Glennie
Member Since 2016
Wow, that is so sweet of you to find that for me. Thank you! And I will fill it out as if it's for me.

Wow, that is so sweet of you to find that for me. Thank you! And I will fill it out as if it's for me.

They're usually pretty good, and it may not be the syringes at all. I think Callie just isn't feeling well. Love your Creamsickle's name!I've been using the Relion syringes for about 2 weeks now with no problem so far.

Kris, I don't know what to do if I can't keep food down her, and her BG was 155 before her .75U injection. She did eat well before I gave it to her, but she has vomited twice. She's sleeping now. I'll test at +3.Oh, I'm sure the breath smell test isn't definitive. That would be too easy! I'll check into stuff better tomorrow. I am filled with dread because if she has DKA, there is no way we can afford to treat her. The info on here says about $2000 to treat it here in the US, and there is no way we can do it. Two kids in college, only 1 income because I'm still homeschooling our youngest, lots of vet bills these past two years, and $7000 medical deductible for us that we will be meeting soon. It breaks my heart! So I'll try to wait till tomorrow to fall apart. She may very well be fine. Scratch that, she just threw up for the 3rd time today. I'll read the symptoms again. I can only imagine how miserable she is feeling.
Warm has got to feel better than that cold going in, huh? That's a good idea.I was having issues with Samba and his shots, and one of the small changes that I made that seemed to help is that after I draw the insulin into the syringe, before I shoot, I hold it under my arm in my armpit like a thermometer to warm it up (with the cap back on over the needle) while I prepare his food.

Just seeing this now, Glennie. The thing with ketones is that getting vet attention early can prevent it from developing into the very expensive to treat DKA. I have no idea if that's the problem but testing urine for ketones is the first line of defense and is (relatively) easy to do. With the vomiting in a diabetic cat who doesn't usually vomit I'd get her to the vet for a checkup sooner than later. The vet might want to prescribe something like Cerenia for the problem. Better to spend $ now than $$$$ later. What do you think?Kris, I don't know what to do if I can't keep food down her, and her BG was 155 before her .75U injection. She did eat well before I gave it to her, but she has vomited twice. She's sleeping now. I'll test at +3.



Kris, I think you're absolutely right. I'm calling the vet as soon as they open. I'm also going to run to the store for the ketone strips. She finally kept some food down about 1am, and when I tested her BG was 171. Her AMPS was 424 so I'm sure she's bouncing.Just seeing this now, Glennie. The thing with ketones is that getting vet attention early can prevent it from developing into the very expensive to treat DKA. I have no idea if that's the problem but testing urine for ketones is the first line of defense and is (relatively) easy to do. With the vomiting in a diabetic cat who doesn't usually vomit I'd get her to the vet for a checkup sooner than later. The vet might want to prescribe something like Cerenia for the problem. Better to spend $ now than $$$$ later. What do you think?
Thanks, Mandy. She hasn't vomited yet. I'm watching and waiting and calling the vet as soon as they open.I hope Callie is feeling better this morning!![]()
Thanks, Carla. After she kept some food down and her BG started back up, we both crawled into bed. It must have gone back down though since she's so high this morning. (424) I wish we had an all night clinic, but nope. Appreciate the thoughts and the prayers so much.I hope Callie stayed in safe numbers last night. If you ever need to get her numbers up and she won't eat, you can rub honey or karo on her gums. It does sound like she needs to see a vet because of the vomiting. I hope she's doing better this morning. Sending prayers.![]()

Rhiannon, I do have the baby food on hand, but I fed her her fav FF, the salmon, before I read this. If she vomits again. I'll open some baby food. Thanks!ask the vet for cerenia for the vomiting.
she could have a bug. She could be having a reaction to a food. Even an new developing allergy to something in the food or a reaction to a certain protein.
I had to switch Shadow to a novel protein ( which was hard since I fed her such a variety)
you might want to get some stage 1 babyfood, meat only.... or scramble an egg....
keep it simple.

Thanks, Rhiannon. I will try to get both.cerenia deals with vomiting and nausea.
ondansetron is for nausea.
if your vet will give you prescriptions for both.... take them. They are both useful to have on hand. And there are many times where you want to give both of them.
Thank you for the sites, Tanya. I read them both.
I'll see what the vet thinks. No vomiting so far this morning, but holding my breath.Good luck at the vet's, Glennie.Thank you for the sites, Tanya. I read them both.I'll see what the vet thinks. No vomiting so far this morning, but holding my breath.





