4/29 Ella pmps 223 +1=207+2=185 +3=227

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55

Sorry, I just posted in your yesterday's condo :-D
I'm going back to bed for 20 minutes then.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55

Dyana, I did her test early as I thought if she was dropping I shouldn't wait too long! She just tested at 52.
Here's the deal: I shot at 6:40 yesterday so she has the capability of dropping even further. I think I should stall to see if she will drop. I hate to do it as she is starving and I hope she doesn't bounce from me not giving her food!
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55

She won't bounce from the not giving her food, if she bounces it's because her liver is not used to the lower numbers and it reacts to numbers her liver "thinks" are too low, and it puts out glucose.

Please update your Subject Line with the new test and that you are stalling.

Please, Do not give into the temptation to feed her, yet. I know it's hard. I once thought my cats were going to eat me for dinner, because I was stalling so long with J.D.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55

Dyana, Even if I get 50 I assume that it wouldn't warrant shooting .25 would it?
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55

No, truefully, I think you're going to be skipping this shot. But, let's see if she comes back up a little. I don't want to put your shot schedule off too much, either.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55

If, you skip, you can change your shot schedule to 5:45pm, or even 5:30pm, tonight, and then get yourself some more time in the mornings for testing before you have to leave for work. But, we need to give her a chance to see if she comes up first, so please hold off on feeding, her for a bit.
Please update the Subject Line on your first post to add the new test results and that you are stalling.
Is it time to test again, yet?
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55

ok my usual conversion calc is not working but found another one and she rose to 61 (3.4)

can't I dose her at .1?
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 +12 61 (stalling)

can't I move her back by 30 minutes tonight (one time deal)
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 +12 61 (stalling)

That's what I would do. Give her the 0.10, and feed her, and start with a test at +0.5 (that's 30 minutes after you shot).
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 +12 61 (stalling)

tpr said:
can't I move her back by 30 minutes tonight (one time deal)
It depends on her numbers. Let's see where's she's at tonight. Remind us, around +10 or so.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 +12 61 (stalling)

So did i just shoot a bcs? The dose was so teeny weeny! I hope I calculated it right. I left a tiny space between the 0 line and the plunger (maybe too small)
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 +12 61 (stalling)

tpr said:
So did i just shoot a bcs? The dose was so teeny weeny! I hope I calculated it right. I left a tiny space between the 0 line and the plunger (maybe too small)

That is how I usually see it. When I mesured my first one, I wasn't sure there was anything there, so i shot it onto my hand..sure enough the teeniest bit was there! You're right though, It is soooo hard to measure! Keep up the great work!
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 pmps= 61

Hi Val,

She didn't quite earn the reduction but I shot the .1u anyways. We'll see what she does with that today and tonight. She is an unreliable eater so I can't trust that she will eat her food when I'm at work. Not sure if we will be able to see what this new dose will truly do in a cycle but if it keeps her at decent numbers it may be just what we need while we're away at work:)

Lucy is on a serious mission! Ella and I are rooting for you gals:)
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 pmps= 61

Did she eat a good amount of breffis?

Please change the "pmps" to "amps" in the Subject Line when you get a chance (sorry, I'm a pain).

I would test again about now, if it's been 30 minutes since you fed and shot.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61

Hi Dyana,

You're such a pain! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ella ate well..she was starving! We're pretty close to +1 so should I just wait? She just had a nice poo and is cleaning herself.
I'm thinking I prob should have shot the .25 since she didn't technically earn the reduction but at the same time I'm curious to see what this new dose will do for her. Perhaps it's a safer dose to have her on for the week and if we have to increase we can do so next weekend.

ps: I wouldn't even know if I did a fur shot on this dose!
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61

I don't think we even know what her dose is. It was 1.00, then it was 0.75, then 0.50, then 0.25, with lots of skipped shots in between. I think you did right to shoot a reduced ("BCS" if you want to call it that) dose this morning, given her propensity to dive, and the low ps number. I'm proud of you.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61

You're right...for all we know she may need to go all the way back to 1!
I guess time will tell. testing in 10. Sorry to monopolize your Sunday morning. I hope you can get some more zzzz's
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61

tpr said:
Hi Dyana,

You're such a pain! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ella ate well..she was starving! We're pretty close to +1 so should I just wait? She just had a nice poo and is cleaning herself.
I'm thinking I prob should have shot the .25 since she didn't technically earn the reduction but at the same time I'm curious to see what this new dose will do for her. Perhaps it's a safer dose to have her on for the week and if we have to increase we can do so next weekend.

ps: I wouldn't even know if I did a fur shot on this dose!

