Very flat day today. I wish it was a flat day with all blue numbers, but we'll get there. (From my keyboard to God's ears!)
Depending on Pumbaa's results tonight and for his AMPS tomorrow, and due to his very flat day today, I am considering bumping him up from 0.75U to 1.00U in the morning. The TR protocol does say that you can do this after 24 or 48 hours, with readings like today. Per Tilly's website:
However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.
While I don't agree with bumping Pumbaa up by .5U, just to try and keep his numbers somewhat steadier than in the past, I do agree that he may need an increase, depending on his numbers in the next 11 hours.
This is why I came back to "relaxed". I want to do the best thing for Pumbaa based on his past reactions to the insulin increases. While his very high black numbers may have been a normal reaction to following the tight regulation protocol, they scared the hell out of me! nailbite_smile *LOL* Someone (I am so sorry that I can't remember who tells me what) explained this to me today, how some cats will keep having their numbers go up, up, up, until you magically reach the correct dose, and I really appreciated that explanation. But it was too stressful for me (and Pumbaa) to go through.
I'm sick to my stomach every day worrying about my little guy, and his numbers, and if I am doing the best job for him to prevent organ damage. At least now, with his BG numbers not all over the place, he is acting much more like his old self. He's put on some weight, he's testing either negative or trace for ketones, he's not eating non-stop 24/7, etc.
There are so many wonderful people on these boards that I would like to thank for support and information and hand-holding in the last couple of weeks. People on relaxed, tight and the Levimir and PZI boards. You know who you are because I've thanked you in posts. I just don't have the time to go back to my posts and name names here, and don't want to leave anyone out based on my CRS (Can't Remember ****) memory.
I'm looking forward to a day all in yellow, and then a day all in blue. And then the scary days all in green, which you want, but only the good greens and not the dig-out-the-Karo-syrup greens.