Thank you Glennie for posting the update!(I got 4 pills that need to be divided in half)(Is that how it works for others?)



Tanya, I thought I had answered your earlier post before I went to vet, but when I got home there it was. Anyway he didn't talk about ondansetron at all, and I had to ask for something for the nausea. He then mentioned the Cerenia. I should have brought up the other but was just thankful I was getting the Cerenia. I'm sorry I have no answer for your question of using both meds simultaneously. I was hoping he would give me both just so I could have them on hand, but no...Good luck at the vet's, Glennie.
Will you share your vet's opinion on giving both medicine simultaneously and if indeed it worth it? Ducia was taking both for a short period and all along I was wondering if I was over medicating her
Sending tons of feel better vines to Callie![]()
Callie is about the size of your Ducia so I wonder if the 1/4 pill would work for her also. I'll bet it will. The vet said a whole half. Thanks for info. Did you just get a few at a time?Thank you Glennie for posting the update!
When Ducia was vomiting everyday I used quarter of a pill daily - 24h x 1- crashed and mixed with her food (water added). It was a while ago when she was less than 8 lbs.
Now when she vomits on a rare occasion (touching wood) I gave her 1/8 of a pill for a day or two once in 24 hours and then stop. I keep unused Cerenia in the refrigerator.
Others might have different experience with this med.
Wishing Callie very speedy recovery and good appy!
![]()

I think 1/4 in 24 hours will do for at least to try once and see how it works? Vets rarely concerned with the expense side of the things..I wonder if the 1/4 pill would work for her also. I'll bet it will. The vet said a whole half
I am not sure I understand.. I give either 1/4 or an eight in 24 hours and keep the log as to with which meal/time it was administered.Did you just get a few at a time?

