Christie & Ebony
Member Since 2017
Hi, there,
Ebony was diagnosed at Thanksgiving 2017. We started Vetsulin in early December, and switched to Lantus in Late January. After bouncing all over the place for a while, Ebony finally settled on the beach this month (April 2018) at 2.25U. We're doing SLGS, using AlphaTrak 2 monitor with AT2 strips, and currently in the process of switching from Purina DM to Friskies pate (1 spoon Friskies added to the DM, in bigger & bigger spoonfuls). He earned .25U reductions on 4/12, 4/13, 4/15, 4/17, 4/24, 4/25, & 4/26. Yesterday (4/27) morning we were at .25U, and yesterday evening he earned another reduction with a BG of 83, so we decided to try an OTJ trial and didn't give him insulin. This morning (4/28) his BG was 129. We didn't shoot. This evening his BG is 184. So, since his BG is rising without insulin, does that mean we stop the trial and give him insulin for a while? What about when his BGs drop again? The SLGS sticky doesn't talk about OTJ trials and what to do, so I'm confused.
Thanks,
Christie
Ebony was diagnosed at Thanksgiving 2017. We started Vetsulin in early December, and switched to Lantus in Late January. After bouncing all over the place for a while, Ebony finally settled on the beach this month (April 2018) at 2.25U. We're doing SLGS, using AlphaTrak 2 monitor with AT2 strips, and currently in the process of switching from Purina DM to Friskies pate (1 spoon Friskies added to the DM, in bigger & bigger spoonfuls). He earned .25U reductions on 4/12, 4/13, 4/15, 4/17, 4/24, 4/25, & 4/26. Yesterday (4/27) morning we were at .25U, and yesterday evening he earned another reduction with a BG of 83, so we decided to try an OTJ trial and didn't give him insulin. This morning (4/28) his BG was 129. We didn't shoot. This evening his BG is 184. So, since his BG is rising without insulin, does that mean we stop the trial and give him insulin for a while? What about when his BGs drop again? The SLGS sticky doesn't talk about OTJ trials and what to do, so I'm confused.
Thanks,
Christie