? 4/27 Malcolm AMPS 328 +6 280

Malcolm & Heidi

Member Since 2023
I'm unsure if I should be lowering or raising his dose now. He's on 6.75 units currently. He's been getting some 200s midday and in the evening a few hours after his PM shot
 
I'm so confused how to post in this group. Am I not supposed to post a new thread for asking a new question? I see people posting everyday their numbers in a new thread
Can someone please help me with the dosing question? I don't know what I should be doing
 
You start a new post each new day that you post, with a link to the previous post. You can ask multiple questions in a day.
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ

How did the ultrasound go?

Malcolm is no where near regulated yet. When on SLGS, you want them to be regularly seeing numbers in the 90-149 range. He will need to have his dose increased. At his size of dose, you can increase by 0.5 units at a time.
 
Ok thanks. So should I go up to 7 then? I'm just nervous to do so because it seems like everytime I raise it, he gets 400 and 500 numbers..
I haven't heard back about his ultrasound results yet. Probably not until Monday
 
Think of those higher numbers as a result of the insulin working and getting his blood sugar to lower numbers than he's seen before. Try to ignore those bounces. Pay attention to how low he's getting instead. You want him seeing numbers in the 90-149 range. He's a 100 points above that.

I always got ultrasound results right after, guess I'm spoiled. Pre COVID I actually got to be there while the ultrasound vet did her thing and got the results live. My vet likes to have the caregiver there to calm the cat.

So should I go up to 7 then?
I was suggest 7.25 units as the next dose. An increase of 0.5 units. At his size of dose, the % increase is quite tiny, just 3.4 %. You need a 10-15% increase to really be noticed. If he has some sort of insulin resistance going, which I suspect, you need to keep on top of increases.
 
The ultrasound is done by a company that goes around to different clinics throughout the city. So the vet didn't know when they were going to be there to do it. So I had to drop him off and pick him up when they were done. Seems to be that's how most clinics here do it. I've been to several vets and they all said the same thing about dropping him off and then the company would come do the ultrasound at the clinic.
 
Same for me, it's a travelling ultrasound specialist vet. But you book for a specific time so don't have to drop kitty off to wait. I'm spoiled.
 
Malcolm's ultrasound came back all clear for the most part. Nothing to be causing high numbers. He has been constipated though for some reason and they gave him lactouse for that. We are going to go ahead and do the IGF-1 and the IAA tests. My vet is setting up an account with MSU. I think we're going to try to do the tests next Monday. Some good news though, he finally had a number in the 100s today! 182 at +7. If. He's in the 100s or 200s at the PM shot time, do I still give him his 7.25 dose? Or should I lower it? And if so, by how much?
 
We are going to go ahead and do the IGF-1 and the IAA tests.
That's great news. Knowing one way or the other gives you knowledge which can help determine next steps.

Yeah for that blues today! :cool: With SLGS, you only change the dose if they go below 90, so no change in dose required. If you are nervous about a low preshot, test at +11 and post here so we have time to give suggestions. And I'd start a new post with that too, so people don't ignore a post with an old date on the subject line.
 
Back
Top