Yes, it is! Thank you! She hasn't vomited once today (hoping that keeps up!), but at least now I am prepared. Yes, onward and upward. Ketone testing next. She was peeing, and I missed it so try, try again.This is good news, Glennie! Teasel got Cerenia from my vet on Monday for his tummy upset brought on by gravy style HC food I'd used to raise his BG. His dose was half a pill every 24 hours. He only needed it for two days. Your next challenge is to get urine ketone testing under your belt.![]()
I'm so glad that Teasel is better! 
Yes, the box that he prescribed for me was supposed to have 4 pills, but actually had only 1. I called the office and told them, and I'll go back in tomorrow for the other 3. So yes, I only get 4 pills. He said he would refill if she needs it. I was surprised there were so few.I think 1/4 in 24 hours will do for at least to try once and see how it works? Vets rarely concerned with the expense side of the things..
I am not sure I understand.. I give either 1/4 or an eight in 24 hours and keep the log as to with which meal/time it was administered.
I hope Cerenia helps Callie feel better![]()
I too was surprised that it was only 4 pills for $19I was surprised there were so few.
Oh, so yours only had 4 in also. That's what I was wondering. Thanks! Yes, hoping neither one of us has to use them, but I'm so thankful I have something to use if necessary.I too was surprised that it was only 4 pills for $19! But four is how much is in the new box. I hope mine and yours expire due to no need to use!
![]()
Okay, I didn't know that. Thanks, Chris. Mine is 16 mg. What's your dosage amount? Every time I turn around I'm finding out much I don't know.Cerenia comes in different dose sizes too.....make sure when you're comparing 1/4 tab to 1/2 tab that you're talking about the same pill
I have 2 different sizes here....1 is 24mg per pill and the other is 16mg
Excellent point, Chris.Cerenia comes in different dose sizes too.....make sure when you're comparing 1/4 tab to 1/2 tab that you're talking about the same pill
I have 2 different sizes here....1 is 24mg per pill and the other is 16mg, so when you are "comparing" doses, it's important to know the strength of the pills you used and the strength of the pills the other person has
how does the blood ketone work? Does it replace trying to capture urine? I.e. Drawing blood?
Me, too! Thanks!I'm glad the vetty visit went well and you got some cerenia in case you need it.
And she's doing lots better today.How is Callie?And she's doing lots better today.
How sweet of you to ask, Tanya! Today is her 9th birthday--she and her sister, Kinsey. She is doing okay. I did find a spot on her side that I can inject occasionally without her getting too upset with me. And I have been warming the syringe in the rice sock after I use it to warm her ear for testing. That seems to help. She hasn't needed the Cerenia--no more vomiting at all, but it's so nice to have it on hand, just in case.How is Callie?
She did get low there though. Hope you get to sleep tonight.Happy Birthday, girls!Today is her 9th birthday--she and her sister, Kinsey.
Wishing you happy, healthy and joyful day!
Even if it's a day late!You can try getting in between the doses - a drop or two more than 0.75U but definitely less than 1U. There is a tutorial in one of the sticky notes how to draw it. I did it for Ducia - and I never new how much was in the syringeHer numbers aren't what I would like, but 1U is too much, and .75U isn't getting the lower numbers. There is nothing else going on that would affect her numbers so I guess I have to wait a while.
Ducia's numbers look great today.
She got too low and is bouncing now.he did get low there though. Hope you get to sleep tonight.
Do you use calipers? They are a big help with fine tuning doses. Happy Birthday to Callie and Kinsey!Her numbers aren't what I would like, but 1U is too much, and .75U isn't getting the lower numbers.
Do you use calipers? They are a big help with fine tuning doses. Happy Birthday to Callie and Kinsey!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/[/Q
Happy Birthday, girls!Wishing you happy, healthy and joyful day!
Even if it's a day late!
Glennie, I am really glad to hear that the vomit stopped, good news.
You can try getting in between the doses - a drop or two more than 0.75U but definitely less than 1U. There is a tutorial in one of the sticky notes how to draw it. I did it for Ducia - and I never new how much was in the syringe.
She got too low and is bouncing now.I am going to bed soon.
I've used calipers to check the .75 dose if it looks off, but I haven't tried it with an in-between dose. I'll have to look at sticky and try to work on that. Thanks for birthday wishes for our kittens as we still call them.Do you use calipers? They are a big help with fine tuning doses. Happy Birthday to Callie and Kinsey!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
I've used calipers to check on the .75U if it looks "off", but I haven't used them to get an in-between dose. I'll have to work on that. Thanks for birthday wishes for the girls!Do you use calipers? They are a big help with fine tuning doses. Happy Birthday to Callie and Kinsey!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/

I need to look at that sticky again. Thanks for the reminder. I remember watching it when she was first diagnosed, but haven't recently. I was hoping I could stay on nice easy doses--not happening though.Happy Birthday, girls!Wishing you happy, healthy and joyful day!
Even if it's a day late!
Glennie, I am really glad to hear that the vomit stopped, good news.
You can try getting in between the doses - a drop or two more than 0.75U but definitely less than 1U. There is a tutorial in one of the sticky notes how to draw it. I did it for Ducia - and I never new how much was in the syringe.
She got too low and is bouncing now.I am going to bed soon.
The girls say thanks for the birthday wishes.


Yep, the insulin is cold. I take it out just before filling and get it back in immediately. I could fill a little earlier and just warm the syringe in my hands. I'll give that a try. Thanks.
I can't get Callie to hold still for a scruff shot. She just walks off or rears her head back. The tummy area has worked because she's lying down getting loved on, and she relaxes a bit so I can shoot, or at least she did till a week ago.
I really hope it's not the needle. It's just when I stuck one of the needles out of the new box in, my daughter and I almost heard it break the skin. We looked at each other, surprised. I asked her if she heard it and she said yes. Trying not to think about it...Maybe I did hit muscle. My poor cat! And she has reacted badly ever since.
Thanks for the thought! I appreciate you taking the time.![]()
Thanks, Darnell. The shaving does help, I agree. You explained it really well. Unfortunately I don't think Callie will let me do that, but I will give it a try.Ok this is a really long post but if this helps, here is my 2 cents.
With my Sprocket we tend to put him on a table on his tummy. Make him lye flat on table, it tends to allow the skin to loosen even more so we can pull up more on his scruff. Plus shaving that area to shoot helps too. Maybe try that. I hope I explained it correctly.
Good luck.
Hope it helps.