4/25 Has anyone had problems with ReliOn syringes causing injection pain? .

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh, I'm sure the breath smell test isn't definitive. That would be too easy! I'll check into stuff better tomorrow. I am filled with dread because if she has DKA, there is no way we can afford to treat her. The info on here says about $2000 to treat it here in the US, and there is no way we can do it. Two kids in college, only 1 income because I'm still homeschooling our youngest, lots of vet bills these past two years, and $7000 medical deductible for us that we will be meeting soon. It breaks my heart! So I'll try to wait till tomorrow to fall apart. She may very well be fine. Scratch that, she just threw up for the 3rd time today. I'll read the symptoms again. I can only imagine how miserable she is feeling.
Kris, I don't know what to do if I can't keep food down her, and her BG was 155 before her .75U injection. She did eat well before I gave it to her, but she has vomited twice. She's sleeping now. I'll test at +3.
 
I was having issues with Samba and his shots, and one of the small changes that I made that seemed to help is that after I draw the insulin into the syringe, before I shoot, I hold it under my arm in my armpit like a thermometer to warm it up (with the cap back on over the needle) while I prepare his food.
Warm has got to feel better than that cold going in, huh? That's a good idea. :bighug:
 
Kris, I don't know what to do if I can't keep food down her, and her BG was 155 before her .75U injection. She did eat well before I gave it to her, but she has vomited twice. She's sleeping now. I'll test at +3.
Just seeing this now, Glennie. The thing with ketones is that getting vet attention early can prevent it from developing into the very expensive to treat DKA. I have no idea if that's the problem but testing urine for ketones is the first line of defense and is (relatively) easy to do. With the vomiting in a diabetic cat who doesn't usually vomit I'd get her to the vet for a checkup sooner than later. The vet might want to prescribe something like Cerenia for the problem. Better to spend $ now than $$$$ later. What do you think?
 
I hope Callie stayed in safe numbers last night. If you ever need to get her numbers up and she won't eat, you can rub honey or karo on her gums. It does sound like she needs to see a vet because of the vomiting. I hope she's doing better this morning. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
ask the vet for cerenia for the vomiting.

she could have a bug. She could be having a reaction to a food. Even an new developing allergy to something in the food or a reaction to a certain protein.
I had to switch Shadow to a novel protein ( which was hard since I fed her such a variety)

you might want to get some stage 1 babyfood, meat only.... or scramble an egg....
keep it simple.
 
Just seeing this now, Glennie. The thing with ketones is that getting vet attention early can prevent it from developing into the very expensive to treat DKA. I have no idea if that's the problem but testing urine for ketones is the first line of defense and is (relatively) easy to do. With the vomiting in a diabetic cat who doesn't usually vomit I'd get her to the vet for a checkup sooner than later. The vet might want to prescribe something like Cerenia for the problem. Better to spend $ now than $$$$ later. What do you think?
Kris, I think you're absolutely right. I'm calling the vet as soon as they open. I'm also going to run to the store for the ketone strips. She finally kept some food down about 1am, and when I tested her BG was 171. Her AMPS was 424 so I'm sure she's bouncing.

I'm hoping she doesn't vomit, I shoot, and then she vomits like last night. I'm wondering if I should hold off on insulin this am till vet can see her? I hate doing that with the 424, but that scared me last night.
 
I hope Callie stayed in safe numbers last night. If you ever need to get her numbers up and she won't eat, you can rub honey or karo on her gums. It does sound like she needs to see a vet because of the vomiting. I hope she's doing better this morning. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Carla. After she kept some food down and her BG started back up, we both crawled into bed. It must have gone back down though since she's so high this morning. (424) I wish we had an all night clinic, but nope. Appreciate the thoughts and the prayers so much. :bighug:
 
ask the vet for cerenia for the vomiting.

she could have a bug. She could be having a reaction to a food. Even an new developing allergy to something in the food or a reaction to a certain protein.
I had to switch Shadow to a novel protein ( which was hard since I fed her such a variety)

you might want to get some stage 1 babyfood, meat only.... or scramble an egg....
keep it simple.
Rhiannon, I do have the baby food on hand, but I fed her her fav FF, the salmon, before I read this. If she vomits again. I'll open some baby food. Thanks!

