4/26 monkey amps 68. Help!!!

Do you have any tests between the 344 at +2 last night and the AMPS? Trying to figure out which direction Monkey is headed right now. 68 is shootable with experience, but it's a lot lower than the 130's you've shot before, so it'd be nice if he were headed upwards.

@tiffmaxee are you going to be around for a while? I need to go to bed soon-- I can stay up for Monkey's re-test, but not much more after that if Peter shoots.
 
Do you have any tests between the 344 at +2 last night and the AMPS? Trying to figure out which direction Monkey is headed right now. 68 is shootable with experience, but it's a lot lower than the 130's you've shot before, so it'd be nice if he were headed upwards.

@tiffmaxee are you going to be around for a while? I need to go to bed soon-- I can stay up for Monkey's re-test, but not much more after that if Peter shoots.

I did not have any test after 2+, the alarm failed to wake me up:(
 
It looks like he will probably go up like he did Yesterday when you skipped. If we did give him some insulin, would you be able to monitor him the whole cycle to check his BGs? And how is his appetite Peter?
@tiffmaxee I was thinking of maybe just a small dose until we can work out what is best to do with Monkeys dose moving forward. Maybe a dose of 1 unit?
What do you think of that.?
 
I agree with you Bron, as long as Peter can monitor today.

Peter, at some point it would help us if you create a separate column for the preshot times, instead of using the same column as the units. It makes it hard to see the sequence of dosing.
 
I agree with you Bron, as long as Peter can monitor today.

Peter, at some point it would help us if you create a separate column for the preshot times, instead of using the same column as the units. It makes it hard to see the sequence of dosing.
Thanks Wendy. Monkey has done so much better on Lantus but we need to find a safe dose for him as he keeps dropping low, even though we have reduced the dose and skipped. Your input for that would be really appreciated.
 
Peter, if you can monitor the whole cycle and have test strips and high carb food, we all think you can go ahead and give 1 unit of insulin.
I would get a +1 and a +2 so we can see how he’s going. Then we can decide when you need to next test
 
What strange behaviour?


What a busy morning.:blackeye: First, Monkey went to my bedroom with the intention to discharge in my bed. He meowed me (it may mean he wants help) (it happened like 5 times in 2 weeks, i do not know why). Then i rush him to the cat sand. Then he bite the sand, i did know know why. But it remind me his problem with eating. Then he discharge little bit pee. Then he moved to other cat sand box to discharge very little bit of feces. It took him some effort like he attempt to force the feces out but not very smooth. Then he went to another bedroom, and peed on the floor. (i allow him to do so to observe him). Then he sits for a while and go to another bedroom, i took him out and now he is sitting in living room doing nothing
 

Attachments

  • 15878719403966765634435196512187.jpg
    15878719403966765634435196512187.jpg
    99.1 KB · Views: 91
It does sound like he may have a UTI (urinary tract infection). Keep an eye on it and if it continues you may have to take him to the vet or take a urine sample to the vet.
Peter, can you give Monkey a small snack when you test the BG at +1 and +2 and post the results please as we will be watching? Thanks!
 
It does sound like he may have a UTI (urinary tract infection). Keep an eye on it and if it continues you may have to take him to the vet or take a urine sample to the vet.
Peter, can you give Monkey a small snack when you test the BG at +1 and +2 and post the results please as we will be watching? Thanks!

Yes, i will be precise at +1 and +2 . May i ask the reason of giving snack? Should i give him chicken liver snack? Should i give him before or after the test? i am cautious about giving snack because i have four cats at home and i do not want to make other cats feel i am unfair to them:rolleyes:
 
i forgot to mention, Monkey had good appetite this morning
That’s great he has a good appetite
Also, monkey scatch his face a lot, does it mean it maybe some flea?:(
Can you see any fleas on him?
It could be an allergy causing the itch. He does have skin issues.

Peter, with the SS you need to put the 68 and the 109 on top of each other in the AMPS column as the BG was 109 when you gave the dose. The number that will go into the +1 column will be the BG you take at +1.
 
That’s great he has a good appetite

Can you see any fleas on him?
It could be an allergy causing the itch. He does have skin issues.

Peter, with the SS you need to put the 68 and the 109 on top of each other in the AMPS column as the BG was 109 when you gave the dose. The number that will go into the +1 column will be the BG you take at +1.

i did not see fleas, just my guess
 
Yes, i will be precise at +1 and +2 . May i ask the reason of giving snack? Should i give him chicken liver snack? Should i give him before or after the test? i am cautious about giving snack because i have four cats at home and i do not want to make other cats feel i am unfair to them:rolleyes:
Sorry I didn’t see this reply earlier.
It is a good idea to give a small snack especially if Monkey is low as it will help bring him up a bit ready for when the insulin onset starts which is normally around +2 for Lantus. You can feed as you test if you like or after. Up to you.
Are you giving Monkey snacks doing the cycle at the moment?

Can you give the other cats a tiny drop each when you feed Monkey. As long as they get a taste they are usually satisfied
 
Sorry I didn’t see this reply earlier.
It is a good idea to give a small snack especially if Monkey is low as it will help bring him up a bit ready for when the insulin onset starts which is normally around +2 for Lantus. You can feed as you test if you like or after. Up to you.
Are you giving Monkey snacks doing the cycle at the moment?

