4/28 mocha pmps 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13069

WCR: was pretty quiet this morning. Stayed on her stand even after the door to the bedroom was opened. At least she isn't high yellow today and hopefully we will see more action again.

Each time we give mocha a shot, she screams out in pain. Ok, I can't say it is every time, but I can say easily it is 8 times out of 10 that she yelps. I don't know if we are giving her shots wrong or not because no matter where we give them to her at, she yelps. I tell peter I'm pretty sure no other cat's yelp like that cause no one has ever mentioned that on here, but she does it soooo consistently, it makes me think we are doing it wrong almost every time. Do any of the other cats on here yelp at shot time? This is not anything new, she has done this pretty much right from the start.
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

Tuscany yelps once in awhile - but not usually. Where do you give Mocha her shots and what gauge needle do you use??
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

Good morning, Mocha & Devon!! Wishing you a fabulous day with an action packed cycle!! Goooooo Mocha!!
**Shot Question** Baby never yelped out, so I would say maybe it does hurt her? I would want others to chime in too, but the syringes I used are so small, Baby never even felt it - or if she did, she sure did not act like it. I learned how to test BG, by watching this video BG Testing, I thought this guys video was great & Baby was as unphased as this cat. Also, I used these syringes, I looked at this on Insulin Injection :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

we give mocha her shot on her left side, back by her hip area. Every once in a while, we do rotate her and give her a shot on the right side, but for whatever reason, peter has a really hard time giving her a shot on that side. We don't know why, but it takes us a good 5 minutes longer to get the shot in on that side, and she is fighting us while we do it as well.

We buy our syringes from wal mart because those were the cheapest ones we could fine, and the box reads 3/10ml/cc, 31 gauge, 8mm (5/16") short needle. They are the relion brand.

I don't know if it is mocha just being mocha, because she usually starts to growl as soon as she is picked up for her shot time, and it only gets worse the longer it takes, or if the shots really do hurt her. She is so vocal all the time, I dont know when to know when something is wrong or if it is just her!
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

Aww, sorry to hear that Mocha yelps! Pagan yelps sometimes too. When I first started giving him his shots, he barely seemed to notice, but after about a month of shots, he started yelping. He tries to bolt, as if he's terrified, but I'm pretty sure I'm not hurting him that much, if at all. It makes shot time stressful, because if he jumps, he's likely to bend the needle and/or make me need to stick him again. To stick him, I grab a bit of scruff, part the hairs so I can see the skin, and make a short quick poke. I would also be open to any "technique" pointers if I'm doing something wrong.
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

http://hocks.com/Merchant5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=A740030 I was using the relion brand that we sell at the clinic where I work but they are a larger gauge and someone on this board suggested these to me and I have switched I like them so much better very fine short needle and Do Lou does not even notice his shot now before he sometimes would jump on occasions so you may want to think about switching syringes. Do Lou sits very still for his shots now but when I used the larger needles he did sometimes jump off and on but he never yelped.
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

Can you just shoot Mocha where she is? Meaning, do not pick her up & make an ordeal of it? I would just walk up to Baby where she was sitting/laying show her the syringe (as to not surprise her) then shoot, all happened in a matter of 30 seconds. If it is talking up to 5mins for Peter to shoot - I suspect she feels the stress. Are you both with her? I always did it alone. I would try shooting her on the side of the shoulder/chest.
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

You are using the finest gauge needles available and the shortest so it's not a matter of the needle. Have you tried scruff shots? I think it's much easier to hit muscle in the flank than it is in the scruff. The couple of times I tried a flank shot, Gabby was very uncomfortable with it and yelped. I find a scruff shot much easier and I'm shooting while her face is in her food bowl. FWIW, I tend to shoot on one side primarily. I'm left handed so it's easier for me to grab the scruff with my right hand and I shoot on Gabby's left side.

Liadh & Pagan said:
Aww, sorry to hear that Mocha yelps! Pagan yelps sometimes too. When I first started giving him his shots, he barely seemed to notice, but after about a month of shots, he started yelping. He tries to bolt, as if he's terrified, but I'm pretty sure I'm not hurting him that much, if at all. It makes shot time stressful, because if he jumps, he's likely to bend the needle and/or make me need to stick him again.