If the vet thinks food allergy, I'll be asking questions. :bighug:
 
I haven't given her insulin yet. I was kicking myself last night for shooting. Now I'm kicking myself for waiting. No vomit so far.
 
I have an appointment for 3pm today. The vet said to go ahead and give insulin. I'm an hour late but going to go ahead and give it to her.

She ate some chicken baby food, and I gave her .5U. I know that's a BCS, but just waiting for her to vomit again.

What is the difference between Cerenia and Zofran (ondansetron)?
 
Last edited:
cerenia deals with vomiting and nausea.
ondansetron is for nausea.

if your vet will give you prescriptions for both.... take them. They are both useful to have on hand. And there are many times where you want to give both of them.
 
cerenia deals with vomiting and nausea.
ondansetron is for nausea.

if your vet will give you prescriptions for both.... take them. They are both useful to have on hand. And there are many times where you want to give both of them.
Thanks, Rhiannon. I will try to get both.

I just saw your picture of Shadow and your post of it being her birthday. It is so sweet of you to help me when it's a hard day for you. There is so much joy in this world, but the painful stuff is so very hard. My heart goes out to you.
 
Thank you for the sites, Tanya. I read them both. :bighug:I'll see what the vet thinks. No vomiting so far this morning, but holding my breath.
Good luck at the vet's, Glennie.:bighug:
Will you share your vet's opinion on giving both medicine simultaneously and if indeed it worth it? Ducia was taking both for a short period and all along I was wondering if I was over medicating her :(
Sending tons of feel better vines to Callie :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back from vet. Callie hasn't vomited all day so that's good. He checked her and said she looks good right now, not dehydrated and everything in abdomen feels normal. He did prescribe Cerenia (I got 4 pills that need to be divided in half)(Is that how it works for others?)(I guess I wanted a whole bottle.)(Well actually there was only one pill in the box instead of 4, but I will go back tomorrow to get the others.)

He gave me some non-absorbent litter to help with ketone testing, but he said he would have to use a needle to get urine since they don't have the meter that tests the blood for ketones. And then they would have to send it out. So I decided to try at home for that. He did say we could do a blood test for liver and kidney function, but said he didn't think it necessary right now. I didn't bring up ondansetron specifically, but did ask for something for the vomiting. He was impressed with the SS and pleased that Callie has gained 1 1/2 pounds back of the weight she has lost at diagnosis.

I feel foolish for panicking last night, but she wouldn't stop vomiting. Who knows? I am armed with the ketone strips and will work on getting that done. I also want to order the blood ketone meter that Rhiannon sent the coupon for.

A huge thanks to everyone for all your concern and help. I really am not a drama queen, but I do act freaky when something goes wrong with her. So thanks again! :bighug:
 
(I got 4 pills that need to be divided in half)(Is that how it works for others?)
Thank you Glennie for posting the update!
When Ducia was vomiting everyday I used quarter of a pill daily - 24h x 1- crashed and mixed with her food (water added). It was a while ago when she was less than 8 lbs.
Now when she vomits on a rare occasion (touching wood) I gave her 1/8 of a pill for a day or two once in 24 hours and then stop. I keep unused Cerenia in the refrigerator.
Others might have different experience with this med.
Wishing Callie very speedy recovery and good appy!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck at the vet's, Glennie.:bighug:
Will you share your vet's opinion on giving both medicine simultaneously and if indeed it worth it? Ducia was taking both for a short period and all along I was wondering if I was over medicating her :(
Sending tons of feel better vines to Callie :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Tanya, I thought I had answered your earlier post before I went to vet, but when I got home there it was. Anyway he didn't talk about ondansetron at all, and I had to ask for something for the nausea. He then mentioned the Cerenia. I should have brought up the other but was just thankful I was getting the Cerenia. I'm sorry I have no answer for your question of using both meds simultaneously. I was hoping he would give me both just so I could have them on hand, but no...
 
This is good news, Glennie! Teasel got Cerenia from my vet on Monday for his tummy upset brought on by gravy style HC food I'd used to raise his BG. His dose was half a pill every 24 hours. He only needed it for two days. Your next challenge is to get urine ketone testing under your belt. :)
 
Thank you Glennie for posting the update!
When Ducia was vomiting everyday I used quarter of a pill daily - 24h x 1- crashed and mixed with her food (water added). It was a while ago when she was less than 8 lbs.
Now when she vomits on a rare occasion (touching wood) I gave her 1/8 of a pill for a day or two once in 24 hours and then stop. I keep unused Cerenia in the refrigerator.
Others might have different experience with this med.
Wishing Callie very speedy recovery and good appy!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Callie is about the size of your Ducia so I wonder if the 1/4 pill would work for her also. I'll bet it will. The vet said a whole half. Thanks for info. Did you just get a few at a time?