If that's what you want to do, is reduce her dose to 0.10 for the week, you hold the syringe. Let's see if others have any suggestions or advice for you, before you make the decision final, okay?

I don't have a lot of experience with the micro doses, but when I give J.D. R insulin, I sometimes measure 0.10, and I always pull in about 1 or 2 units of insulin into the syringe, and then work out the bubbles, and if I am no confident that I got all the bubbles out, I start again by squirting the insulin in the sink and refilling it with a couple units and working the bubbles out. Once I'm pretty darn sure I have every bubble out and have some insulin without air in the syringe, then I squeeze out the insulin to measure my dose. It's takes a while longer sometimes, because of the extra need to make sure there is insulin and not mostly air in the syringe.
Then, when I shoot, I put the needle in J.D. and press the plunger, and keep the needle in him with the plunger pressed down the whole time, for a couple or 3 seconds, to make sure it all got in, and when I pull the needle out of him I am still pressing down on that plunger. That way any drops that are on the end of the needle aren't pulled back into the needle when you release the plunger. Sorry, if I'm confusing. I'm hoping to go back to bed, soon :)
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61

same number dyana! 61!
enjoy your bed a little longer. i will take a +2 but greg is here to support if we get low so enjoy your nap:)
thank you:) o:-)
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61

I sucked up more insulin and took all of the air bubbles out. My main concern was if I was measuring the .1 correctly. I may have shaved it off a bit.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61

Okay, but I would feed her a little bit (small amount) in 30 minutes. With a low 60 like that, I think I would test every half hour until she was surfing real nice for a while in the 70s or 80s.
Surf Ella
sporty41.gif


Good luck. I'll check in with you when I get up :)
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61

ok..will try and wake her from her slumber! greg is still sleeping and has no idea about last night's events. soon i get to tell him that he's on duty so i can have a nap!
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59

+2=59

Going to try and feed her in a bit to help her surf a bit.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61

Hi Tamara & Ella, and Greg,
Wow, another busy night. That Ella is on a mission! (This Ella is feeling better this morning; thanks for your concern.)

With the new 0.10 dose, you will really need to get all the air out of the syringe before drawing the insulin. Work the plunger a few times, then push the plunger all the way in forcefully and hold it there while you insert the needle into the insulin vial/cartridge. Let up on the pressure and draw out more than you need. Then slowly twist the plunger, expelling the extra insulin into a paper towel, until you arrive at your tiny dose.
(I find it easiest to hold the syringe vertical, with the needle pointing up, while twisting. This enables you to see and count the drops and is good practice for the counting-drops technique, should you want to try that route at some point. Let each drop form and run down the needle before twisting for the next drop.)

I think it's a good idea to hold the 0.1 dose all week (unless Ella decides otherwise :smile: ). It will give you peace of mind, and even if Ella runs a little high, shooting a consistent dose for a week will give you a good idea of how she is handling the insulin.

I'll be keeping an eye on Ella today. I hope it will be a good day for you and not a nail-biter!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59

Thanks for the advice Ella!
I just eyed out the amount this morning. I was under the water gun to get something into her and just copied what I thought I saw on the picture. Greg thinks eyeing the dose out is ridiculous and innacurate so we're going to count drops today. I still think that counting drops is innacurate as well as every drop has to be equal but it's probably better than just eyeing it up. DO you have any advice for counting drops consistently? I use the twist method which works well to get the air bubbles out.

I'm glad you're felling better:)

(((Hugs to you and Rusty)))
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59

Hi again,
I don't have advice about how always to get the drops the same size, but I think it helps to use a small-gauge syringe. I use the 31-gauge insulin syringes. I think this is the smallest gauge available for insulin. The 30-gauge and, especially, the 29-gauge syringes are too big. Not only are the drops larger, I think these larger-gauge syringes are more prone to air bubbles.
Many of us use the U-100 Monoject 31-gauge syringes with half-unit markings. But I'm not sure that they are available in Canada. Here's the link to them in American Diabetes Wholsale:
http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...t-ultra-comfort-insulin-syringes_2552_178.htm

Come on, Ella, surf!!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59

Thanks for the link Ella!

