4/26 Dimitri PMPS 148 +2 99 +5 78

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50

:YMSIGH: This is looking like a repeat of yesterday morning. This morning he DID eat breakfast, but obviously not enough. He is
working on Second Breakfast right now and I will retest in half an hour.
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

:sad: After the +2 reading, I made sure he ate again, waited and rechecked. Down to 42. So I fed him some Karo mixed with
some wet food, which he inhaled. So I'm waiting and will recheck in 20 minutes.

It seems like he needs less and less insulin. Like the .25 drop was not enough of a decrease?
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

Hi Janet,

Dimitri definitely looks like he's on a mission these days. Some kitties do seem to go down the dosing ladder very quickly. (Jersey was one of those kitties. We couldn't seem to reduce fast enough right before she went OTJ.)

You're doing a great job testing. I'm glad you got that +2.5. Just keep steering with food like you've been doing.

I'm sure our dose advisors will be along soon to help you figure out the next step with the dose.

Shelly
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

Thank you Shelly, I was wondering if there was something "odd" about Dimitri, because it seems like all the other
cats I read about take a while between reductions, so I was getting a bit concerned. Glad to know he's not alone.
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

He may be "odd," but he's definitely not alone! :lol: We tried to gradually work our way OTJ like Shawna and Davidson were doing, but we couldn't hold the doses long enough. We just kept dropping the dose and dropping the dose and dropping the dose......Those were some stressful days. I only left the house long enough to go to work (and then would sneak home as often as I could to get those in-between tests).

What makes it difficult, too, is remembering that it takes a while for the shed to drain. So...we would see Jersey go low and wonder if it was because the current dose (e.g., .75) was taking her too low or if it was because the old dose (e.g., the 1.0) was still in play. Thank goodness for the dose advisors because it was too much to wrap my little brain around! :lol:
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

Yes, exactly! Thankfully, I don't work now (quit 17 years ago), but I homeschool, so I'm still a bit busy. It's just stressful because Dimitri never
shows signs that he's hypo., I just have to keep setting an alarm and poking him. And being his first reduction, I don't know how long his shed
will take to drop down. Maybe he's gone down already and the 0.75 is too much. I just don't want to set him bouncing again by messing with his
dose too often.
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Well well - Dimitri earned himself another reduction!
Good catch! New dose - .50u :mrgreen:

It's been 3 full cycles since his last reduction - I don't think there is any depot action from 1.0u in play here, IMHO.
Hopefully others will chime in with opinions on that as well.

Go Dimitri!
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

Oh, wow, so I was right? Good. I just didn't expect him go drop down so fast. Fixing to do his +5 check in about half an hour.
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

Janet --

We make a distinction between low numbers and "hypo." If Dimiti were showing symptoms, that would be a symptomatic hypoglycemic episode. Most of our cats will drop into low numbers and earn a dose reduction without having any symptoms. By monitoring and using food to steer the numbers, you are able to avoid a hypo situation.
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

Thanks for the explanation Sienne.

I think I over did the feeding earlier because he's now up to 100. He probably would have been fine with only 1 spoonful of HC w/Karo. That's
something for me to remember next time.
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri AMPS 102 +2 50 +2.5 42

hehe everyone overdoes it on the carbs when they are starting out! we don't want our little ones too low!

congrats on the reduction - looks like Dimitri is healing nicely and holding his reductions!! that's great progress. it's absolutely true that cats handle reductions differently. just go one cycle at a time and let's hope he keeps up the good work.
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri PMPS 148 +2 99

His evening/night is looking good so far. I'm heading to bed and will get up at +5 to see how low he goes. I did not let him eat after +9, so
by dinner time he was very hungry and ate well. Plus, I dropped his dose down another 0.25.
 
Re: 4/26 Dimitri PMPS 148 +2 99

Janet

If you are still up, please do not wait until +5 to get a test. He was at 102 this morning and dropped to 50 by +2 and then 42. He dropped almost the same amount tonight between PMPS and +2.

Please get a +3 test and post. We want to keep him safe. Thank you :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top