What's the ideal bg we're aiming for?
Normal BG range for a non diabetic cat is between 50-80.
What range you are aiming for depends on a number of factors, whether or not you have a high dose condition, what protocol you are following.
Let's take a 'regular' sugarcat, following TR, you would be aiming for nadirs between 50-80 (using a human glucometer), so if a kitty was nadiring in the blue you would still continue to take the dose up gradually, until you start to see those nadirs, only taking the dose down if they drop below 50 or spend a week in normal numbers. Take a look at my boys ss for examples of the latter.
If you were following SLGS, however, then you would increase the dose if kitty was above 150, holding the dose if it were below 150 taking reductions if they dropped below 90. (human meter)
Those care givers dealing with an acro cat, because of the nature of the condition, will sometimes try and give themselves a bit more headroom when taking reductions. But usually most are aiming to minimize the impact on the kidneys by keeping the kitty below the renal threshold (point which glucose starts to show in the urine), usually this would be keeping them below 200 for the most part, so dose adjustments would be made to achieve this.
It would certainly be great to see numbers below 300 for Biscuit, and it would be progress, but between 200-300 that would still most certainly be above renal threshold and would only be a starting point. Realistically for the sake of her health, once you start seeing some of those yellow numbers, the goals would change and you would be aiming to get her down to blue (below 200) and then green perhaps. You yourself will be able to determine her renal threshold by checking for glucose in urine when she starts to get into low yellows and blues (the threshold differs from cat to cat)
So in Titan (the ss marje linked), the dose continued to be raised until he was seeing those numbers that were keeping him below the renal threshold, we didn't stop, just because he got below 300, though CG did slow down with the increases, waiting a little longer between dose changes. If you look down further you see as Titan saw some lime greens the dose was reduced systematically, and adjusted to keep him in those blues below the renal threshold.
Hope that helps explain it a little.