4/27 Pumbaa AMPS/336 +3/334 +6/319 +9/340 PMPS/319

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Pumbaa and I have bounced back over here 'cause we both want this whole FD/Lantus/life change to be more "relaxed". *LOL*

The good news this morning is that I have managed to NOT screw up 3 injections in a row! No letting Pumbaa wiggle away at the crucial depress-plunger moment, no Beck letting out a loud bark right at that crucial depress-plunger moment, no airplanes dropping out of the sky at that crucial moment, either! Small things to be thankful for!

Here's hoping for a day full of yellows, and I wouldn't complain about a blue here and there, either.
 
Re: 4/27 Pumbaa AMPS/336

Fingers and paws crossed for beautiful numbers for Pumbaa.

By the way welcome back! You can still practice Tight Regulation over here if you want, we just aren't as formal as they are on the other ISG. :-D I'm pretty well versed in TR Just like having a life that doesn't require I post everyday (although I usually do) or turning my cat into a pincushion (although I'm a test-a-holic) but then again I'm a vet tech student so I like watching Musette's trends even if she has given me a lot of gray hair trying to figure her out.. :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/27 Pumbaa AMPS/336

Thank you, Mel! And here's hoping that Ms. Autumn doesn't add to those gray hairs! I hope she's a miracle kitty and responds quickly to your loving care!

Suze
 
Re: 4/27 Pumbaa AMPS/336

Thanks Suze,

I have my fingers and toes crossed for her as well. Maxwell and Musette were in pretty rough shape as well but not as bad as it sounds like Autumn is, but in less than 36 hours from now I will get to see for myself how bad off she really is. We are picking her up in York NE tomorrow night at about 8:30pm and should have her home and settled in her room by about an hour later so we will see where she is at BG wise get her the first shot of Lanuts and a big bowl of nice low carb canned food and go from there. And we will give it our best shot to make her a happy and healthy girl again.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/27 Pumbaa AMPS/336

Hi Suze!

Yay to see you again! :) Glad to hear that you got 3 nice shots in a row....yahooo! Ppl always laughed when I said, "ahh, gotta run, gotta get home to shoot my cat". Anyways, can't wait to see some nicer numbers on Pumbaa. Kit and I are definitely cheering for you guys....

PS. Mel, I can't wait to "meet" Autumn as well!
 
Very flat day today. I wish it was a flat day with all blue numbers, but we'll get there. (From my keyboard to God's ears!)

Depending on Pumbaa's results tonight and for his AMPS tomorrow, and due to his very flat day today, I am considering bumping him up from 0.75U to 1.00U in the morning. The TR protocol does say that you can do this after 24 or 48 hours, with readings like today. Per Tilly's website:

However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.

While I don't agree with bumping Pumbaa up by .5U, just to try and keep his numbers somewhat steadier than in the past, I do agree that he may need an increase, depending on his numbers in the next 11 hours.

This is why I came back to "relaxed". I want to do the best thing for Pumbaa based on his past reactions to the insulin increases. While his very high black numbers may have been a normal reaction to following the tight regulation protocol, they scared the hell out of me! nailbite_smile *LOL* Someone (I am so sorry that I can't remember who tells me what) explained this to me today, how some cats will keep having their numbers go up, up, up, until you magically reach the correct dose, and I really appreciated that explanation. But it was too stressful for me (and Pumbaa) to go through.

I'm sick to my stomach every day worrying about my little guy, and his numbers, and if I am doing the best job for him to prevent organ damage. At least now, with his BG numbers not all over the place, he is acting much more like his old self. He's put on some weight, he's testing either negative or trace for ketones, he's not eating non-stop 24/7, etc.

There are so many wonderful people on these boards that I would like to thank for support and information and hand-holding in the last couple of weeks. People on relaxed, tight and the Levimir and PZI boards. You know who you are because I've thanked you in posts. I just don't have the time to go back to my posts and name names here, and don't want to leave anyone out based on my CRS (Can't Remember ****) memory. :)

I'm looking forward to a day all in yellow, and then a day all in blue. And then the scary days all in green, which you want, but only the good greens and not the dig-out-the-Karo-syrup greens.
 
First thing: I am very glad to see you over here, in RL. While this protocol and that are fine, we have to take in all info and devise a plan, a unique protocol, that fits the cat.

I hear so much about ECID but then words to force all cats to fit a certain fashion.

When it comes to Pumbaa, YOU are the one who sees the signs, and so the advice here should be taken and considered, but then base actions on Pumbaa.

One of my cats reacted to dose changes within 3 cycles, but my other often took at least 6 or more.
Start with the general guidelines, but make them into your own guidelines. If you have a diver, that's great you are aware of it because you can then make adjustments to lessen the dives. Use food to steer the numbers and put on brakes where needed.

Ultimately, you want to get as flat a curve as you can, then slowly, and by small increments, adjust the dose. You want to make the transition as smooth as you can, so once you have a couple cycles of flat, and you feel ready for the increase, up you go.

Watch for how Pumbaa takes the increase - in most cases, you will see a ripple in the numbers and a temp increase which should level out in a few cycles. In other cases, you may see a bigger and/or earlier drop which may be telling you that the last dose was better and this new one is too much.

You are correct about the flat and high 300s. If you are getting a few cycles pretty much the same, then try the increase. Don't worry about better numbers because slowly but surely, Pumbaa's numbers will come down, first to a low pink, then a nicer yellow and then eventually into the blues.
It will happen. Just be sure that you have given the .75u dose enough time to settle and then move on....I waited 3 or 4 cycles for Shadoe but 5 or 6 for Oliver .... you just need to discover Pumbaa's style from your ss and work your own Pumbaa Protocol!

ETA
If you look at the ps numbers, they are progressively lower. Sure, still pink but lower pinks today. If you want to try up to 1u tomorrow, don't be upset for any temp high numbers or no immediate good reaction, just stick to 6 cycles if you can with the new dose.

Watch Pumbaa for the improvements before the better numbers as well.
 
Thank you, Gayle!

That is exactly it...every cat IS different and every cat owner is different. Pumbaa wasn't reacting well to his previously very high numbers, and because of that I was getting stressed, which probably exacerbated the situation.

Now, I feel much calmer and Pumbaa is acting so much better with flatter numbers. Hopefully, by starting over and going slow with this, he is going to keep having more level numbers. Not always as flat as yesterday, especially not after a slight dose increase, but hopefully not the roller coaster of numbers he had previously. I'm thinking, too, that, now that his body is more used to getting and using insulin, that is making a difference as well.

And I am in total agreement about waiting until he flattens out again before adjusting the dose. I know for sure that he reacts better that way, and then I react better, as well. :)

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top