I'm writing your dosing on the package, and I'll try that before I do the higher dose. Thanks for your good thoughts! She seems so much better today! Hope all is well with you also. :bighug:
 
I wonder if the 1/4 pill would work for her also. I'll bet it will. The vet said a whole half
I think 1/4 in 24 hours will do for at least to try once and see how it works? Vets rarely concerned with the expense side of the things..:rolleyes:
Did you just get a few at a time?
I am not sure I understand.. I give either 1/4 or an eight in 24 hours and keep the log as to with which meal/time it was administered.
I hope Cerenia helps Callie feel better:bighug:
 
This is good news, Glennie! Teasel got Cerenia from my vet on Monday for his tummy upset brought on by gravy style HC food I'd used to raise his BG. His dose was half a pill every 24 hours. He only needed it for two days. Your next challenge is to get urine ketone testing under your belt. :)
Yes, it is! Thank you! She hasn't vomited once today (hoping that keeps up!), but at least now I am prepared. Yes, onward and upward. Ketone testing next. She was peeing, and I missed it so try, try again. :banghead: :cat: :facepalm:I'm so glad that Teasel is better! :bighug:
 
I think 1/4 in 24 hours will do for at least to try once and see how it works? Vets rarely concerned with the expense side of the things..:rolleyes:

I am not sure I understand.. I give either 1/4 or an eight in 24 hours and keep the log as to with which meal/time it was administered.
I hope Cerenia helps Callie feel better:bighug:
Yes, the box that he prescribed for me was supposed to have 4 pills, but actually had only 1. I called the office and told them, and I'll go back in tomorrow for the other 3. So yes, I only get 4 pills. He said he would refill if she needs it. I was surprised there were so few.
 
Cerenia comes in different dose sizes too.....make sure when you're comparing 1/4 tab to 1/2 tab that you're talking about the same pill

I have 2 different sizes here....1 is 24mg per pill and the other is 16mg, so when you are "comparing" doses, it's important to know the strength of the pills you used and the strength of the pills the other person has
 
I too was surprised that it was only 4 pills for $19:eek::)! But four is how much is in the new box. I hope mine and yours expire due to no need to use!:)
Oh, so yours only had 4 in also. That's what I was wondering. Thanks! Yes, hoping neither one of us has to use them, but I'm so thankful I have something to use if necessary.
 
Cerenia comes in different dose sizes too.....make sure when you're comparing 1/4 tab to 1/2 tab that you're talking about the same pill

I have 2 different sizes here....1 is 24mg per pill and the other is 16mg
Okay, I didn't know that. Thanks, Chris. Mine is 16 mg. What's your dosage amount? Every time I turn around I'm finding out much I don't know.
 
Cerenia comes in different dose sizes too.....make sure when you're comparing 1/4 tab to 1/2 tab that you're talking about the same pill

I have 2 different sizes here....1 is 24mg per pill and the other is 16mg, so when you are "comparing" doses, it's important to know the strength of the pills you used and the strength of the pills the other person has
Excellent point, Chris.
Duly noted for the future.
Mine is 16 mg.
 
How is Callie?
How sweet of you to ask, Tanya! Today is her 9th birthday--she and her sister, Kinsey. She is doing okay. I did find a spot on her side that I can inject occasionally without her getting too upset with me. And I have been warming the syringe in the rice sock after I use it to warm her ear for testing. That seems to help. She hasn't needed the Cerenia--no more vomiting at all, but it's so nice to have it on hand, just in case.

I have been following her around trying to catch her peeing for the ketone testing. I sat in the bathroom with her yesterday for over an hour and shut her in for several hours with a litter box with NoSorb, but no pee. She sees me sneaking around trying to catch her at it and won't go. She gets highly offended at me spying on her. LOL With 6 cats, it's hard to know which one is which, and so I'm probably going to have to order a blood ketone test meter. I can't get the free coupon offer for the meter to work for me, so I need to take care of buying one soon.