Can you give the other cats a tiny drop each when you feed Monkey. As long as they get a taste they are usually satisfied

Just checked, +1 is 79
 
Sorry I didn’t see this reply earlier.
It is a good idea to give a small snack especially if Monkey is low as it will help bring him up a bit ready for when the insulin onset starts which is normally around +2 for Lantus. You can feed as you test if you like or after. Up to you.
Are you giving Monkey snacks doing the cycle at the moment?

Can you give the other cats a tiny drop each when you feed Monkey. As long as they get a taste they are usually satisfied

yes, i just give him small piece of chick heart snack
 
Peter, I have just seen you put 50 in the SS. You need to get some honey and give it to Monkey with some food now and retest in 20 minutes please. We are still very early in the cycle.

what is the high carb food you are feeding,?
 
Peter, I have just seen you put 50 in the SS. You need to get some honey and give it to Monkey with some food now and res test in 20 minutes please

Is the high carb snack 10 minutes ago sufficient? I always worried that Honey may poison him or choke him. But I can spray glucose water on the dry food. So the next test will be done 10 minutes late
 
Is the high carb snack 10 minutes ago sufficient? I always worried that Honey may poison him or choke him. But I can spray glucose water on the dry food. So the next test will be done 10 minutes late
Honey will not poison him. Just put a couple of drops onto some wet or canned food. It is important we get him up Higher as we are only at +2.
Can you post when you have done that please.?
 
Honey will not poison him. Just put a couple of drops onto some wet or canned food. It is important we get him up Higher as we are only at +2.
Can you post when you have done that please.?

My apology. I think I need to buy honey instead of having glucose powder
His BG is 68 now and it is his meal time (can food and chicken breast). Do you think I should add honey or sugar?
 
My apology. I think I need to buy honey instead of having glucose powder
His BG is 68 now and it is his meal time (can food and chicken breast). Do you think I should add honey or sugar?
Hi Peter,
I would just give him his normal meal now if he is at 68. Do you have any medium carb food there which you can use for the canned.?
He is only at +2 so we want him up just a little bit higher.
Can you test again in 30 minutes after the food so we can see if he is going to keep going up a bit or down.

In.answer to your question, yes I would definitely get some honey to have in the house. It is more effective than sugar and quicker to act.
Feed Monkey his meal first, and then when you are done, can you tell me what you are feeding him now throughout the day please?
Are you feeding any dry food still? what is the high carb food you are using?
 
Peter, I have just seen you put 50 in the SS. You need to get some honey and give it to Monkey with some food now and retest in 20 minutes please. We are still very early in the cycle.



what is the high carb food you are feeding,?
 

Attachments

  • 15878810538644253983718849560507.jpg
    15878810538644253983718849560507.jpg
    54.6 KB · Views: 101
  • 15878810991042611163502930454092.jpg
    15878810991042611163502930454092.jpg
    55.2 KB · Views: 94
  • IMG_20200426_140549.jpg
    IMG_20200426_140549.jpg
    107.6 KB · Views: 105
Hi Peter,
I would just give him his normal meal now if he is at 68. Do you have any medium carb food there which you can use for the canned.?
He is only at +2 so we want him up just a little bit higher.
Can you test again in 30 minutes after the food so we can see if he is going to keep going up a bit or down.

In.answer to your question, yes I would definitely get some honey to have in the house. It is more effective than sugar and quicker to act.
Feed Monkey his meal first, and then when you are done, can you tell me what you are feeding him now throughout the day please?
Are you feeding any dry food still? what is the high carb food you are using?

Sorry. Let me clarify. If I feed him high carb food, I give mostly Temptations chicken flavor DRY treats, that I calculate it is 36.5% carbs. I very rarely give the convention dry cat food. (Because I think they are cheaper and less tasty to Monkey). Yes, I will tell you what I feed thoughout the day. Yes I can test 30 minutes later
 
Sorry. Let me clarify. If I feed him high carb food, I give mostly Temptations chicken flavor DRY treats, that I calculate it is 36.5% carbs. I very rarely give the convention dry cat food. (Because I think they are cheaper and less tasty to Monkey). Yes, I will tell you what I feed thoughout the day. Yes I can test 30 minutes later
Thanks....feed Monkey first
 
Hi Peter,
I would just give him his normal meal now if he is at 68. Do you have any medium carb food there which you can use for the canned.?
He is only at +2 so we want him up just a little bit higher.
Can you test again in 30 minutes after the food so we can see if he is going to keep going up a bit or down.

In.answer to your question, yes I would definitely get some honey to have in the house. It is more effective than sugar and quicker to act.
Feed Monkey his meal first, and then when you are done, can you tell me what you are feeding him now throughout the day please?
Are you feeding any dry food still? what is the high carb food you are using?

I see. I will buy honey as soon as possible. Question: I find that the Temptations treat have bad ingredents, such as "animal fat", by-products, DL-Methione, Copper Sulfate, corn and what.

I am thinking to change the emergency high carb snack to be dry freezed meat treat with honey manually apply to it, what do you think?
 
I see. I will buy honey as soon as possible. Question: I find that the Temptations treat have bad ingredents, such as "animal fat", by-products, DL-Methione, Copper Sulfate, corn and what.

I am thinking to change the emergency high carb snack to be dry freezed meat treat with honey manually apply to it, what do you think?
Have you fed Monkey his meal yet?
I would rather you feed him first before we talk about food:)
 
yes, he was fed half hours ago. His BG now is 58ml!!
can you give him a few of those temptations Peter to see if they help bring him up a bit please?. He is quite safe at the moment but we don’t want him to drop any more. Test again in 30 minutes and I will watch for the BG.
We must be around +3 now, is that correct?
 
Back
Top