So I'm tickled pink that Ella is surfing and I'm trying to stay in the present here but I have a few concerns. Every time I have tested her in the last few hours I have given her some food. This is in turn is probably one of the factors contributing to her surf right now. I will not have this opportunity tomorrow and she generally needs to be kick started to eat. I'm not sure if I'm prepared to leave her without knowing what she will do.
She also likes her food warmed up and I'm wondering if it might help if I could keep a bowl of her food on top of a bowl with hot water to ensure it is warm. I imagine that this is probably not beneficial as it might encourage the bacteria to grow quicker but perhaps it's ok. FYI: she has never eaten any of the food I have left out for her when I'm gone. There is zero possibility of coming home to check on her tommorow. I realize I constantly re-hash this issue but I feel it's really important for everyone to consider as she is not like other kitters:) We already know that of course but I didn't want anyone to forget about her eating issues. Thanks so much!
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59

+4=97
She's on the rise. Might be from food, might be from less insulin,might be from a bounce...who knows?
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97

i would not leave the food on warm water. that's an invitation to food poisoning - and you don't need that.

can i bring up the possibility of taking her with you again? park her in the shade, run out and check her in between your classes. surely one of the other staff will understand your dilemma and cover for 1 minute while you race outside the school.

or can you borrow a dog kennel from someone today (post a request on facebook to borrow one from a friend?) and have her under your desk? get there early and no one will even know she's there, if you're lucky.

she's on her way off of insulin, the question is just day by day how to help her safely.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115

+5=115 I'm going to relax on the testing for the next little while.

Unfortunately we can't bring animals into the school due to health reasons. I have kids with severe allergies:(
To boot, my afternoon is very challenging as I teach children with behavioural issues and she would get spooked by them.
Ella is a very nervous traveller so I'm not too sure how she would do in the car but I can attempt to take her for a trial today. The only breaks I get are in the morning, at lunch and in the afternoon but I may be able to sneak out when my assistant is with me. She's on the rise right now and it will be interesting to see if the .1 will do the same thing for her tonight. If taking her in the car won't work, and this dose is a bit too low, would there be harm in keeping her a bit higher until next weekend when I can be around to monitor?
I'm concerned that being stressed in the car will just raise her bg's but that's WAY better than a hypo!
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115

I'm just getting up :)
I'm glad she came up a bit.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115

tpr said:
I'm concerned that being stressed in the car will just raise her bg's but that's WAY better than a hypo!
I think that's a good idea that Julie has, to take her to work and leave her in the car, as long as the spring weather is comfortable. I think once the car ride is done, she will settle down in the car, if it's parked in a quiet place.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115

Leaving her in a car might be feasible as a last resort and I know that people do this (especially with dogs), but all of the literature cautions against leaving an animal in a parked car. Even on cool days, it can get unbearably hot inside if the sun is out. If you feel you have to do this, please leave a window open a little, and make sure that you park in a shady spot. Leave lots of water in addition to food, and make sure that the food is not where the sun can shine on it. Personally, I think Ella would be better left at home in her familiar surroundings. Put out her food and hope for the best. Cats don't like their routines messed with!

Nice safe numbers so far. I wonder what Ella will decide to do??

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115

I definitely think she would be more comfortable at home. I know this is a no no question but are there any low carb dry foods that I could leave out as a back up emergency plan or would that just throw everything off?

I appreciate everyone's adveice and concern :smile:
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115

EVO Cat & Kitten dry food has 7% calories. This is what we fed Stu before switching him to wet food. He loved it.

But, as with all dry foods, it takes longer to go through the system.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115

Sorry guys, I would never leave Harley is a car, especially all day. Here in MN on a 50 degree day, my car can get into the 60-70 range during an 8 hr day. Now true, it is not close to 100 degrees, but still, it has to be uncomfortable. Also leaving the windows cracked could invite kids over to look and try to touch or pet Ella.

What about an auto feeder with some MC food it in. At least she can be at home.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115

ella & pattie, she's saying that ella won't eat at all if left at home with food.

i have dragged punkin with me all over the place and left him in the car parked under a tree or against a building. of course it's not ideal, but the risk in the car is if it gets too hot. as long as you are checking and your overall forecast seems cool, you have windows down a couple of inches and plenty of water, i think the risk of that is less than leaving her alone when she's like this. yes, under ordinary circumstances this is not a great idea - but you don't have ordinary circumstances and you're trying to figure out how to cope with a difficult situation.

what about Greg taking her? would his work situation permit a cat in a kennel?

no, i wouldn't give her dry food of any carb amount. you will likely be back where you were 50 days ago and starting over with the same problems you had before. diabetic cats who can be diet controlled are still diabetic and for the rest of their life, the only food for them is canned low carb. ask celi/binks about this!

a couple of other thoughts though - i have hired a vet tech to come in to shoot punkin. if you called your vet's office today, perhaps you could find a tech who would come and kitty-sit for you in prime diving time tomorrow to test and feed if needed. you'd have to pay, but at least you'd have coverage and be able to go to work.