Liadh -- Do not re-shoot. You have no idea how much insulin actually got where it's supposed to go. Unless you deliberately shoot insulin into the air, never give a second shot. You risk overdosing your cat.
Devon - sorry to hijack your condo but Liadh doesn't have one today (so far)
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

Nice amps number, Devon. I hope you get to see some blue today. We use the exact same syringes you use and Blackie rarely even flinches. But we shoot a little more forward than you do. When I tried to shoot near the flank, Blackie gets very mad. Try moving the injection site more forward towards the belly than the flank and see if its better. Somewhere I saw a website that showed where to shoot - I'll see if I can find it.
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

Clarification: I don't re-shoot, I re-stick. IE, he moved before I even pushed the plunger. I never go back and get more insulin from the bottle. Don't worry, I'm just as worried about over-dosing my cat as you are! ;-)

Sorry for the hijacking, thought I was just contributing to the conversation. I don't bother with a condo on days when I work, since I'm only able to do an AMPS and PMPS. :oops:
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

thank you everyone for your suggestions. I did check out the syringes on the site you posted lisa, but with shipping and the price difference of the needles, they would come out close to 10.00 more then what we are already paying. After checking out the site ele sent me, we are definitely shooting mocha in her flank area. Now the scruff area is confusing me. Is that right on the back of her neck? like if she was sitting in front of us, would it be in the center of her neck, or off to one side? It is hard to tell in the picture.

Yes, it does take both me and peter to give mocha her shot. In the beginning we tried just doing it one on one and let's just say there was a lot of sweat and tears before the shot went in, if it did go in at all. I have to hold mocha in my arms, with her head under my chin, and my arms wrapped over her front paws, while my other hand holds down her back feet. Then peter stands in front of us and shoots the needle. As soon as it goes in she yelps and wriggles up and out of my arms. This is an every single day, twice a day routine. I cannot even imagine just being able to give mocha her shot while she eats, like so many people on here do.
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

For a long time Tess was an angel about shots, lately she tries to move away. We've been using a variation of the clothespin technique. What we do is DH gets a firm hold on the scruff, this calms cats down like a momma cat picking up a kitten. She settles down and starts purring. Then I shoot just behind the shoulder, switching sides every time. I've never actually tried the clothespins, but you just clip them on the scruff if you have to shoot alone.http://www.felinecrf.org/giving_sub-qs_syringe.htm#clothes_peg_trick
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220, shot question

I always gave Max his shots in the scruff. He's sensitive about his sides and hind quarters and will bite and/or move if I tried to shoot him there. I also gave his shots while he was eating--usually he never seemed to notice, tho towards the end he would start trying to object. I never really gave him time to object if I could--just walked over, pulled up his scruff, and stuck the needle in. He did whine a few times when I did it tho, probably because the needle wiggled after it was in because he moved. Oh, and because I'd move the shot location around on his scruff, I did notice he was more vocal about it when I moved farther back (towards his shoulders) from his neck, especially if I was near his spine. I think they have more nerves there.

I have to agree with the previous post...if you can find a way to do it where she is (like while she's eating) rather than having to pick her up and take her somewhere and make a production of the shot, she'll be less likely to notice and/or object.
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220 +4 133

yea!!!! Two blue days in a row .. wooo hooo!!

We have tried to give mocha her shot while she was eating, but it was a no go. She knows full well what we are doing and takes off like a bat out of you know where. Then the game is on! She isn't the type of cat to sit there and take her shot like a big girl unfortunately. Of course I can't blame her. I have a history of passing out when giving blood soooo .. like momma like mocha I guess! :lol:
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220 +4 133

I forgot about the clothes pin trick. There were several people on the PZI ISG that tried it and it worked. I think Sarah was one of those.
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220 +4 133

Hi Devon and Mocha! First of all, great numbers!!!! Second, I started out giving Scrabble shots in his flank and he didn't like them that much but never yelped. I had to change when he developed his absess and I started shooting him in the shoulders. I shot right above his shoulder blades. I had a way easier time with this area. I kept a chart of where I shot him so I would shoot in a different area every time and always rotated sides. As with humans, cats can develop scar tissue from being poked in the same area all the time and it gets tender for them so that could be why she yelps. I found the shoulder area easy because I could go behind him and give him the shot quick. I was never successful with the feeding/shot thing either. Hope this helps. Great numbers for you guys today. Gooooo Mocha!!!!
 
Re: 4/28 mocha amps 220 +4 133 +7 102

I wish I would have been able to check sooner, but unfortunately I had to have my brother come over because my stove/oven started acting all crazy and I had no idea what was going on. With all that going on, I didn't get a chance to check mocha, so she might have gone much lower then this and is on her way back up. I really hope she didn't bomb out and I didn't catch it.
 
thanks lynn, for that coupon! Already printed it ... glad to see she didn't sky rocket at her PMPS, but unfortunately there is a chance of a furshot tonight :YMSIGH: we will see!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top