.5 and see where that takes him. My situation is as complicated as dropping a necklace drawer, lol, at least for me!

I plan to get a ketone test today :) Off to update my signature about his diet!
 
It's a red and black kind of day...

Ketones were trace, thinking about doing fluids in about 15 minutes to flush him, even though he seems hydrated (skin test) and I've been adding water to each of his meals. It will be early enough in the day to maybe not mess with his preshot numbers too much?
 
I think fluids is a good idea to try to flush those ketones. How is his appetite today?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top