if your vet's office hasn't got a tech, perhaps just calling every vet office in your town you would be able to turn up one.

there are also cat sitters who hire out for vacation coverage, and some of them would probably test & feed her for you.

the other thought is that there is one dose less than 0.1u. most cats don't need it, but we have had a couple that got a "fat 0" for a while. a "fat 0" is measured by squeezing everything out of the plunger, holding it in hard, putting the needle into the rubber stopper and into the insulin, then releasing the plunger. there will be a slight amount suctioned back into the needle.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115

I guess you guys are right about not leaving her in the car. I would be worried about the car heating up, too. And leaving the windows open reminds me of a cat I was taking to the vet once, a long time ago. He hated cars, and managed to get out of the cardboard carrier I had him in and before I knew it, he had made a leap for my window that was down about 2 inches. I was driving in traffic, hanging on to a tail with my wonderful cat on the other side of the window :shock: :o nailbite_smile They can get out of very small openings, as this was a big cat. Somehow, I pulled over and we made it fine to the vet, and he was happy and relaxed in the vet's office, and though his appointment, until we had to go back out to the car..he became like a wild cat and did not want to get back in that car. That was long ago, when I was young. Recently I was driving along with Ginger and she happened to step on the button that rolls down the window in the back seat. Be sure the window lock is on, if you ever do travel with her.
Maybe a vet tech will come to your house on their lunchhour to check her.
I have asked neighbors and friends to check on J.D. on occasion.
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115+8=14

+8=146

Thank you for taking the time to share your ideas. The weather here is warming up so I don't think the car idea will be feasible. I do have a cat sitter that I use but she only stays for 45 minutes at a time and right now it seems like Ella has to be monitored over a few hours to keep her out of trouble. We just moved into the neighbourhood a little while ago so we don't know that many people yet and the ones we do know have similar working hours. Greg is also a teacher so he can't take Ella with him either. I can't say that Ella won't eat on her own in a crisis situation but I do know that she needs lot's of encouragment and a kick start when I'm home. When she's super starving she has helped herself to a few licks but stops after a while. I can only hope that she would sort herself out. Getting her to remission is sure a lot of work! I could certainly do it in two months when my schedule was free for the summer but I worry about stalling for so long. So far it looks like this dose is keeping her in the blues. Maybe that will give me some time to hatch a plan and try and track doen a vet tech in my neighbourhood. I'm working on it:)

ps: if someone had to make a prediction of how long do they thought the whole process might take..until you know...the trial (antijinx)...what would be your guess?
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115+8=14

so seeing as she's rising, would it hurt to move the shot time back half an hour tonight? from 6:55-6:25? It would be great if I could also move it back 15 in the morning. If not, 2, 15 minute moves would get me to 6:25am
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115+8=14

HOLY COW!!!!!!!!

When Binks decided to get down to business, he tripped the light fantastic down the dosing ladder...
but Ella seems to be racing her way down!!!!!!!

holycow21.jpg
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115+8=14

Tell me about it!!!
I prefer to saunter but Ella has enrolled me in a serious race to the finish and I'm outta shape!
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115+8=14

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Many of us use the U-100 Monoject 31-gauge syringes with half-unit markings. But I'm not sure that they are available in Canada. Here's the link to them in American Diabetes Wholsale

I use the BD version of these syringes and I had to hunt all over town, even called the company to find out where to buy them! If you want, I can send you a package or two for you to try out. I found it a bit challenging at first, I think it was because of the shorter needle.

I'm not much help your other situation, I've only been at this since early March! Lucy is a good eater and generally doesn't need to be convinced to eat.

She sure is taking you for a dash to the finish isn't she :o

You're doing awesome though! Lucy and Ethel (our civvie) and I are rooting for you and Ella!
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115+8=14

Back when I started to attempt to shoot "1 drop", I discovered that my U-100 syringes didn't work well for this. I was actually shooting nothing at all :?. I was using the "fully compress syringe plunger, insert into insulin cartridge, release" method to pull in 1 drop. However, I still had leftover U-40 syringes, so I tried those, and they worked beautifully. They're wider/thicker, so apparently more suitable for this method. I never attempted to count drops, and like many others here questioned how accurate it was to trust eyeballing anything less than 0.25U based on the lines printed on the syringe barrel.

If you can get your hands on some U-40s, give it a try. I just checked and have a handful left, but hardly worth shipping that small amount to you. They are Ulticare 1cc 29 gauge x 1/2" if that matters.

MJ
 
Re: 4/29 Ella +11=55 amps= 61+1=61+2=59+3=67+4=97+5=115+8=14

does it seem like I can move my shot time back 30 minutes today?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top