4/28 Dimi - AMPS 76, +2 73, +4 113, +6 163, +10 195, +11 90 , PMBG 73 , +1 LO/*77, +2 100

Bobbi Kraham

Member Since 2022
Good Morning, I need some quick help with dosing this am. We're on day 6 of TR. Dimi had a day of blues on 4/25 and then bounced. He cleared his bounce overnight, but is at AMPS 76. His Libre graph also shows a brief drop under 50 about an hour ago. I was supposed to increase by .25 today, but not sure what to do now. He's due for his shot within the next 1/2 hour. I'm assuming I don't want to increase, but not sure if I should even give him a shot. Need advice soon please. Thanks.

@Wendy&Neko @FrostD @tiffmaxee @Chris & China (GA)

Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...7-303-9-330-tr-next-step.262564/#post-2943050
 
Can you test if you shoot? With TR you can shoot any number over 50 - if you can monitor.
The Libre sometimes gives wonky readings and you want to verify those readings with a human meter. I would hold the dose.

If his AMPS us 76, why is shot due in another half an hour?
 
79FD2601-8DA9-46DE-8168-D430A1AE8DD6.png

Can you test if you shoot? With TR you can shoot any number over 50 - if you can monitor.
The Libre sometimes gives wonky readings and you want to verify those readings with a human meter. I would hold the dose.

If his AMPS us 76, why is shot due in another half an hour?
I can test because I'm working from home today. Shot is due now but I understood that I could delay by half an hour if necessary.
 

Attachments

  • 79FD2601-8DA9-46DE-8168-D430A1AE8DD6.png
    79FD2601-8DA9-46DE-8168-D430A1AE8DD6.png
    94.3 KB · Views: 208
I can test because I'm working from home today. Shot is due now but I understood that I could delay by half an hour if necessary.
Go ahead and shoot. Do not fill him up in case you need him to eat a little every hour or so.

Yes, a delay of 30 mins does not affect your future shooting schedule. I thought you normally shoot 30 mins after taking the AMPS/PMPS :-)
 
Sorry, one more question....according to TR guidance, I was due to increase by .25 units today. I held at 1.5 units due to a green AMPS. Should I hold at 1.5 units for PM shot? If so, when should I increase?
 
Yes, stay with 1.5u. Give it another couple of days to see where he lands after any bounce has cleared. If he drops below 50, he earns a reduction. I would cross check and Libre lows with a meter.
 
A favour to ask, could you change you subject line to give us the latest numbers and remove the ones before AMPS. That way a quick glance doesn't show the "help pls" cause it looks like Bhooma was already it to the rescue. We like to scan the subject lines to see who needs help.

Nice shooting today, good to see those greens!
 
A favour to ask, could you change you subject line to give us the latest numbers and remove the ones before AMPS. That way a quick glance doesn't show the "help pls" cause it looks like Bhooma was already it to the rescue. We like to scan the subject lines to see who needs help.

Nice shooting today, good to see those greens!

Yes! How do I change the subject line? It looks like I can edit text in a post, but can't figure out how to change the subject.

Very happy to see the greens, but have to admit, I was quite nervous to shoot this am!
 
PM dose is due in about a half hour and his BG has dropped to 90. His nadir seems to be right around shot time. Should I proceed with full PM dose (1.5 u)? I hardly slept last night, so definitely need to get some sleep tonight.
 
You shot a 76 this morning and it worked out well. Remember the drops aren't as big when you shoot low - shoot low to stay low. It actually looks like it held down a bounce.

If you have hypo kit and monitor, I say shoot!
 
Well I believe he should be getting a reduction because he dropped below 50 on the graph. One suggestion I was given while using the Libre is to always put the lowest test shown on the graph, even if it wasn’t a scan I did. That way anyone looking at Max’s SS would see that number.
 
You shot a 76 this morning and it worked out well. Remember the drops aren't as big when you shoot low - shoot low to stay low. It actually looks like it held down a bounce.

If you have hypo kit and monitor, I say shoot!
Yikes, it's so nerve wracking. I was up most of last night and really need to get some sleep tonight. Still shoot?
 
If you're able to test as often and as long as may be possible tonight and have plenty of strips, various types of foods, Karo/honey/syrup, I'd stick with the 1.5U dose just like you did this morning.
 
Well I believe he should be getting a reduction because he dropped below 50 on the graph. One suggestion I was given while using the Libre is to always put the lowest test shown on the graph, even if it wasn’t a scan I did. That way anyone looking at Max’s SS would see that number.
I wondered about a reduction b/c of that brief drop below 50 on the Libre. I've reduced in the past based on similar low Libre readings and didn't make any progress, so not sure.
 
Yikes, it's so nerve wracking. I was up most of last night and really need to get some sleep tonight. Still shoot?
That is up to you. I suspect it will be a busy night BUT this is how progress is made. Not being judgy or critical, just stating that this is the way to keep holding him down from the bounces you hate.

If you need sleep you can shoot a token (something like 0.5U) but that restarts cycle counts, and you still have some depot in there so you're not completely off the hook tonight
 
I was up most of last night and really need to get some sleep tonight.

If you really need to sleep tonight, you're only option would be to skip because even giving a token dose wouldn't necessarily mean you'd be able to get to bed at a decent hour because the depot is still in play.

If you skip, or give a token dose, the 6 cycle "shot clock" starts over
 
I wondered about a reduction b/c of that brief drop below 50 on the Libre. I've reduced in the past based on similar low Libre readings and didn't make any progress, so not sure.
I see Bhooma's advice was to hold. I'm not sure I believe that red line on the graph. It doesn't quite fit in with the data after it. I don't think she dropped all the way below 50 and came back up to 120 in an hour, only to dip again
 
If you really need to sleep tonight, you're only option would be to skip because even giving a token dose wouldn't necessarily mean you'd be able to get to bed at a decent hour because the depot is still in play.

If you skip, or give a token dose, the 6 cycle "shot clock" starts over
If I skip, and restart the 6 cycle shot clock, do I stick with 1.5 units?
 
That's a more current graph. Ugh, not sure what to do. Really want to make progress, but I only got 3 hours of sleep last night.
Yeah I definitely don't believe that first red line, it really doesn't fit a normal cycle pattern or the other data. Libres are known to be inaccurate in the lower numbers.

This is the "fun" part - totally up to you, it's what works for you and him. He'll recover eventually in a few cycles, it's just an opportune time to help hold him down.
 
If I skip, and restart the 6 cycle shot clock, do I stick with 1.5 units?

Yes. Maybe...and it's really important when you get low numbers on the Libre that you re-check with a regular meter. We've seen a lot of "LO"'s on the Libre that were re-checked on a meter that were in the upper greens/low blues.

Need to know what the meter says, not the Libre if you can get a quick test for us
 
I agree with Melissa....I don't think he really dropped below 50 so didn't earn a reduction.

If you need to sleep, just skip tonight and start the 6 cycles tomorrow at 1.5...if he really needs a reduction, he'll prove it
 
What would you do?
I would shoot. But it's not exactly a fair comparison - I'm used to broken sleep and done this a lot before.

But another thing to consider that on a night like this, it's far worse if you set an alarm and don't wake up for it. So if you're that tired, don't think you'll wake up for alarms and accidentally fall asleep - skip. He'll get back on track, there will be other opportunities. Just check ketones with the fairly recent DKA.

I would still get a +2 or +3. He's flat right now, just want to make sure it stays that way/goes up a bit before calling it a night
 
Back
Top