? 4/26 Bobo AMPS 61

Good morning. I think you need to take an unearned reduction so you can shoot a consistent full dose every cycle. Had you shot a full dose he might have earned a reduction but we don’t know so some would say don’t take it. If my cat I would reduce to 2.25.
 
I completely agree. I gave him the full dose last night and with the HC he was up in the 90’s at +4. I gave him more HC and went to sleep because I thought it would keep bringing him up. Woke up at +6 didn’t test but fed more HC and he still most likely dropped pretty low for the amps to be 61. I feel like he may have gone under 50 more than once overnight and I just haven’t caught it. So 2.25 tonight and maybe he’ll still drop below 50 today even with the BCS. He did eat more HC after o tested him but doesn’t seem as interested in food right now. We’ll see.

just so I know, would you have given a full dose with the 61 amps?

PS - how are you feeling?
 
I would have stalled to see if he went up without food. If so and able to monitor I would have shot a full dose and let him earn a reduction. He is responding really well. If not able to monitor or be off schedule I would have gone with a BCS. I know you know we don’t reduce based upon what might have happened but being new to insulin and going off budesonide I feel a reduction is warranted. TO ANY LURKERS THIS ADVICE IS JUST FOR ALE AND PLEASE DO NOT TAKE REDUCTIONS BASED UPON WHAT MIGHT HAVE HAPPENED. ECID.

Symptoms are mild so far. Thanks for asking.
 
He might be starting a bounce which would have been an argument that you should have shot a full dose. Hindsight is 20/20.
 
I’m having a hard time getting him to eat. All I’ve managed so far are freeze dried treats so he’s 72 now. I’m going to see how low he’ll go he may still earn a reduction officially!

thank you, I understand it all :D
 
Keep updating. Did he eat a lot already? Remember you need to feed very small amounts to keep him hungry, just a teaspoon or two at a time. Do you have any baby food? Max loved Gerbers.
 
He had his first meal as in breakfast, which should have been raw food, but instead I gave him 1/2 a can of HC FF. He should have eaten another 1/2 a can but didn’t want any. He’s been asking for food just doesn’t want to eat any of the ones I’m offering so I’m giving him freeze dried treats and he’s eating those. He ate a lot last night so he may just not be super hungry today

65 @+3 so he’s going down but slowly
 
It’s looking a lot like yesterday now. He seems to be surfing in the 60s. I can’t believe how much I’ve been testing him since Sunday and how great a sport he’s about it. Doesn’t really seem to care at all thankfully :bighug:
 
upload_2023-4-26_13-9-0.jpeg

not a care in the world with tongue sticking out and all :cat: meanwhile I’m like :coffee::banghead::coffee::coffee:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-4-26_13-9-0.jpeg
    upload_2023-4-26_13-9-0.jpeg
    138.4 KB · Views: 76
Finally seeing a drop now I tested a little late but I’m going to try to grab a +6 and might give a little honey because I’ll have to leave for about 2 hours
 
Back
Top