4/29 AMPS 75..4/28 AMPS 77, (NS) / PMPS 205..lower dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TigzMom

Member Since 2015
Hi all
Have a question. Just lowered Tiggy's dose as of this last weekend. I'm very new to this, but from what I understand, the slow-go protocol, it says not to lower the dose for 1 week. Yet, both today's AMPS (75) and yesterday's AMPS (77) were under 90, so I didn't give an inj for fear of hypo.
I gave the PM inj, as Tiggy's PMPS last night was 202. He did eat this AM. And his BG rose yest during the day.
Thoughts?
 
You were right not to shoot. That should drain the depot so you will be able to see if the new dose is a good one. If it's depot you don't want another reduction so soon but I will leave that one to the dosing advisors.
 
Looks like Tiggy is responding well to the Lantus. :) You are right, Tiggy has earned a reduction down to 1.5 unit. The SLGS method says to wait a week, unless you see an under 90 number. From the SLGS Sticky:

Hold the dose for at least a week
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) if kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
Sounds good. The vets office did call me back as I called them as well as I just wasn't sure what to do for tonight. The vet wants me to decrease Tiggy from 1.75 (x 2) to 1 unit (x 2), with the hope that this will level out his BG in the AM, since his AMPS has been below 90, [77 & 75] for 2 consecutive AM's in a row. But, have a concern that this is too much of a decrease. I certainly don't want to drop too quickly and then have to go back up.
 
If he's still in a shootable range tonight, going down to 1.0U is definitely an option. It's best to find a dose you can shoot both AM and PM. It's also much easier (and safer) to start with a lower dose and work your way up. Tiggy did start with a larger dose than what SLGS suggests. It says 0.5 unit if the cat is eating all try food and 1.0 unit if eating some dry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top