4/3/22 - KeyKey - AMPS 179/146

keykey

Member Since 2022
Previous Post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-2-22-keykey-amps-226.261486/

Just checking in with this mornings AMPS:

Again, I'm running/now have run, out, of test strips for my feline glucose meter. I had one left this morning, which I used for the AMPS: 179

I also used the ReliOn human meter I was recommended to pick up while I wait for new strips to arrive...the AMPS reading on that device was 146.

I shared my spreadsheet with @Bandit's Mom so that they could help make the changes in regards to using a human meter now. I'm still a little confused about all of that, but I'm sure I'll learn with your help over this coming week using the ReliOn meter.

So with these numbers, what would be the recommended dosage? These are the lowest numbers I've woken up to.

Yesterday's AM dosage was 0.5u, and the PM dosage was 0.25u. I haven't fed her yet (just about to, right after I enter this post) but I will test again with the ReliOn meter if necessary.
 
I presume you can get tests if you shoot? If yes, please go ahead and give 0.25U. We can increase the dose later if it isn't enough.
 
I presume you can get tests if you shoot? If yes, please go ahead and give 0.25U. We can increase the dose later if it isn't enough.
Yes, I can continue to test, but only with the ReliOn human meter now. Ran out of strips for the Cera-Pet meter I have been using. I will give the 0.25u as advised.
 
That's fine. Your SS has been modified to reflect a switch to a human meter. :)
I may just be clueless, but I don't see anything that changed?

I just got 120 for her +2

*EDIT: Oh, idk why but it wasn't showing the changes when I was refreshing the page. I closed and clicked back in and then it showed the changes.
 
So can I judge these numbers similarly to the previous meter? How exactly are they different?
 
*EDIT: Oh, idk why but it wasn't showing the changes when I was refreshing the page. I closed and clicked back in and then it showed the changes.
Yes, I added a new tab 2022 and you were still using the old tab. Sorry, I should have clarified that!

So can I judge these numbers similarly to the previous meter? How exactly are they different?
The human meter reads lower. There is no formula or method to compare/convert the readings. At these and lower levels, the difference is not a lot but can be quite significant at much higher levels.

I just got 120 for her +2
Please feed a little food and get a test at +4?
 
Yes, I added a new tab 2022 and you were still using the old tab. Sorry, I should have clarified that!


The human meter reads lower. There is no formula or method to compare/convert the readings. At these and lower levels, the difference is not a lot but can be quite significant at much higher levels.


Please feed a little food and get a test at +4?
Yeah, she's eating again right now. I have quite a few of these ReliOn strips (and they're cheap) so I might do a +3 if I can remember, but I'll definitely post the +4!
 
Can you feed a little and get a test at +5?
Yeah, I picked her up and placed her back in front of her food after getting that reading. She ate a little bit more, but not a whole lot.

I'll see if I can't get her to continue eating and I'll take another reading at +5.
 
Nice day for keykey!

As an FYI - once they've flattened out, started rising, or you know they're not headed for the danger zone (under 50 on the human meter), you can give yourselves both a testing break ;)
 
Would anyone be able to take a look at her levels as they were today, and kind of judge whether I should give 0.25 or 0.5 tonight?
Nice day for keykey!

As an FYI - once they've flattened out, started rising, or you know they're not headed for the danger zone (under 50 on the human meter), you can give yourselves both a testing break ;)
Okay yeah, I see what you mean by that. I was a little nervous switch over meters today, but looking at the data it appears she's had a fairly stable day.
I still have to do the PMPS, and she hasn't really eaten dinner yet (she snacked moderately throughout the afternoon), but what do you think I should do in terms of units tonight? Should I stick to that 0.25u or go up to 0.5u? I'm not really sure how to go about changing course or if it's necessary.
 
Would anyone be able to take a look at her levels as they were today, and kind of judge whether I should give 0.25 or 0.5 tonight?

Okay yeah, I see what you mean by that. I was a little nervous switch over meters today, but looking at the data it appears she's had a fairly stable day.
I still have to do the PMPS, and she hasn't really eaten dinner yet (she snacked moderately throughout the afternoon), but what do you think I should do in terms of units tonight? Should I stick to that 0.25u or go up to 0.5u? I'm not really sure how to go about changing course or if it's necessary.
Stay with the 0.25U for at least 7 days total (per SLGS you hold for a week then do a curve, but if you keep testing like you've been a curve won't be necessary) - unless she earns a reduction by dropping below 90. If that happens be sure to let us know so we can figure out next best step.

We're usually pretty good about noticing it's time for an increase since we're always opening spreadsheets daily, but be sure to ask at the end of the 7 days what the advice is
 
Stay with the 0.25U for at least 7 days total (per SLGS you hold for a week then do a curve, but if you keep testing like you've been a curve won't be necessary) - unless she earns a reduction by dropping below 90. If that happens be sure to let us know so we can figure out next best step.

We're usually pretty good about noticing it's time for an increase since we're always opening spreadsheets daily, but be sure to ask at the end of the 7 days what the advice is
Thank you for clarifying that for me. I will continue to do 0.25u and continue to update my spreadsheet, and will post again asking for guidance again at the end of the 7 days, or if she drops below 90.

You all have been so helpful to me. I really appreciate all your hard work and care each of you put into this website. My cat has been really worn out the last week or so that we've been doing this, but last night after her PM shot she started acting like herself again, being playful with her toys and cuddling up while I watched TV. I love my cat, and I love this site!
 
@FrostD @Bandit's Mom

Hey, real quick I just had a question. I accidentally left the insulin out of the fridge from about 10am until around 2pm when I noticed I left it on the counter. It's still good right? I'm reading online that it should be fine, but I'm also reading 28 days (unopened) refrigerated is okay. I'm not sure if they're conflating the two.

I'm assuming it's fine cause it was only out for a few hours.
 
Back
Top