4/28-4/30 Hershey TID? We're thinking - yes

Status
Not open for further replies.
You can start your schedule tonight and shoot at +9.15--which would be at 12:15 am or start tomorrow at +13:15 which would be 4:15 pm. Even though it would be good to start with a lower preshot...by shooting at +9:15 tonight-- I think I would rather start it when there are people awake, online and a cycle that you can test throughout. If you decide to start at 4:15 tomorrow, I would probably split the difference in the two cycles and shoot tonight 40 mins late..at 3:40 am and tomorrow
35 mins late at 4:15-- that would reduce the long cycle tomorrow a little.

Another option would be to shoot on 10 hour cycles for a few days and back your way into the 8:15 shot time--but, it will be more complex and take longer to start. But, it is an option. It would look like--- 3 am Tues am, 1 pm Tues pm, 11 pm Tues Pm, 9am Wed am-- --(8:30ish we can make this work).... on Wednesday morning start the 8 hour cycles and go from there,

What do you think?
 
Sorry, I can tell I'm getting sleepy, because it's getting harder to wrap my head around this...

You've got me kind of hesitant to go for it at 12:15am...So, if we do the 10-hours to work our way to it...Test at each +5? And, what about feeding? Well, I guess we'd feed at +5, too...

So -
SHOT TEST
Tues 3am 8am
1pm 6pm
11pm 4am

Then, start the 8-hour cycles? And, should we test +4 & +6 initially? If so, how long do you think?
Wed 8:15am
 
On your first 10 hr cycle...tonight..... I would just test at +6, like you have been doing--since nothing is changing with the first part of the cycle, you are just shooting 2 hours early tomorrow morning. Then tomorrow when you shoot at +10, your first cycle after shooting 2 hours early -- I would get a +2 on that cycle to see if it appears that you shot into any residual insulin from the shorten 10 hour cycle. I actually would test every 2 hours on this cycle, just to see if anything wonky is happening with the two hour early shot. This might actually be a good primer and give us good data before going to 8 hour cycles...... it would show us what shooting into the +10 number would do and if it appears there appears to be any overlap at 10 hours.

So, shoot tonight at 3 am .. test at 9 am tomorrow and feed, like you have been doing.......then test and hopefully shoot at 1 pm tomorrow and test every two hours of this cycle...you can feed anytime before +6. Then test and shoot at 11 pm... test at +5 and +8 (rising number check and maybe not feed this cycle?) and then start your schedule at 8:15 am on Wednesday-- if all things fall in place!!

We will be here to help you......one cycle at a time!

I would shoot according to your scale tonight....but, once you start actually shooting the 10 hr schedules and/or 8 hour schedules, I would be conservative. You can always increase once you get on schedule and more data.

What do you think?
 
I think I'd ride it out tonight until the 12:15 and call it a start, if you haven't already... or split the difference between now & then.

Good luck! Hoping Hershey doesn't throw you any curves... now even MORE opportunities to do so!!! :lol:
 
(cleansing SCREAM) - Okay - now I'm ready. :-D

So, if I:
test/feed/shoot at 3am. Test 9am (+6)
test/feed/shoot at 1pm (+10). Test +3, +5 (feed), +7, +9 (10pm)
test/feed/shoot at 11pm (+10). Test +5, +8 (7am) (NO FOOD)
test/feed/shoot at 8:15am (+9.25)

So, if I should be conservative on 10 or 8-hr cycles, that means starting at 3am, right? because that's a 10-hour cycle. So, you're saying less than the .5u that Carl said (because regular dose would be ~.6u TID) or are you agreeing that .5u is about right?
 
YES! :lol:

On your first cycle tomorrow...after the shorten 10 hour cycle, I would get a test in before +3....maybe +1.5 to be sure there is nothing wonky going on.....it should protect you in the event there was any residual insulin from the previous cycle. Then we can go from there....we might need to test more on the third 10 hour cycle....our data will tell us!

Also...your 7 pm needs to change to 7 am on your schedule for Wednesday morning! I feel very comfortable helping you set up tid, but I am not as comfortable with the dosing---- I am use to guzzlers, not sippers! With Kitty .5 units made NO difference! It is hard for me to wrap my head around the difference in .6 and .5...well, it did matter with Chewy, but that was so short lived!

If .6 would be your normal dose tonight.....I agree with Carl, I would reduce to .5 even for the 10 hour cycles--starting tonight at 3 am-- and let's see what it gives us. It will be good data.

CARL, SUE.....are you there? What do you think of the dose? Hopefully, they will wake up and help you with the dose!
 
hold the phone! Corrected the 7pm to 7am (I had 7am written but typed pm :oops: )

Also, meant to say Tues (1pm) cycle that you said to curve - will test at +2 (3pm), +4 (5pm - test and feed), +6 (7pm), +8 (9pm). Then be ready at +10 (11pm) to test/feed/shoot. So, will that take care of what you were wanting to watch out for with the +1.5 test?

Sorry, guess I'm more tired that I realized.
 
I'm slow, but I think I have arrived! My body still functions into the late-night, but my mind sometimes wanders off. ;-) I sent Robin, Sue and Carl a PM, hoping they could read over our shoulders, but guess they're not around. I feel pretty confident with the .5 dose, so we'll plan on it unless y'all advise otherwise.

THANKS, again!!
 
Sounds Good! Did you get at test at 11? I will check in tomorrow morning and see how it is going.
 
Libby, I never tried TID and have full confidence in Kim. She has seen every kind of scenario and has been able to roll with the strange stuff Miss Kitty throws at her. I'll leave the scheduling to her expertise. I like Carl's conservative starting dose.

My only advice is to plan to monitor closely and always remember, only shoot a rising number. It will be interesting if it works for you. Fingers and paws crossed.

Carl said he had to be up at 4 am so I think he is off for the night, but I know he really respects Kim's expertise too.
 
Ah, Kim - I got so wrapped up in trying to understand that I missed the 11pm (+8) test. Getting an almost +9 now...ugh...not starting out so good...

PM +8.75 (358) YUCK!

Thanks for checking in on us, Sue. I have confidence in Kim, too :-D
 
Yes, I am a lightweight! However, I believe that no clock should even have the option of a 4am alarm setting...
Had I been awake, I would have said yes to the .5 dose.
Carl
 
the clock doesn't need the setting in our house the MEOWY ALARM goes right thru you like a knife! Hope it starts workin' out for Hershey.
 
Thanks, Ellen. Yes, we have a MEOWY alarm, too, but he's unpredictable. He cries for food, attention, etc. starts right after we go to bed because we close the door. And, once anybody gets up, he figures I should be up, too. Even if it's an early day for Doug and he's up at 5am. No, thank you -
 
I'm late to the party again. You are in great hands with Kim, as I see you both have worked out all of the details.

Paws and fingers crossed that this will do the trick for Hershey.

Cleansing SCREAM :lol: I like that and might use it myself some days, I used to tell peeps to just BREATH.
 
TID dosing looks something like this (er - copy and paste into a word processer, then make the font Courier New so it spaces evenly!):
dose 1: XXXXXXXXxx______
dose 2: ________XXXXXXXXxx_____
dose 3: ________________XXXXXXXXxx
where the little x represents the lower insulin level at the end of the duration with some possible overlap from the prior dose if it lasts more than 10 hours and the _ represents little to no insulin effect.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top