Her numbers aren't what I would like, but 1U is too much, and .75U isn't getting the lower numbers. There is nothing else going on that would affect her numbers so I guess I have to wait a while. Once in a while she is getting below a 150, and so for now, I'm holding that dose. Thanks again for asking.

Ducia's numbers look great today. Yay! That is wonderful! How does she seem to be feeling? :bighug: She did get low there though. Hope you get to sleep tonight.
 
Today is her 9th birthday--she and her sister, Kinsey.
Happy Birthday, girls! :bighug: Wishing you happy, healthy and joyful day!:bighug: Even if it's a day late!:)
Glennie, I am really glad to hear that the vomit stopped, good news.
Her numbers aren't what I would like, but 1U is too much, and .75U isn't getting the lower numbers. There is nothing else going on that would affect her numbers so I guess I have to wait a while.
You can try getting in between the doses - a drop or two more than 0.75U but definitely less than 1U. There is a tutorial in one of the sticky notes how to draw it. I did it for Ducia - and I never new how much was in the syringe:confused:.
Ducia's numbers look great today.
he did get low there though. Hope you get to sleep tonight.
She got too low and is bouncing now. :(I am going to bed soon.
 
Do you use calipers? They are a big help with fine tuning doses. Happy Birthday to Callie and Kinsey!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/[/Q
Happy Birthday, girls! :bighug: Wishing you happy, healthy and joyful day!:bighug: Even if it's a day late!:)
Glennie, I am really glad to hear that the vomit stopped, good news.

You can try getting in between the doses - a drop or two more than 0.75U but definitely less than 1U. There is a tutorial in one of the sticky notes how to draw it. I did it for Ducia - and I never new how much was in the syringe:confused:.


She got too low and is bouncing now. :(I am going to bed soon.
Do you use calipers? They are a big help with fine tuning doses. Happy Birthday to Callie and Kinsey!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
I've used calipers to check the .75 dose if it looks off, but I haven't tried it with an in-between dose. I'll have to look at sticky and try to work on that. Thanks for birthday wishes for our kittens as we still call them.
 
Happy Birthday, girls! :bighug: Wishing you happy, healthy and joyful day!:bighug: Even if it's a day late!:)
Glennie, I am really glad to hear that the vomit stopped, good news.

You can try getting in between the doses - a drop or two more than 0.75U but definitely less than 1U. There is a tutorial in one of the sticky notes how to draw it. I did it for Ducia - and I never new how much was in the syringe:confused:.


She got too low and is bouncing now. :(I am going to bed soon.
I need to look at that sticky again. Thanks for the reminder. I remember watching it when she was first diagnosed, but haven't recently. I was hoping I could stay on nice easy doses--not happening though. :facepalm:The girls say thanks for the birthday wishes. :cat: :cat::D Hope all is going well for you! :bighug:
 
Yep, the insulin is cold. I take it out just before filling and get it back in immediately. I could fill a little earlier and just warm the syringe in my hands. I'll give that a try. Thanks.

I can't get Callie to hold still for a scruff shot. She just walks off or rears her head back. The tummy area has worked because she's lying down getting loved on, and she relaxes a bit so I can shoot, or at least she did till a week ago. :banghead:

I really hope it's not the needle. It's just when I stuck one of the needles out of the new box in, my daughter and I almost heard it break the skin. We looked at each other, surprised. I asked her if she heard it and she said yes. Trying not to think about it...Maybe I did hit muscle. My poor cat! And she has reacted badly ever since.

Thanks for the thought! I appreciate you taking the time. :)

Ok this is a really long post but if this helps, here is my 2 cents.
With my Sprocket we tend to put him on a table on his tummy. Make him lye flat on table, it tends to allow the skin to loosen even more so we can pull up more on his scruff. Plus shaving that area to shoot helps too. Maybe try that. I hope I explained it correctly.
Good luck.
Hope it helps.
 
Ok this is a really long post but if this helps, here is my 2 cents.
With my Sprocket we tend to put him on a table on his tummy. Make him lye flat on table, it tends to allow the skin to loosen even more so we can pull up more on his scruff. Plus shaving that area to shoot helps too. Maybe try that. I hope I explained it correctly.
Good luck.
Hope it helps.
Thanks, Darnell. The shaving does help, I agree. You explained it really well. Unfortunately I don't think Callie will let me do that, but I will give it a try.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top