? 4/28 Ebony OTJ trial started 4/27 PMPS 83, 4/28 AM 129, PM 184

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Ebony

Member Since 2017
Hi, there,
Ebony was diagnosed at Thanksgiving 2017. We started Vetsulin in early December, and switched to Lantus in Late January. After bouncing all over the place for a while, Ebony finally settled on the beach this month (April 2018) at 2.25U. We're doing SLGS, using AlphaTrak 2 monitor with AT2 strips, and currently in the process of switching from Purina DM to Friskies pate (1 spoon Friskies added to the DM, in bigger & bigger spoonfuls). He earned .25U reductions on 4/12, 4/13, 4/15, 4/17, 4/24, 4/25, & 4/26. Yesterday (4/27) morning we were at .25U, and yesterday evening he earned another reduction with a BG of 83, so we decided to try an OTJ trial and didn't give him insulin. This morning (4/28) his BG was 129. We didn't shoot. This evening his BG is 184. So, since his BG is rising without insulin, does that mean we stop the trial and give him insulin for a while? What about when his BGs drop again? The SLGS sticky doesn't talk about OTJ trials and what to do, so I'm confused.
Thanks,
Christie
 
I haven’t had a chance to look over your spreadsheet, but if I am understanding your post correctly you went from 0.25 units to no insulin. I made a similar mistake with Gizmo. I went from 0.25 units to a drop. But actually it goes 0.25 to 0.1 and then a drop. I’m also using an AT2 meter and that makes things a bit trickier. For me I decided that anything over 120 was a number I needed to think about, but that is just me. Nothing written in the stickies about this. Also another thing you might try is a snack later in the cycle (around +9). That helped bring Gizmo preshot numbers down. But honestly I would probably think about trying 0.1 units and then a drop to ensure a stronger remission.
 
Hi Christie. I would say Ebony is close, but maybe not quite ready for an OTJ trial yet. He's now above the normal range on the AT. We find it helps to give them insulin, as long as safely possible. If you look at the Sticky Note on Lantus/Levemir and Fine Doses, you'll see a picture of 0.1 units. I think you should try that dose next. For more information on reductions and starting OTJ trials for both dosing methods, check out this post. Note that the post refers to numbers on a human meter.

I would also recommend you try getting some mid cycle tests when you resume insulin. SLGS calls for doing a curve every 7 days, but also suggests getting spot checks. You really do want to know how low he is getting in the cycle. Even getting a before bed test is informative if you can't test during the day.

Glad to hear that Ebony is feeling so much better. :) I like the suggestion above about the small meal. Gizmo's spreadsheet is a a good example of what to look for using the AT.
 
Hey there and so glad that Ebony is responding well to Lantus. I agree with Wendy, that he needs some more support. You got that 184 tonight and if he were my kitty, I would go with the .10 unit and then to a drop before taking him off the juice. So close......you don't want to set him back.
 
Thanks, everyone. I could never find anything showing the fine doses, except for the one about using the micrometer. The picture was really helpful. Ebony just about free-feeds, so he's getting food around +3 most cycles. I took the advice and gave him .1, now that I know what it looks like. We'll use that for a while and then down to a drop when he earns it. I'll try to get more tests, now that the box of strips came in the mail.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top