Bron and Sheba (GA)
Member Since 2015
Ok. He’s not moving!Update: His BG is 58
What did you feed him?
Ok. He’s not moving!Update: His BG is 58
Ok. He’s not moving!
What did you feed him?
Can you test again in 30 mins? Sorry about all this testing but we don’t want Monkey to drop too low. If we test frequently at the moment we can intervene before he drops too low.Few pieces of temptations.
Can you test again in 30 mins? Sorry about all this testing but we don’t want Monkey to drop too low. If we test frequently at the moment we can intervene before he drops too low.
You are doing a great job with him Peter!
70 is good. But we will still need to monitor a but longer. I think we can leave it an hour now til the next test.Update: Money is 70 now. I guess the increase may show he is quite safe now. I wonder, he has good appetite, and he has such a low BG even the AM Lantus is 1.0 U, does it show that he need to significantly reduce his Lantus.
Although I am quite tired by constant monitoring, I wholeheartly appreciate you for helping my cat and all the your contributions to cat owners. I cannot imagine the workload of taking care of other people's cat, especially sometimes people don't follow (including me due to laziness and limit of budget)![]()
70 is good. But we will still need to monitor a but longer. I think we can leave it an hour now til the next test.
Are we up to +6 now Peter? by my reckoning I think we are up to +5 but I could be wrong.

Oh that is a problem. Yes you will definitely need to buy some more test strips. Can you buy them locally? I know they will be more expensive but you will definitely need them. We have all been caught like this!We are at +5. I am worrying my test strip may not enough, the shipping may arrive on Tues or Weds, but sole AMPS and PMPS may use up all before arrival. Maybe I need to buy it on the street for a more expensive price![]()
In reply to your questions about food. I know in HongKong you may not be able to buy a lot of the canned foods we can, but are you able to get any of the fancy feast varieties?I see. I will buy honey as soon as possible. Question: I find that the Temptations treat have bad ingredents, such as "animal fat", by-products, DL-Methione, Copper Sulfate, corn and what.
I am thinking to change the emergency high carb snack to be dry freezed meat treat with honey manually apply to it, what do you think?
In reply to your questions about food. I know in HongKong you may not be able to buy a lot of the canned foods we can, but are you able to get any of the fancy feast varieties?
A canned high carb food would be much better than the dry food if you can get some
The medium carbs are around 11% to 16%and high carb are17% and upwards.
I’m going to send you a link to canned foods. If you can look through it you might be able to see some that are available to you over there.
You definitely need some high carb foods for when either of your boys drops low. It is much easier to manage low numbers with the appropriate foods.
Have a look at these and see if you can get any.
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
I think it is safe to stop test now until PMPS.Monkey BG is 131 now
Thanks. May I ask why don't we just give them food with honey to increase his BG?
Looks like he is bouncing from the low numbers.Update: Monkey's AMPS is 347, what dose should I give him? @Bron and Sheba (GA)
The soonest is tmr afterroon. Again, Monkey has good appititeIs that 6 strips for both cats?i got 6 stripsThe soonest is tmr afterroon. Again, Monkey has good appitite
Well this is a difficult situation. You need strips to be able to test before giving the shots. So That means you will need 2 in the morning at AMPS. And you may need more for PenPen.
And if we gave Monkey insulin we would have to test even though he is high now as we don’t know what he might do. And we would not want to run out of strips if he decided to drop again.
I think the safest thing would be to skip this dose, even though he is high and then in the morning you can start giving him the new dose of 1 unit. It will help drain the depot as well.
Feed him as normal now and give him his usual snacks But no insulin tonight.
Are you OK with that?
Yes I mean skip the dose tonight and then in the morning at AMPS give him the new dose of 1 unit.Do you mean... skip tonight, and his new dose would be 1 unit.
Yes I mean skip the dose tonight and then in the morning at AMPS give him the new dose of 1 unit.
and make us difficult to intepret the data of him in tmr's cycle. Please correct if I am wrong. This morning he was 70 ml and we gave him 1U. And he went up to 340 at PMPS. If we give 1U to his 340 ml now, isnt that very safe?He went up to 347 because he is bouncing from all the low numbers today. Not because of the insulin dose.I worry that tomorrow he would have BG like 600.and make us difficult to intepret the data of him in tmr's cycle. Please correct if I am wrong. This morning he was 70 ml and we gave him 1U. And he went up to 340 at PMPS. If we give 1U to his 340 ml now, isnt that very safe?
He went up to 347 because he is bouncing from all the low numbers today. Not because of the insulin dose.
We don’t know what he might do Peter and it would be awful to run out of strips and have him low and Not be able to test.
It is much safer to skip the dose and start with the 1 unit tomorrow.
The depot needs to be drained more as well and this is an opportunity to do it.
He will get back on track quickly.
Give him a good meal and a few snacks and you can try and get a good sleep as you must be tired. I think he will be fine with the skip and then tomorrow he can start on the 1 unit and I think he will do well on that.Will do![]()
ThanksNo need to test Monkey again tonight. Wait til AMPS. Sleep wellGreat. i dont need to be worried tonightThanks